We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“amazing experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

was wonderful the minute we pulled in! we had been on the road for hours .we pulled in at 8pm and were greeted by a wonderful aroma of hot cider and nutmeg .The manager Gabe couldnt have been more welcoming and accomodating.After flipping through a book of restaurants he arranged dinner reservations for us.Showed us to our room that was amazing .Fireplace and jacuzzi tub!!bathrobes and slippers all that was needed for a wonderful night.They have a shuttle that runs to take you anywhere u need to go ..Breakfast was gourmet.. everything from omelets to waffles with fresh blueberries(my choice )all made fresh from their kitchen..and it was included..if you ever get a chance,,, stay here !!! we also had dinner within walking distance of hotel called D42..we are avid worldwide travellers and can honestly say ..most amazing ceasar salad prepared tableside ever had. . didnt expect in trying to avoid driving into a snowstorm (colorado ) we would find such a wonderful exprerience ,saw couples ,families and friends there..but in our case ,thanks to gabe ,the other employees and la pasada. found a second honeymoon that night thanks to this place.will be back for another

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    123
    84
    36
    28
See reviews for
99
202
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

La Posada is located near the center of Santa Fe. The grounds are compact and have a nice layout ... hot tub, heated pool, fire pits, lots of places to sit outside. The gym, locker room, and steam room are above average. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and conceirge was very helpful. We used the American Express Fine Hotels program and received an upgraded room. The kiva fireplace was nice. This is a good jumping off point for New Mexico skiing and shopping trips to the plaza.

Room Tip: A big part of the charm are the old, adobe style rooms. The downside is that the floors and timbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were just lucky we got a discount for our room. It was outdated, small, and filthy. There is no way we would've paid $600+ dollars for one night. The staff was okay, but the layout was particularly odd. If you don't like the cold weather, you won't like this hotel. You might have to walk in the cold to get to your room. The Wi-Fi is very slow also. If you don't have a data plan device, you're out of luck. The only upside to this resort is the beautiful view. If you visit during the winter, you can look out your window and see a white landscape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

La posada is located a stones throw to town where all the shops, restaurants and a hop from canyon road. The hotel is all about service as everyone is super helpful from running you to wherever u want to go within a two mile radius of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are large and beds are comfy with down comforters and pillows. There is a turn down service at night. The spa has an outdoor heated pool and hot tub, and I house steam rooms. The massages are just "ok" more of a fluff even when u ask for heavy treatment. One caveat was there was a small child , boy, allowed in the ladies locker room in the steam bath that made it quite awkward for all. The restaurant is delicious and the lobby bar very bBbusy. There is a rotating art show throughout the hotel which is fun to view.

Room Tip: We used American express which gives us an upgrade and late checkout on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

La Posada de Santa Fe exudes Santa Fe Charm. It is quaint and quiet with a perfect mix of old and new. It maintains the charm of Santa Fe but with spacious rooms and updated bathrooms. Our room had a kiva fire place that made the room cozy and comfortable. It is a perfect location and easy walk to the Plaza, Canyon Road, museums and restaurants.

The staff was amazing and always eager to help. Valet parking is the only option but the staff are incredibly attentive and there is never a delay if you need the car.

I have stayed at the La Posada in both the summer and winter and recommend this resort for a relaxing stay anytime of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It is an eclectic collection of bungalows, some tiny (ours) with tiny bathrooms and tiny bedrooms with squeaky floors! Some could be large suites! For the same price! Just a maze of bungalows in that property! No place to park the car, so you have to valet every time!! Not that close to the plaza, I would say a ten minute walk, but a free shuttle is available. You have to walk outside to get to the lobby and bar. The bar is small, there was two rooms in the bar, with some live entertainment which was not good! Breakfast is not included in the room price. Overall not a pleasant experience! I will go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a suite if available, at least request a large room with large bathrooms(doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Professoridriss,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mention our property is different than many. Part of the eclectic is that all the rooms come with varied layouts and a unique feel that is commiserate to the design of an Art Hotel from the 1930's.

I'm sorry that the experience was not what you expected. I am always available for feedback and would welcome a call with any additional suggestions. Additionally, if I can be of service in selecting any option in Santa Fe please feel free to reach out for suggestions or possible help in picking the perfect room for you at La Posada.

We would love to get you back for another try.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Room and value this trip was good. The rug in the sitting room with fireplace needs replacing. The fire was not kept up well for guests to enjoy. The wine and cheese tasting was parsimonious. I stepped up to it to look at the tray. A few slivers of cheese were offered. Thin slivers. I thought, really? Not enough for others if I take even one. The bath robes were old and falling apart and left fuzz balls on clothes and body. This is a beautiful resort and layout but needs some help and vision. Coffee and hot chocolate and hot cider were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great shuttle service around town. This place can be better and probably will be again. We heard from other guests how impressive it once was years earlier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Karl R,

Thank you for the feedback and time to write a review. I appreciate the great comments about the Staff and some of the features of the hotel. I have reviewed the comments with the team and wanted to respond on a few items. We reviewed the wine and cheese and increased the amount on the trays. We usually keep extras in back to refresh throughout but wanted to make sure that guests didn't feel that we were leaving them short. We have also ordered new robes to replace what was a bad batch from a supplier.

Looking forward to your next trip.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.