We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Santa fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Santa fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

La posada is located a stones throw to town where all the shops, restaurants and a hop from canyon road. The hotel is all about service as everyone is super helpful from running you to wherever u want to go within a two mile radius of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are large and beds are comfy with down comforters and pillows. There is a turn down service at night. The spa has an outdoor heated pool and hot tub, and I house steam rooms. The massages are just "ok" more of a fluff even when u ask for heavy treatment. One caveat was there was a small child , boy, allowed in the ladies locker room in the steam bath that made it quite awkward for all. The restaurant is delicious and the lobby bar very bBbusy. There is a rotating art show throughout the hotel which is fun to view.

Room Tip: We used American express which gives us an upgrade and late checkout on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    124
    85
    36
    28
See reviews for
99
203
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

La Posada de Santa Fe exudes Santa Fe Charm. It is quaint and quiet with a perfect mix of old and new. It maintains the charm of Santa Fe but with spacious rooms and updated bathrooms. Our room had a kiva fire place that made the room cozy and comfortable. It is a perfect location and easy walk to the Plaza, Canyon Road, museums and restaurants.

The staff was amazing and always eager to help. Valet parking is the only option but the staff are incredibly attentive and there is never a delay if you need the car.

I have stayed at the La Posada in both the summer and winter and recommend this resort for a relaxing stay anytime of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It is an eclectic collection of bungalows, some tiny (ours) with tiny bathrooms and tiny bedrooms with squeaky floors! Some could be large suites! For the same price! Just a maze of bungalows in that property! No place to park the car, so you have to valet every time!! Not that close to the plaza, I would say a ten minute walk, but a free shuttle is available. You have to walk outside to get to the lobby and bar. The bar is small, there was two rooms in the bar, with some live entertainment which was not good! Breakfast is not included in the room price. Overall not a pleasant experience! I will go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a suite if available, at least request a large room with large bathrooms(doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Professoridriss,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you mention our property is different than many. Part of the eclectic is that all the rooms come with varied layouts and a unique feel that is commiserate to the design of an Art Hotel from the 1930's.

I'm sorry that the experience was not what you expected. I am always available for feedback and would welcome a call with any additional suggestions. Additionally, if I can be of service in selecting any option in Santa Fe please feel free to reach out for suggestions or possible help in picking the perfect room for you at La Posada.

We would love to get you back for another try.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Room and value this trip was good. The rug in the sitting room with fireplace needs replacing. The fire was not kept up well for guests to enjoy. The wine and cheese tasting was parsimonious. I stepped up to it to look at the tray. A few slivers of cheese were offered. Thin slivers. I thought, really? Not enough for others if I take even one. The bath robes were old and falling apart and left fuzz balls on clothes and body. This is a beautiful resort and layout but needs some help and vision. Coffee and hot chocolate and hot cider were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great shuttle service around town. This place can be better and probably will be again. We heard from other guests how impressive it once was years earlier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Karl R,

Thank you for the feedback and time to write a review. I appreciate the great comments about the Staff and some of the features of the hotel. I have reviewed the comments with the team and wanted to respond on a few items. We reviewed the wine and cheese and increased the amount on the trays. We usually keep extras in back to refresh throughout but wanted to make sure that guests didn't feel that we were leaving them short. We have also ordered new robes to replace what was a bad batch from a supplier.

Looking forward to your next trip.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

The casitas and history behind the hotel are interesting. Front desk staff did not appear enthused about their job or their guests. Within walking distance of old town. The lounge is quaint where we had after dinner drinks and enjoyed the one man band. I would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear CindyRobin,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of the hotel. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the time with us. If you do have time I always appreciate talking with our guests to help improve future stays. I have reviewed the comment about the front desk with the team. I apologize that they did not give you a more welcome felling.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
505-954-9610
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

our first experience at la posada was memorable with a great fireplace room and a nice spa experience and last year we were treated with snow which made the shuttle service they offered around the city so perfect. we returned same time this year to sunny and 60 degrees and the staff couldn't have been nicer from the general manager who made our stay so comfortable to the room with the fireplace and sitting area to the valet staff which is always on the ball to the concierge (tom if i remember correctly) was always right on with suggestions for restaurants and routes for our daily jogs to the great massages we enjoyed on our day of departure. The staub bar is a great hangout and the location of this hotel is perfect and the entire stay left us with no wants or wishes other then to get back there again soon.

Room Tip: ask for a fireplace room and make sure you check out the staub bar and for sure take any suggestion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Markvacationsforever,

It was a pleasure to have you back for the Kiva Classic. I'm so glad that you reached out ahead of time to help us set-up a great stay for you and your wife. The weather cooperated and hopefully you were able to enjoy the late checkout and massages on Sunday.

We look forward to next year.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at La Posada at the recommendation of a friend and am glad we did. The adobe-style casitas are found down quiet wandering paths and you will be surprised to find yourself entering a Victorian house inside complete with upstairs ghost. The service re received upon check in, by the bell staff and wait staff was very good. Santa Fe is at 7,000 feet. Several of us did experience some level of altitude sickness but the spa has a 15 minute oxygen treatment for just $16 that really made the difference. Just be aware there is only one station so don't go all together.

If you are arriving for the weekend do your best to be at the hotel at 4 on Fridays. The chef has a tasting with complementary wine that is wonderful. There is also hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoons and s'mores on some evenings as well.

After tasting the amazing soup and appetizers at the Friday afternoon chef's event we decided to stay in and have dinner. It was the best decision of our weekend and one of the best meals I have ever had (yes, ever). The new menu is very interesting and each dish has so much flavor my sister commented that our taste buds were having a party. I highly recommend the chocolate mouse (a handed down recipe that is not what you expect) with a glass of port after dinner. We had dinner the next evening for a similar price at the "number one" restaurant in Santa Fe and there was no comparison (Cafe Pasqual's).

Room Tip: This is a 1940's remodel with some new rooms from 1990 in the same style. All bathrooms are upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear LauraC92024,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the property. I'm so glad you got the opportunity to enjoy our culinary side. I agree that the Friday tasting followed by our Art and History Tour is a must see. Additionally at high altitude the Oxygen treatment can be a savior.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.