We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This may be the perfect place to stay in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This may be the perfect place to stay in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is so peaceful and quiet and yet an easy walk to the Plaza and all the great restaurants of Santa Fe. We only ate in the bar but it was very good. Staff was great. Free coffee and newspapers in the lobby. Rooms were a good size. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear UshouldvisitGolden,

Thank you for the great review. I like your user name. I grew up in Colorado and love Golden. I appreciate the notes on staff and the quick review of the hotel. It is my hope that we will see you again in the not to distant future.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    107
    74
    34
    21
See reviews for
90
172
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'm enjoying a three-night stay at La Posada. While the rooms are not luxury-suite fancy, they are nicely appointed and there are luxury touches to this resort such as champagne at check in (which is sitting at a desk, not cattle-called to a big counter), valet parking, evening activities for guests, etc. The bath amenities are nice (peppermint lavender I think), our Fireplace King room has a flat screen tv, safe, coffee maker with Tazo and Starbucks, fridge, walk in closet, decent towels. Didn't use the fireplace since its not real cold right now. Didn't use the spa or eat at the restaurant here. The staff are all very friendly. The grounds are well-kept.

A few things that kept me at a 4-star review... The valet service, and Internet wifi which works quite well, are included in a staggering $30/night resort fee. And I'd actually prefer a self parking option just because I don't like waiting for a valet.

Tip: At check in I asked specifically for a quiet room. The clerk changed me from a street-side room (E. Palace Ave) that had been pre-assigned to one much further back in the 'compound' property here, backing up to a residential area. My wife contends there's little difference, but um yes there is. This morning they were *jackhammering* in the street just feet away from this property. We couldn't even hear it from our room but it was deafening at the valet stand, almost painful. Plus there are frequent trucks, cop cars, etc. Santa Fe is still a city, even if its not LA or NYC.

Tip#2: I booked this room through a living social offer, ran me about $135/night for a Fireplace King room. (Standard rooms were maybe $30 cheaper). I think that's a good deal and a fair price, minus the steep resort fee.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear MalteseFalcon,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the feedback and the comments. We look forward to having you back at the property to enjoy our restaurant and spa.

I appreciate the acknowledgement of the staff and the extra tips for our future guests.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am actually in bed right now at the La Posada de Santa Fe and wanted to capture my experience. My wife made reservations a few weeks ago and viewed the property online as well as having walked past it on occasions.

First off, I am a senior and physically disabled. I walk with a cane and visibly limp. When we arrived the valet service was exemplary and very courteous, we were offered a complementary glass of champagne while registering, which was a nice touch. The reception was courteous and polite, however I am shocked that they put us in a room which required me to walk up to the second floor which meant going up two separate sets of stairs. The receptionist should have had the perception and compassion to put us in one of the hundred or so first floor casitas or in the spa building which had an elevator.

We had drinks in the bar and the service was unfriendly, not rude but not at all friendly, in fact the two bartenders seemed peeved with each other. We followed that with dinner at the hotel restaurant and I had requested by email a romantic table, instead we were seated in an ante room and not the main room with better chairs and charm. The food was average as was the service.

It is now midnight and the noise level from the bar downstairs is completely unacceptable. We had really been looking forward to this stay and although the property has wonderful ambience and history I doubt we will ever return.

The entire property is comprised of the main historical house, which includes the bar, restaurant and only four or five rooms (all upstairs) and the rest is the casitas with what appear to have much better ambience than the old rooms in the main building.

