We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Mequon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at La Posada with a girlfriend, last summer. The manager introduced himself to us immediately, as we were checking into our rooms. The entire staff was very attentive during our stay. The hotel shuttle driver went out his way to help us find an unusual off site location for a cooking class. We were provided with superb restaurant recommendations by the concierge.
The hotel location was in perfect walking distance to the Indian Art Festival, but far enough away that we had peace and quiet.
My friend and I had large rooms with a balconies. My room was on the lower level and was therefore a bit dark. More natural light would be a great improvement.
Overall it was a lovely stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Amy H,

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us during Indian Market. I especially appreciate the nice comments on the staff. The team prides itself in making sure that people enjoy their Santa Fe experiences.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    114
    78
    35
    22
See reviews for
93
184
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped at La Posada on a cold snowy afternoon of New Years Eve. We were warmly greeted by a great staff. While registering I noticed the unbelieveable collection of South Western Art on the walls of this historic hotel. While enjoying a warm drink at the bar, the bartender remembered my husband's name from his previous visit. She then helped us with reservationns for New Years dinner. The holiday 5 course meal was perfect and accompanied by good choice of wine. Again the service and warmth made this an evening to remember. Our suite was spacious, unique adobe furnishings, great fireplace, very comfortable beds and leather couches. The following morning I spent some time walking around looking at a great collection of artwork and decor. This hotel really adds the Sante Fe charm to your visit. You will never forget your time spent at La Posada.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Sally H,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I love it when our repeat guests come back and have such a wonderful experience. I'll be sure to reach out to our Bartender and thank her for having such a great memory. I'm glad you got the opportunity to enjoy the holidays with us. Chef Carmen, New Mexico’s Chef of the Year, and his team put a great deal of effort into our holiday preparations. This review with be a great thank you for their efforts.

We look forward to your return,

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This property is a must stay if you are in Santa Fe. The spa is fabulous, the staff courteous and the rooms well appointed. The resort fee includes the business center, wi-fi, and much more (including wine/beer/cheese tastings and yoga classes). It's a favorite of ours!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear RandJ_Alexander,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed you time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our other guests. When you are with us again I recommend our Friday Chef reception with tapas and wine followed by Sara Eyestone's history and art tour. The other guest event I love is listening to Wiley Jim on Wednesdays and Sundays doing his Old West Music, his version of Cattle Call is the best I have ever heard.

We look forward to your next trip.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you are drawn to hotels with local flavor and charm, you will love this place! It can be a bit on the spendier side, but the smell of juniper, pinon and cedar lingering in adobe rooms with tiled floors makes it well worth the extra. The restaurants offer a brilliant variety of local takes on classic cuisine, but you are also close to the Shed and Cafe Pasqual's if you are in the mood for more traditional Southwest fare.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at La Posada with our other guests. I appreciate the review and the description as the hotel is a very unique place built with being part of the City Different, Santa Fe, in mind. The hotel has 157 rooms with 138 different layouts. The designs are different. We even have 16 different types of traditional Viga ceilings. If you get a free moment on you next trip let me know and I'll buy you a glass of wine at the bar and share some of the local flavor.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were going to stay at the Hilton until we stumbled upon La Posada (from a Groupon). I am SO glad that we made the move. La Posada is an older hotel with a unique history. We visited the week after Thanksgiving so the hotel and entire town was decked out with luminarias. Very beautiful.

The hotel grounds were immaculate. Our room could not have been further away, but what a great room! I had asked to be upgraded to a romantic room with a fireplace and we were not disappointed. The room was large - including two leather easy chairs. A spacious bed and a great working fireplace which we used each night - as it was quite cold.

The property is located two blocks from the main square. Needless to say, we walked every day to visit the stores, historic sights, and the local native Americans selling their jewelry on the square.

I have to admit that we never ate in the hotel or had any drinks as we were always looking to find a new place to try each night (see other reviews). But the hotel did have free happy hours each evening offering either a local beer or wine to try. These get togethers were always in the lobby with a roaring fire going each night.

Since there wasn't any snow, we found that there were no crowds (hence Groupon?). We met and enjoyed chatting with the same couples each evening before venturing out on our own. We were exchange our daily findings and make mental notes of what was worth doing and not.

Over all, I'm surprised that Trip Advisor has La Posada at 22nd. We only gave it 4 stars because we never experienced the dining and drinking parts of the hotel.

However, we thoroughly enjoyed using the gym and saunas/showers every morning!

In short - when we return to SF, we'll def be staying at La Posada again!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

was wonderful the minute we pulled in! we had been on the road for hours .we pulled in at 8pm and were greeted by a wonderful aroma of hot cider and nutmeg .The manager Gabe couldnt have been more welcoming and accomodating.After flipping through a book of restaurants he arranged dinner reservations for us.Showed us to our room that was amazing .Fireplace and jacuzzi tub!!bathrobes and slippers all that was needed for a wonderful night.They have a shuttle that runs to take you anywhere u need to go ..Breakfast was gourmet.. everything from omelets to waffles with fresh blueberries(my choice )all made fresh from their kitchen..and it was included..if you ever get a chance,,, stay here !!! we also had dinner within walking distance of hotel called D42..we are avid worldwide travellers and can honestly say ..most amazing ceasar salad prepared tableside ever had. . didnt expect in trying to avoid driving into a snowstorm (colorado ) we would find such a wonderful exprerience ,saw couples ,families and friends there..but in our case ,thanks to gabe ,the other employees and la pasada. found a second honeymoon that night thanks to this place.will be back for another

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

La Posada is located near the center of Santa Fe. The grounds are compact and have a nice layout ... hot tub, heated pool, fire pits, lots of places to sit outside. The gym, locker room, and steam room are above average. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and conceirge was very helpful. We used the American Express Fine Hotels program and received an upgraded room. The kiva fireplace was nice. This is a good jumping off point for New Mexico skiing and shopping trips to the plaza.

Room Tip: A big part of the charm are the old, adobe style rooms. The downside is that the floors and timbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.