We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort was even better than we expected. What a gem! The resort is absolutely gorgeous, the staff & service were superb. Great location - walking distance to Plaza & Canyon Rd. We considered staying at other places such as The Inn of the Five Graces but opted for La Posada because it was a better rate & I am so glad we did.

Room Tip: I worked directly with the staff at the resort to make sure we had a great room. Depending on how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    109
    74
    34
    21
See reviews for
90
176
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second time at the La Posada and we loved it. We tried the Inn at Five Graces last year, and we experienced some issues (see my review), and so we came back to the La Posada this year for the Fourth of July weekend stay. Our original room wasn't their best - I do believe you need to find the right room at this hotel. After gently requesting a change, we were shown 4 different rooms. We moved to 162, which is called a King Patio+Fireplace. It had tiled floors, which is an upgrade from some of the rooms which have some pretty worn carpet. The bathroom was pretty small, which was the trade-off I suppose. There are a lot of beautiful rooms but there are many that could use some updating - so ask when booking to make sure you get what you want.
We had breakfast each day at the hotel - the food was wonderful and the staff was excellent. Our cavalier was welcome in the restaurant and each day they brought her a biscuit and bowl of water. The Staab house bar was nice and this history around Julia Staab and her "ghost" is interesting.
Every day at 4pm, there is some sort of event put on for guests...we attended the beer and cheese tasting (Thursday) and the Art Walk (Friday). On Monday's they do a tequila tasting and on Saturday its cookies - not sure of the complete schedule...
The La Posada is called the "Art" hotel because of its history serving as a home for out of town artists. Now it features a wonderful collection of art. We actually purchased a piece during this stay which gives us a permanent discount on rooms and no more resort fees - such a wonderful bonus supporting local art. The curator (Sara) gave a great presentation on the artists and the hotel's history which was entertaining and informative.
Finally, the pool is fantastic. Its a fun place to spend a few hours. The drinks are excellent - get the mango pina colada - which is supposedly <150 calories and 130% of your daily VitC. Jennifer, the pool bartender, is everyone's friend. Finding a seat is often a challenge at the pool, but if you can't find one, just sit on the edge of the pool and enjoy yourself.
We consider this our anniversary trip each year, and we'll stay at the La Posada for years to come.

Room Tip: Ask about the carpet - choose a tiled room or upper floor (200s). Ask about the bathroom - many hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Texas, Usa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

David, La Posada de Santa Fe's wedding planner, did a superb job of organizing and preparing for what was and will be a memorable weekend. The entire staff at La Posada went out of their way to ensure a pleasurable and classy experience. My thanks!

Room Tip: Our room was a nice size, though the carpet, walls, lighting and ceiling were a bit dingy and dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear G L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I appreciate the acknowledgement of the team and specifically David Stone. It is always great to see members of the staff listed in a review. David is a unique asset to the hotel and is an amazing wedding planner.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family stayed here for a wedding that we were attending at the resort. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful both for the wedding and as a guest. Being a close friend of the bride, we were privy to much of the "behind the scenes" dealings that went on, and I have to say that the staff was willing to do whatever it took to make the bride's day memorable and as stress free as possible. The wedding and reception location were beautiful, and the food at the reception (steak, cheese enchiladas, beans and rice, and a salad) was AMAZING!

As a guest, the rooms were amazing, if a little pricey. My family was in a room with two queen size beds and payed approximately $500 for a 2 night stay. However, considering we were within walking distance of the square in downtown Santa Fe, the price was expected. We did use the pool, which was amazing and definitely kid friendly with water noodles and balls being provided for use.

Definitely a resort to relax or utilize as a wedding location. If you are only going to be in your room to sleep, a different location might be more economical.

Room Tip: It seemed all the rooms were in excellent locations. We were right next to the pool and didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear CydtheSquid,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm glad you got to enjoy a special occasion with us. I appreciate the note on the staff and their willingness to do whatever it took to make the event memorable. Your note on the AMAZING food will be shared with the team and I'm sure the Chef will be happy to see it.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall disappointed - have stayed here multiple times over the years and it has gone really down hill. Stayed in a "Classic King Room" for 2 nights.

1. Paint peeling off windows
2. Exterior door to room cracked and could see outside light
3. Shower was dirty
4. Stairs leading to room were dirty, including cigarette butts and dead bugs
5. Daily service didn't come until after 3pm when I had already returned to the room. Service removed our breakfast tray but left it sitting outside the room door until we had to call to have it removed.

Positives - location, nice grounds, quiet room and patio for afternoon drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear RGC37,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. My apologies for the experience with the items in your room. I'm having trouble determining the room by the pictures and would like to get into it and make sure that the items listed are put up to standard. I would welcome a call from you or a quick e-mail in this regard. I would also like to offer my service for any future stay. I'd love to be able to make the reservation personally and make sure that every part of your experience is up to standard.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Ben.tutt@lpdsf.com
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was everything that we hoped for. Centrally locate to the Plaza and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, Canyon Road, and art galleries. The grounds of La Posada were beautifully taken care and we enjoyed the art sculptures and sitting outside after dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful and arranged may great recommendations for outings and restaurants.
We visited a great “hippy town” called Madrid; it was a fun afternoon of beer and music at the mine shaft. One must was a sunset horseback ride at the Santa Fe Western Adventures; the hotel made one bad recommendation, they suggested we use the Broken Saddle for horseback riding, the owner of the ranch was rude on the phone and very curt and I was shocked the hotel would have recommended him. I found the Santa Fe Western Adventures instead and had a wonderful time exploring his ranch and climbing a mountain to watch the sunset; he is a true gentleman and even a movie star and stunt man! Great experience.

I would not recommend using their spa, the service was lacking and the quality of their offerings did not live up to the rest of the hotel. I would suggest using 1000 Waters for a massage.

The Staab house was a great place to enjoy a cocktail in the evenings; we loved the Shed for dinner, and be sure to white water raft down the Rio Grande. Overall the experience was great and we enjoyed our time at La Posada de Santa Fe Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Wdyes,

Thank you for the time to do a review. It sound like you had a great Santa Fe adventure. I have to agree with the trip to Madrid it is one on my personal favorites for a day trip. I also appreciate the feedback on the horseback riding. I'm sorry you had a poor experience with the person you called and am glad that you found a fantastic option. I'll be sure to touch base with our concierge on this.

We look forward to your return and fell free to reach out and I can recommend some other day trips.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rico, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Several years ago I wrote a negative review of La Posada when it was a Rock Resort. I was disappointed that it had become an exclusive new age spa. We decided to give it another shot since they have great per diem rates for qualified government employees, and I'm so happy we did. Staff was so genuinely friendly and exceptional during our stay, and our king room was clean, comfortable and fresh. We stayed in a newer room near the pool and were pleased with its location, especially since we have pets. We usually get relegated to some nasty room in a crappy location, but not here. Pets are treated as valued customers too. They can dine with their people on the patio or in the library room and are spoiled with water, treats and attention from staff. I will definitely return again and again for both work and vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Lilyelgato,

I'm so glad you gave us a second chance. I'm happy to see that it was a wonderful time for you and your pet. Thank you for your acknowledgement of the team and their efforts during your stay. It is the team and their genuine and intimate attitude that make the difference in a stay at La Posada.

We look forward to you and your pet's return. We will leave the water dish out for you.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;