We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   460 West San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Night Ski Package
Ranked #19 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Los Anegles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed in Santa Fe for a week, and had the opportunity to stay at Las Palomas. We were on a “second honeymoon” to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, and genuinely enjoyed our stay.

Our casita was the perfect alternative to a stuffy room at one of the overpriced hotels on the Plaza. We stayed in #36, and loved our fully equipped kitchen, small living room, bathroom, and cozy bedroom. It was tastefully decorated and had a charming, romantic feel. It also had a back porch with 2 wooden rocking chairs and the living room had a leather couch. Parking was also conveniently located next to the casitas. Las Palomas is a very short walk from the plaza, which was very important to us. There was never a need to utilize transportation unitl we went to the opera, restaurants along Canyon Road, or to visit neighboring towns.

Every morning, a buffet-style breakfast was available in the lobby. This entailed juices, melons, fresh coffee, bagels, muffins, cereal, and hard boiled eggs. The service staff was very extremely attentive and they replenished any items as needed. You could also order an espresso drink or homemade waffle at no extra charge. The coffee and strawberry waffles hit the spot!

Las Palomas is made up of 3 sections: 1 section is next to the office (this is where we stayed), and the other areas two are located across the street, which seemed a bit awkward. The landscaping in which we stayed had lovely flower gardens, gas lamps, and walks adorned with this gorgeous tile. The areas across the street didn’t seem quite as attractive.

My only bit of criticism is that our casita did not have robes as it states in the website, and there was a rug that nearly caused a couple horrific falls. In addition, the hot tub was located across the street. We had no drawers anywhere in the casita. There was only an armoire for the bedroom television with a couple of shelves, so we opted to store most of belongings under the bed. There was no safe available, but felt that the neighborhood was relatively safe. On the other hand, we got along just fine without the robes, hot tube, drawers, and safe, and kicked the rug to the side.

On a final note, the staff was very friendly, and felt that the casitas were well worth the money spent. We are considering a return in January and wouldn’t hesitate to return to Las Palomas.

-Penelope and Dave

  • Liked — Location and the accommodations
  • Disliked — Not having drawers or robes
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    210
    61
    43
    29
See reviews for
122
451
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Far unlit unknown
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

There's a lot to like about Las Palomas, but other things were less than satisfactory.

We stayed in a one-bedroom casita. This was not located in the main complex on San Francisco, but across the street on Park. That's not a problem, but it was a bit confusing trying to find the parking area in the dark. The casita was certainly spacious, including a sitting area with a pull-out queen size bed, a small kitchenette, a bedroom with king-size bed and a good size bathroom. Although the casita included a fireplace, no wood was provided, which was a shame because it was pretty chilly in the evenings when we visited.

The king bed was pretty comfortable, but the sofa with the pull-out was a disaster. The thin mattress was in terrible shape, and the children were very uncomfortable. Although our reservation was for 4 people, we only received three sets of towels, and when my husband went over to the main lobby to ask for another set, he discovered that staff apparently abandons ship at 9 pm.

For the most part, the casita was nicely decorated, but there were areas where apparently shelving or mirrors had been removed leaving holes in the wall, and the previous paint color, which was just weird. The bare painted concrete floor that ran through most of the unit was not very nice to walk on, and the one rug provided in the sitting area didn't have any padding to prevent slipping, which is a potential hazard that management might want to look into, given the large number of older travelers who appear to stay there.

Breakfast is provided as part of the room rate, and the first morning, we arrived to find a lot of empty baskets and juice containers, tables that hadn't been bussed or cleaned and no staff in sight. When a staff person finally could be bothered to show up, we had to continually dog him to replenish empty coffee carafes, etc. We weren't offered waffles, which we later discovered were the standard breakfast fare, and the tables never were cleaned. The next morning, however, was a complete turnaround and the breakfast service-with a completely different set of staff members-was near perfect.

The property is located several blocks from Santa Fe's main plaza, but this was certainly within walking distance for our family.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Driving into Santa Fe Wednesday evening, we were tired, hungry, and hopeful that our room at Las Palomas would be comfortable and clean. We were NOT disappointed.

