We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service and interesting property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Top notch service and interesting property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at La Posada at the recommendation of a friend and am glad we did. The adobe-style casitas are found down quiet wandering paths and you will be surprised to find yourself entering a Victorian house inside complete with upstairs ghost. The service re received upon check in, by the bell staff and wait staff was very good. Santa Fe is at 7,000 feet. Several of us did experience some level of altitude sickness but the spa has a 15 minute oxygen treatment for just $16 that really made the difference. Just be aware there is only one station so don't go all together.

If you are arriving for the weekend do your best to be at the hotel at 4 on Fridays. The chef has a tasting with complementary wine that is wonderful. There is also hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoons and s'mores on some evenings as well.

After tasting the amazing soup and appetizers at the Friday afternoon chef's event we decided to stay in and have dinner. It was the best decision of our weekend and one of the best meals I have ever had (yes, ever). The new menu is very interesting and each dish has so much flavor my sister commented that our taste buds were having a party. I highly recommend the chocolate mouse (a handed down recipe that is not what you expect) with a glass of port after dinner. We had dinner the next evening for a similar price at the "number one" restaurant in Santa Fe and there was no comparison (Cafe Pasqual's).

Room Tip: This is a 1940's remodel with some new rooms from 1990 in the same style. All bathrooms are upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear LauraC92024,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the property. I'm so glad you got the opportunity to enjoy our culinary side. I agree that the Friday tasting followed by our Art and History Tour is a must see. Additionally at high altitude the Oxygen treatment can be a savior.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    68
    27
    20
See reviews for
77
157
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was in La Posada for the wedding of my son. Everybody in the hotel made our stay unforgeteable. Everything was perfectly organized by a professional staff.
The guest also had very good memories of the stay in La Posada, not only the day of the wedding but during their whole stay.
Very beautiful place and very well situated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mamen E,

Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm so happy that the day was a special one for everybody involved. We hope that you are able to make it back in the not too distant future to relieve some memories as well as create some new ones.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had our wedding reception here 4 years ago (which was fantastic), but this was our first chance to return since then & this time with our baby boy. La Posada was as good as we remembered it, great location, great staff, great service. Brought back a lot of great memories for us. We will be back, sooner than last time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Hutchero,

I loved the heading of your review. We focus on treating our guest like family putting together an intimate and genuine style of service. I'm so glad that you came back and relieved a few memories as well as created some new ones.

We look forward to your return and as you say hope it will be "sooner" next time.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Impresive location with a excelent customer service, dinner and wedding planner. Everything was just perfect.
I'm use to travel around the world (over 100 nights yearly) and this hotel could be consider as my favorite place (after home).
Thank you for everything.

Room Tip: Sin duda, un lugar de referencia en Santa Fe y NM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear DavidSampere,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was so nice to have you with us and meet you during the wedding. Hard to believe it has been almost a year since you were with us. Hopefully we can get you back to the property in the near future.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first time to Santa Fe and we had a wonderful experience at La Posada. Friendly and attentive staff, very comfortable room and the hotel is filled with art. It helps create a wonderful ambiance. Our room was spacious and well equipped with a cozy fireplace. Bedding was excellent. The central location makes walking to the Plaza or the main art galleries very convenient.

Dining at Fuego was the highlight of the trip. The service was spectacular and the food even better. Chef Rodriquez came to our table and explained our dishes and made sure everything was perfect. We both enjoyed our meals -- certainly one of our best ever.

We will definitely be back to this hotel -- a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Tom B,

What a wonderful review. I'm happy to hear that you got personal time with Carmen, New Mexico’s Chef of the year. I love what he has done in his time with us. He is a selfless person who is always focused on the people around him. I appreciate the mention of the staff overall as they are the ones that make the difference in our guests stays.

You said this was your first but hopefully not your last trip to Santa Fe and La Posada.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My fiance and I went to La Posada to celebrate our four year anniversary and had the most wonderful experience. The room was beautiful and everyone at the resort went above and beyond the call of duty. They found out we were celebrating our anniversary and sent us a bottle of champagne with chocolate covered strawberries. The whole experience made our anniversary all the more special. I cannot express my gratitude and new found love for La Posada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear 118AMJ,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. La Posada is a great place to get away for a special occasion and I'm so glad that your time with us was so enjoyable. We always appreciate it when people inform us of their anniversaries so we can help you make it even more memorable.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We loved this boutique hotel. We were greated with a nice glass of Sangria upon arrival. Went to our room and had a lovely patio facing the pool with nice glass doors entering into our room. The fireplace was fabulous they provided wood and it was great to have our coffee by the fire in the morning. We stayed here during the last week of balloon fest and the weather was nice and warm during the day and we were able to enjoy the heated pool. They had a waiter who serviced the pool and he was very friendly and attentive. Our favorite was the night that you could meet the Chef and try some samplings along with wine and then they had a currator take us around the resort to talk with us about the art work that is for sale through out the building as well as the grounds. Location was great as we could walk down town to shops and restaurants. I would come back here again staff was very friendly and accommodations where great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenTutt, General Manager at La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Michele,

Thank you for the great review. Fall is a wonderful time at La Posada and in Santa Fe. I'm glad you got the opportunity to do one of our daily resort activities. The Chefs reception combined with the Art and History tour is my favorite. I'm also partial to Margarita Mondays.

We look forward to your return.

At your service,

Ben Tutt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.