We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a Rock Resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
South Pole
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“No longer a Rock Resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I really tried to like this place as they have many great employees who go the extra mile to please, but--- overall---- not sure I can recommend La Posada for a truly ultimate experience.

First off, this is no longer a Rock Resort property. The only other Rock Resort at which I stayed was head and shoulders above this place.

There are no inside hallways. Each unit has its own exterior entrance giving the property a kind of bungalow-upon-bungalow feel, and there are all shapes and sizes of rooms and suites. The web site would lead you to think the is more uniformity within each room category, but there is not. I strongly urge you to go see the room first upon arrival and make are it is to your liking before having our bags delivered there. Most of the members in our small group were disappointed by their initial room assignments and were offered alternatives.

If you're there in warmer months, I suggest getting a room with a patio or deck (not all have one). Conversely, in colder months, be sure to set a room with a fireplace(not all have one).

There is no parking for guests on the property and you must use their valet service (charged to your room).

It took at least twenty minutes each day to get ice delivered (there are no machines for guests to grab ice for themselves). Rooms do not have mini bars.

You may not need a rental car for your stay as the resort does offer free transport (until 11pm) for anything within a two mile radius.

Great place nearby to watch the sunset: there's a park sitting high stop a hill (Hillside Park) just a short hike from the property. In warmer months, La Fonda has a tower perfect for seeing the horizon, and that's just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: There is major construction now across the street from the West side of the property, so bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    96
    68
    28
    21
See reviews for
78
158
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My sisters came to visit from Michigan and we planned an overnight trip to Santa Fe from Colorado Springs where I live. We booked a reservation on Priceline and put in for a 3 star hotel. La Posada was the winner. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we were all looking forward to this luxurious resort! When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation and said they were booked 100%. They looked through their reservations and rooms to see if there was anything to accomodate the 3 of us. They found a room in the original building that used to be part of the living quarters from the early 1900's and assured us it was a very nice room. The only problem was that there was one king bed in the room and they would have to give us a roll away bed. What were we to do? We accepted and went to our room which was at first glance very elegant and spacious! We went to dinner and returned at 9 pm and discovered that no roll away bed had been delivered. After calling 3 times, the bed was delivered and appeared to be something from the 1960's. When turning down the bed, a spider crawled out! Dirty water came out of the faucets, not all the lights worked, slow running drains, mildew on the shower walls, no blow dryer in the room and when they brought one to us, it had a short in the switch. The TV worked sporadically as long as you didnt turn the base. The carpet was filthy! The valet misplaced my car keys which left us waiting 15 minutes outside, even though we had called ahead. The reservation area left much to be desired because it was a mass of confusion with no seating area to wait your turn. Beware as they charge an additional $30 for valet, use of spa, and pool which was also dirty. Definitely first impressions are not lasting impressions in this case. I would rate this hotel a 2 star and not the 4 star resort it claims to be!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101 no matter what they say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Posada is a beautiful refuge within the city of Santa Fe . It was refurbished from a serues of adobe cottages into an integrated resort of cottages. a pool. a spa and landscaped gardens. The service is friendly and efficient from the welcoming valets to the friendly reception area. Each cottage is well designed and a bit unique. Most have a small private patio and in winter and a chilly spring those with the traditional Santa Fe type fireplace are most desirable. There is about a 3 block walk to the main square which keeps the posada quiet but not too far from the "action". To be here in a traditional adobe room is more residential feeling than hotel like, and is very suitable to Santa Fe. The bar has excellent nightly music, drinks are adequate and snackes are good. The restaurant is more than good for all meals and the outdoor fireplace at night suggests somoreas. It is family friendly

Room Tip: In spring and winter ask for a fireplace. In summer perhaps an up stairs room with a patio balcong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was a little concerned when I found out this resort had recently stopped being managed by RockResorts but I needn't have worried - it's still wonderfully managed by the people who helmed it for RockResorts and our stay was absolute joy.

We took several meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) at their restaurants, Fuego and The Staab House, and every one was a culinary delight. We attended the Chef's Reception where we met the maestro who was exceedingly friendly and sampled his wares.

The Spa was comfortable, clean and well equipped and the masseuses quite talented.

The staff was friendly, informed and very accommodating.

