We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Posada stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Austin
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“La Posada stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Experience was great, grounds are beautiful and spa experience is amazing. However doing research it is critical you stay in a recently renovated room above the spa. The spa rooms are beautiful and worth the money. Apparently most of the rooms are not in great shape and very dated so beware.
The food is great however the menu is rather limited and the service is really slow which I was okay with because I was on vacation and not rushed.
The only problem I had that was frustrating was that I had booked 5 nights and housekeeping consistently did not clean the room. Everyday I had to call and request the room be cleaned. My call was usually well after check in time and typically I was calling around 4:00 or 5:00. They had plenty of time to clean. Staff was very helpful and concierges were amazing!!

Room Tip: Book only the rooms above the spa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    68
    27
    20
See reviews for
77
157
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When staying at the La Posada we were there for a wedding and when we walked into our room we were a bit shocked to be honest. The price you pay for these rooms is in our opinion overpriced and the rooms are very small and need updating.

The room itself is cozy and you walk right into it from the outside of your own patio. The room while looking a bit dated, the bathroom was nice and they had C.O. Bigelow products which was a nice touch. Also, the closet had all the essentials of ironing board, hair dryer and even an umbrella which came in handy as it rained most of the time we were there.

I would say the hotel is not a very quiet place. They host weddings in the middle of the property and our room happened to be right in the open area location. When trying to go to bed at 10pm to get up for our early flight we were not able to fall asleep till 1am due to the music being so loud from the wedding and basically as loud in our room as it was outside. In addition a couple from the wedding decided to pick our patio and table as their place to have a relationship fight which for about the first 5 minutes was entertaining, but when it lasted for over an hour with the woman crying and crying we had enough. When we called the front desk they were no help and only offered that the music would be off at midnight.

We understand that making a noise complaint during a wedding is not exactly an easy thing to solve but had we known it would be so loud, or the hotel informed us, we would have moved rooms in order to get a good nights sleep.

The food for dinner at the restaurant right outside our door was fantastic and full of flavor. Also, very cute with the light strands and red umbrellas.

Location of the hotel is also great as you can walk to almost anything in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from where they host the outdoor weddings as the music will be so loud you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Jessloren,

Thank you for the review and the nice mention for the restaurant. My apologies for the fact that the room you were in was close to the wedding and that a couple got in a fight in front of your door. I actual had to come in because of this wedding and had to address several issues in this regard including involvement from the police. This should not have impacted you on your time away. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss it with you directly. I'd love to get you back to the property and make it up to you.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Second trip in two years and the staff still go above and beyond. Every room there is different and has its own charm. Nothing cookie cutter about this beautifully maintained and cheerfully manned property. You are a short walk to either the Plaza or Canyon Road, yet surrounded by art and flowers and quiet. Very comfortable beds and patios with many of the rooms. I have visited many other hotels in Santa Fe and this one tops my list for charm, amenities and price value. Great service with a friendly manner from concierge, front desk, drivers and housekeeping. Shuttle available in short order for trips within 2 miles of hotel. I used it several times when the distance or hour made it easier than walking. Being near the Plaza and not having to drive is a great plus.

Room Tip: Be openminded. They all have unique charm. Staff will work to make sure you are happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel to the very moment we left, our stay was wonderful. Check in was easy and our room was absolutly beautiful. Every room in this hotel is different and unique and the grounds are amazing. I have actually never slept in a more comfortable bed. The towels were huge and there were at least twice as many as needed. The bathroom was huge and included handmade soaps and shampoos in standard size (no tiny hotel bars here). Wonderful robes and slippers hung waiting in the ample closet and large flat screen TVs hung in the living room and bedroom. The pool and hot tub were clean and large thirsty towels were provided for you. As soon as we sat down in a couple very comfortable pool chairs, a bartender showed up with glasses of water with lemon and wanted to know if we needed anything else. By the way, they make an amazing margarita on the rocks at the pool side bar. A unique extra touch here is that the pool and hot tub are salianated slightly making your skin feel like heaven when you get out. We had the best meal of our trip at the restaurant here...try the duck or the lamb burger and don't miss the sea salted caramel gelato. When we called for a bellman to help us with our bags on check out, they actually brought our car around to our room and loaded our bags there making our departure as pleasant and easy as our arrival.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have private courtyards and fireplaces and upstairs rooms are split level suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the first time you walk through the property to your room, you realize it's all about the atmosphere. It is peaceful, beautiful, and cultural. The landscaping is impeccable and scattered with beautiful sculptures and statues.

The staff is courteous and anxious to serve. I love the atmosphere when you walk into the lobby which is in the original Staab house. Instead of the big counter dividing you from the front desk staff, they are behind a desk with a chair for the guest to sit in so you can sit back and be more relaxed. The concierge is right there by the front door to assist with anything you need.

The young men who open the door, carry your luggage and drive the shuttles are more than happy to share what they know about the local activities and restaurants. It was raining when we checked in and the young man who brought us our luggage had 2 big umbrellas covering the cart doing his best to keep everything dry.

The location is perfect. Just a short walk from downtown. The weather was beautiful. Being from Texas, we really enjoyed July weather in the 80s and dry with no humidity.

I had a 50 minute full body massage in the spa. The spa was everything you would want. The aromas, the relaxing music in the background and of course the massage. It was an amazing experience.

My granddaughter is about to be a senior in high school and this was her first grown up vacation without little sister and cousin tagging along. She had a memorable experience.

We had breakfast on property one morning and it was very good. The wait staff of course excellent. It was outdoors on the restaurant patio with amazing weather.

I was impressed with the staff who was just out on the property. Everyone we passed from housekeeping to maintenance would smile and greet us.

I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My hair is curly, and I know it is a challenge to cut and style, but Jake makes me look good:) The compliments I get afterwards, are a constant reminder that I've found a great stylist. I've been living in Santa Fe for 9 months, and I wouldn't think of going to any other stylist. La Posada Spa is lucky to have jake, he's also one of the nail techs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We did get a good deal on this property so taking it from that perspective we had a nice stay. They upgraded us to a nice suite that had lots of character. My son and I loved the small but nice pool and the hotel is walking distance to the main square. Service was nice and pleasant. I guess one small issue is the $30 resort fee which includes valet parking, internet, etc.

Not a huge property and perhaps not a "grand" resort, but a nice place to stay with lots of character.

Room Tip: I hear some of the rooms can be really small, so try your best to be nice to the staff and get a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.