We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hotel in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The BEST hotel in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have visited Santa Fe once or twice a year for the past 20 years. LaPosada is our first choice of places to stay in Santa Fe. We just returned from our third visit in the past year, and we are already looking forward to our next stay. LaPosada's setting - a compound of adobe buildings connected by winding paths - makes you forget that you are an easy walk away from Santa Fe's galleries, shops and restaurants. The hotel has an impressive collection of sculpture and paintings on display both along the pathways and in the main building. Our second-floor room was spacious and very quiet. There was a small balcony off the room that, since our stay was in February, wasn't used, but it would be a pleasant place to relax in summer and fall. And, as good as LaPosada is, the staff is even better. They are friendly, courteous and extremely well trained. Our requests were filled promptly. If a staff member couldn't answer a question, he or she found someone who could. Each time we return to LaPosada, we feel like we are coming home. In fact, we have plans for a return visit next fall.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms, especially those that look out on the pool, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    119
    82
    36
    25
See reviews for
96
194
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wow - what a wonderful stay! Everyone at the hotel was so welcoming and helpful with any requests that were asked of them, especially Rick & Scott. From the relaxing massages and steam room to the cozy ambiance of entire hotel, we couldn't have asked for a better girls trip. The hotel was very convenient to the plaza - just a short 5 minute walk. We all said we would definitely stay here again and would very highly recommend it to anyone visiting. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a fireplace. That along with the beams on the ceiling added to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

La Posada was a wonderful place to stay. The facilities were gorgeous. The rooms were very clean and up to date. The amenities were very nice. The grounds were beautiful. The staff were incredibly nice, accommodating and helpful. The food was excellent. They had Mayan hot chocolate in the lobby as well as coffee, tea and fruit. In the afternoons they had hot cider. I visited in January when it's cold. Also the hotel is within close proximity to downtown. Everything is very walkable from the hotel. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked an event at La Posada. The staff did a great job in working through the details. I would highly recommend if you are holding an event in Santa Fe, to check this hotel venue. They paid attention to every detail, they suggested restaurants to eat at, provided insight of who to work with to perform team building exerises and over all were experts in how to pull together a superb event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mitzi L,

Thank you for the great review for your group. La Posada is a great place for small and medium sized groups. I appreciate your endorsement of us and we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future. We love our repeat groups.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

La Posada is a true Santa Fe experience. I have stayed there several times in 2012 and this year. The rooms are spread about a small, beautifully groomed campus that makes you feel like you're in old Santa Fe. There is always a faint, pleasant smell of burning mesquite outdoors. The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but very comfortable and decently equipped. Some have fireplaces and an ample supply of wood. The staff is uniformly cheerful, well trained, and eager to make your stay pleasant. Fuego has a limited menu but the food is quite good. The small fitness center is well equipped with modern cardio machines of various kinds, and the spa services (which I have not used myself) are reputedly first rate.

The only thing that keeps me from giving La Posada four or five stars is that I stay there for business travel, and the internet service is really slow. On my most recent trip in February 2013, the internet connection was worse than usual -- slow to the point of being unusable, even for simple things like email. In this era, not having functional internet is like not having functional phone service. A high end resort hotel should simply know better. I reported this problem while checking out and was assured that the staff would look into it. Until La Posada improves its internet service, however, I can't stay there again for business travel. I would happily go there for pleasure travel when functional internet is not an important need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear John V,

Thank you for the review of the hotel and the great notes on how we are the true Santa Fe experience. That is our mission to be an intimate and genuine Santa Fe resort.

While you were here we were working on the internet. This is most likely why you experienced the problems mentioned. I'm happy to report that the work on our new Wi-Fi system is complete and our customer satisfactions scores in this area have increased significantly.

We look forward to welcoming you back with Wi-Fi coverage that is significantly expanded with 5 times the capacity of the prior system.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We came to La Posada with two other couples for a weekend vacation. We had read about the various amenities of La Posada and thought we would enjoy it. It was the best decision we made on this trip! We were greet immediately and helped to our rooms. Our room was lovely and had a kiva fireplace which was an unexpected treat. The room was not large, but we thought that the size was adequate for our stay and we were pleased.

Every member of the staff was helpful and polite. They were always willing to give us meal suggestions or directions. The complimentary shuttle was amazing! We took advantage of that every night which helped keep us from getting lost or trying to find parking in downtown Santa Fe. We enjoyed the complimentary cider and coffee, which was a nice way to warm up when we came in from walking around the city.

All six of us agree: we would stay at La Posada again and hope to do so soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Lynna F,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm glad that your group of six had such a great time. I appreciate the mention of our staff as it's the team and their heart that make the difference in everything we do. They're the reason you will never have to stay anywhere else.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just checked out and I had to write a review on our way back to Texas. We stayed at la posada for a week for our honeymoon and my 40 th birthday. We had never been to Santa Fe n picked this hotel based on reviews. It is even better than what you see online. The property s beautiful. We had a fireplace with patio king and rooms are so cute. The staff is so friendly. From the bellman, valets, and amber at check in, even the manager at check out. Very friendly place. We cannot wait to go back!!! They have a free shuttle to take you places too. The drivers were so helpful too. Food was awesome. Stay here for sure. We loved it!! Great location as well.

Room Tip: Get the king fireplace room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Lisa L.

We are so glad that you took the time to celebrate your special occasion with us. I want to thank you for mentioning the great and friendly staff. We focus our team on an intimate and genuine approach to dealing with guest service. We want you to feel like family when you stay with us. I will be sure to make a special thank you for Amber as we make a big deal out of people that are remembered by our guest. I hope you have a safe trip home and come back and see us soon.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.