As a disabled person and one who is obviously in pain and poor at walking I really expect that the staff would be trained to accommodate special needs.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building and the old rooms upstairs as they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear jackkelley51,

I apologies for the inconvenience and the fact that the staff did not recognize you physical challenge immediately. I know that you worked with Annette and that she took care of getting you into a more suitable room. I hope that the rest of you stay was a good one and that you were able to enjoy the resort and the amenity that Annette sent. If you do have time I would love the opportunity to get an update on the rest of the stay and speak with you about your time here. We use our Tripadvisor feedback as a training tool. The issue with recognizing an issue and responding appropriately for the individual is one that could be valuable for the whole team.
I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
505-699-4264
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

While out on my morning run, I discovered the beauty of this resort. Although I did not stay here (but I plan to on my next visit), my daughter & I had a wonderful spa treatment. I would highly recommend "The Spirit of Santa Fe"; an 80 minute, fantastic treat. The atmosphere of the hotel is one of beauty, relaxation and accommodation. Just walking in the lobby, you are immediately surrounded by the aroma of the cozy, crackling fire, friendly staff, and furniture that is just inviting you to come in and relax. The variety of sitting areas in the library allow one to have a peaceful nook to themselves. When craving a more social atmosphere, you can gather at the bar to socialize. I look forward to returning to Santa Fe and staying the the La Posada Resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Annexoxo,

I'm so glad that you stopped in and got the opportunity to enjoy our resort. We have just added The Spirit of Santa Fe Treatment and it is one of the favorites for the hotel. Thank you for the mention of the staff and our cozy public areas.

We look forward to your next trip to Santa Fe and your first stay at La Posada.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

La Posada, the "Art Hotel" of Santa Fe, is an amazing, charming, authentic and wonderful place. We had a women's conference there this past February and I could not have asked for better ambiance and service. There are so many things that make La Posada special....the unique architecture, the attentive staff, the beautiful art, the location, the special free events ( the art tour of the property was especially incredible and interesting). We got a special rate due to it not being peak season in Santa Fe. Otherwise, we could not have afforded to have our conference there. The trade-off was having to endure the cold instead of it being warm, but the light snow that dusted the trees and the casitas one evening made the place that much more enchanting. It was great having a fireplace in our room, but the smokey smell that came into the room was a little overpowering at time. That was not enough of an annoyance to mar the overwhelmingly positive time that I and my group had at this special place. I highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Request to have a room that does not back up to a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear NancyW375,

I'm so glad that you had such a good experience here in Santa Fe. We pride ourselves on being The Art Hotel of Santa Fe. We focus on creating an authentic and genuine Santa Fe experience for all of our guests.

Thank you for the enthusiastic recommendation. We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being a resort you have to pay a daily fee, this does include valet parking, because the on site spaces seem to be reserved for restaurant guests. The room was really quite luxurious and they seem to take service very seriously and check up on you. We were only staying for a single night and did not use any of the facilities. Although I had inquired via e-mail for a room with a balcony or terrace close by the pool, we did not have any terrace and our room was a bit tucked away at the end of the property. In the bathroom there was a small ant problem, I did not bother to call anyone since it was minor and we were staying for 1 night only. Upon check out I was asked how our stay was and informed them of these minor issues. They did apologize promptly and waved my resort fee. So definitely a plus for service!

The location is a 5 min walk away from the church and the square, although I thought Santa Fe was more happening at night, but it just wasn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear W-Flemish-Traveler,

Thank you for the positive review. I appreciate letting us know of the issue with the ants. We do have an exterminator that regularly does preventative spraying on the property but as we are an outdoor resort on 6 acres we do have the occasion need for a special trip.

We look forward to getting you back in the near future. Hopefully you'll be able to stay for more than just one night.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, MO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business this past week. Due to being in town on business, I unfortunately did not get to visit the spa or pool. My room was cozy and easy to get to. The staff was all very attentive. They have wonderful little gatherings each night for guests (cheese and wine tasting, s'mores by the fire). My trash was left after the 1st night, but it was only a Kleenex and q-tip, so may have been easily missed. The hotel was in very easy walking distance of all downtown attractions. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear MOGrl79,

Thank you so much for the great review. I'm so happy that you we able to relax and enjoy the hotel while here on business. Hopefully we can get you back when you can enjoy our spa and pool as well. I appreciate the acknowledgement of the staff and am glad that you got to enjoy some of our daily activities. You mention one of my favorites, s ‘mores. I always enjoy our guest reliving younger times when they first had a s ‘more. The stories are great.

We look forward to you next trip,

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.