All in all a pleasurable experience - we will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our third stay at what has become our favorite spot in Santa Fe, and we’re already planning a fourth! Our visits to La Posada de Santa Fe become better and better each time, although when we’re there we always say, “Life doesn’t get any better than this!” This time we went in the third week of March, which was delightful - just the beginning of spring and no crowds with which to contend. It felt as if we had the beautiful city of Santa Fe all to ourselves, and we were La Posada’s special guests.

The super deluxe service we’ve come to expect is still in place from the prompt and efficient check-in service to the quick arrival of our luggage in our room by a smiling valet who knew the answers to our questions. Our room again was lovely, tastefully done in Southwestern decor with a flat screen TV, comfortable leather arm chair, desk for the laptop, mini bar, coffee server, and king size bed with four downy pillows. Nothing was overlooked from roomy closet to safe to ironing board and iron. The bathroom area was commodious with a wide sink counter providing plenty of room for two plus all of our accoutrements. AND, the amenities - Frette towels, plus delicious body lotion, conditioner, shampoo, and mouth wash. Yes, even a magnifying mirror. All the comforts of home without having to tidy up!

Breakfast was a delight - everything from Huevos Rancheros to pancakes to granola. We spent several evenings in the delightful Staab House Lounge where both drinks and dinner may be served. There is often live entertainment in the Lounge, so fun and relaxing. Dress throughout the Resort is always casual, comfortable.

There’s a Business Center available with computers and printer, plus a shuttle service providing rides into downtown Santa Fe and pick-up when called. This service is on a first come first served basis, but we never waited longer than 10 minutes either way. A newspaper of your choice is delivered to your room each morning, and other papers are available in the main lounge area.

La Posada has an on-site curator and displays over $1 million of original art works throughout the Resort’s public spaces and guest rooms. What an experience to stroll throughout while admiring this magnificent collection of art! Pops of color greet you around corners just as sunlit landscapes draw your eye.

Cannot say enough good things about the staff who were always friendly, ready to help if wanted and never intrusive. For example, one evening Fuego, the main dining room, was closed for a private party. The concierge went out of his way to learn what kind of food we enjoyed, then recommended a restaurant, made our dinner reservation, and even offered the shuttle to take us and pick us up. That’s just one example of the care and concern shown to this Resort’s guests - our comfort and enjoyment always seemed to be the staff’s #1 priority.

We cannot say enough good things about La Posada de Santa Fe! We’ve just enjoyed another 5 star stay and we’re looking forward to the next one.

Room Tip: Should you wish you can request a room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I came to La Posada thanks to recommendations from friends that live in Santa Fe. The resort is amazing!! It is only a few blocks from the Plaza where there are lots of shopping, restaurants, bars, and clubs. The resort covers 6 acres and was originally a private residence in the 1800's. The rooms are all clusters of Casitas with different amenities. I can see other Casitas with private patios, fireplaces, etc. I got a Casita on a top floor, so my windows look right out to Aspen trees. It took a few times to find my room, but once I found it the hotel stopped by my room while I was checking in and left me a plate with cheese and crackers and a Voss water bottle. My room was very large with all the newest amenities. Huge bathroom with double sinks, shower made for two, and every personal toiletry you may need. Check-in was a breeze and so was valet. I can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Every room has unique amenities, talk with the receptionist about the differences to find your perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Second time here on business, and lucked out w/ a very quiet room, w/ seperate living rm. area, staff wonderful, friendly, each unit soemwhat secluded, and each quite unique, in maintaining the traditional Santa Fe look. Blessed w/ perfect weather till the day we left, when upon waking, the place was covered w/ two inches of snow, it really is the "land of enchantment"

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: 330 East Palace Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, is affiliated with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and participates in the SPG loyalty program. "The Art Hotel of Santa Fe", is a historic property and the only resort downtown. Nestled on six acres in the heart of Santa Fe, just steps from the historic Plaza and Canyon Road, La Posada is the ultimate destination for leisure and business travel with exquisite indoor and outdoor venues for groups, meetings, weddings, and social events. Discover a captivating blend of adobe-style architecture and local artwork, a year-round outdoor pool, exceptional spa, award-winning cuisine and genuine hospitality from our seasoned professionals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
La Posada De Santa Fe Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Santa Fe, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.