Our room, while small, was perfect for two nights for the two of us. The bed was comfortable, the location and property charming, and the staff friendly. The casita was well equipped with a microwave and coffee maker. We didn't use either one because of the nice breakfast included in the room charge. The waffles and the muffins were excellant and a good selection of fruit, bagels, cereal, and yogurt was available. Ample parking existed in the small parking lot about thirty feet from our room.

My only complaint, minor, was the wool southwestern rug on the bathroom floor. While a nice decorative touch, it was stained and didn't feel particularly nice on my feet. The owner should remove it and leave the floor bare.

The staff recommended a couple of restaurants during our stay and we liked both recommendations. One of the staff also recommended a nice, challenging day hike for us starting in the parking lot of St. John's college.

The locations and price are good for Santa Fe and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knesselare
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in Las Palomas very much. Being travellers from Europe, we finally found the old fashioned cozy atmosphere of the typical small hotels in Europe. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast awesome. It is a good place to stay for a few days as the studios are very well equipped for home cooking. The fireplace was great on a very chilly night in April. I reccommend the hotel to people that are looking for atmosphere and not just a cold standard furnished room!
Inge and Steve

  • Liked — The cozy authentic atmosphere of Mexican style
  • Disliked — Nothing to report
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

The hotel's website is somewhat misleading. The website makes the place look gorgeous and luxurious. However, although the hotel grounds were charming our room was a little bit of a disappointment. The carpeting was stained. There was a fireplace in our room, but it was a simple black box mounted on a mantle that you could operate by turning on the gas. The room simply lacked the elegance that I expected from the website. They do have a cozy little breakfast room and will serve you made-to-order fruit waffles. The location is very good - on a quiet street but only a few short blocks to the plaza. In the end, I would stay somewhere else if I were going back to Santa Fe.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, but wished we could have stayed for several! The hotel is actually several little apartments that are joined by walls, and a walkway. Some are quite large, ours was small, but perfect for the two of us.
When we opened the door to our "room", we were quite surprised to find that it had three rooms. The first is the bedroom with kiva fireplace, rocker, and tv. The second is the kitchen - yes, really - with sink, cupboards, refrigerator, microwave oven, table, silverware, dishes, etc. The third room is the bathroom.
Our room was at the end of a little pathway, very quaint. We never heard any other guests, so it was almost secluded. We saw several others at breakfast, but that was the only way we knew we were not alone!
Breakfast was continental, with bagels, toast, juice, coffe, etc, but you may also request a freshly made belgian waffle with blueberries or strawberries. It was delicious. They also had freshly made cookies in the afternoon with lemonade.
The walk to the main square was 2 1/2 blocks. A very easy walk! The parking was free at the hotel.
I have to say that Dan, the evening desk manager was fabulous, and Matt the day manager were both extremely nice and helpful with suggestions for dinner, directions, etc. They truly made a good stay excellent! We thank them for their kindnesses.
When in Santa Fe again, we will definately be staying here!

  • Liked — Location, front desk staff
  • Disliked — We could only stay one night!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

Las Palomas is a very comfortable place to stay, within walking distance of the shopping, restaurants, and historical sites of downtown Santa Fe.

My "casita" was beautifully decorated and actually much larger than I needed, with a bedroom, sitting room, and bathroom. The king-sized bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in, and the "too-soft"
pillows that others have remarked on are luxurious feather pillows. I loved them. I would advise travellers who want to sleep in on a weekday morning to request a room that does not face the street.

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast has the typical continental fare plus boiled eggs and waffles. Wireless internet was easy and reliable.

This hotel is a little more expensive than the places I normally stay, but what I saved on breakfast, lattes, and parking actually made it quite affordable, and gave my trip to Santa Fe a sense of luxury. It's more personal-feeling than a large hotel, but allows for
anonymity when desired, and doesn't have the kitschy feeling of some B&B's.

  • Liked — atmosphere of casual luxury
  • Disliked — room facing street was a bit noisy in the morning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Address: 460 West San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas de Santa Fe in an exceptional boutique hotel located just three blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza. Our rooms offer traditional Santa Fe style and world-class amenities at an affordable value for your visit to Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.