We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy hotel very close to the plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   460 West San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Fling!
Ranked #18 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Fort Worth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A cozy hotel very close to the plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Las Palomas was a very reasonably priced, cozy hotel that is located just a couple of blocks off of the plaza. It is rather plain and unassuming outside, but there are nooks with benches, outdoor fireplaces, and fountain to enjoy. The room was nice and had a very "homey" feel to it. They have a wonderful complimentary breakfast that is much more than your usual. Everything from fruit and cereals to homemade breakfast crepes and waffles. The waffles were awesome! We will definitely stay here when we go back to Santa Fe next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    232
    63
    45
    30
See reviews for
136
488
39
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

DO NOT BE FOOLED!!! The photos on the website for Las Palomas in Santa Fe LOOK NOTHING LIKE THE HOTEL IN PERSON. Sadly, I stayed here with my boyfriend and 3 friends September 19, 2009. Upon arrival at the propety we were immediately shocked by the difference in the beautifully styled photos featured on their website and the shabby, worn down, dirty, smelly, in bad need of a paint job, carpet stained rooms we were given. (see photos)

We should have known that this establishment was less then honorable when our credit cards were charged the same day we made our reservation 4 months in advance - as "a courtesy to us."

If the disappointment of the rooms and property in general weren't bad enough, when we brought this to the attention of the reception desk person, she phoned the manager who refused to speak with us. After repeatedly insisting these rooms were unacceptable, she phoned him back and he finally relented to speak with us only to call us liars. To make a long story short, I have never been treated with such hostility by someone in the hospitality industry. The only saving grace came by way of Maria, the housekeeping manager who very graciously agreed to view the rooms and make note of our complaints before moving us to slightly more clean rooms. While they were still no where near the quality of the rooms we saw on the website, at least there weren't dog stains on the carpet and did not smell.

While we only stayed one night in Las Palomas, we were not the only patrons complaining to the front desk about the cleanliness and overall run down state of this property. We want to warn anyone who is contemplating staying here that it is a dump! How it EVER earned 4 stars is beyond all of us. For the same $200/night you can stay at the newer El Dorado a block away. We sure wish we had.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We booked this room based on the pictures of the hotel. We were disappointed in what it actually looked like. We arrived at the hotel at 3PM. The room wasn't ready until 3:40PM. There were only 3 parking slots in the area of our room. Fortunately, since we were "early," we got one. The room seemed old and dingey and seemed to slant, and the grout around the tub was black and not a pretty sight. Our room did not have an air conditioner, but we noticed several other rooms that did. Guess we should have upgraded! For what we paid for the one night, I would have expected much better. The office was across the street and on another street from our room--not convenient. The upside--wonderful warm cookies when we checked in, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We have been traveling to Santa Fe annually for more than a decade and usually stay at La Posada (also an awesome hotel). This trip we wanted a little more room and a kitchenette, Las Palomas will now be our only hotel in Santa Fe. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the real differentiator is the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Spent a pleasant week based in our comfortable, adobe-walled casita (w/king bed, mini-fridge for snacks, good shower and flat-screen TV). Tasty buffet breakfasts (waffles, cereal, fresh fruits, yogurt, juices, potent coffee) in cheery, colorful indoor/outdoor setting ; friendly, helpful staff enriched our stay by recommending 'insider' shops, restaurants & day trips. Courtesy, on-call shuttle bus for outings to 'museum hill' area (don't miss it!). Not fancy, but a nice family-friendly place just 10-minute walk from busy plaza. We thoroughly enjoyed sharing tips and adventures with other guests each morning, . We look forward to our next trip to Las Palomas and enchanting Santa Fe. Eat at Pascual's, The Shed or Plaza Cafe!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

It was a nice place. We had a Casita (La Tienda). The place wasn't 5 star but it had a certain charm to it that was very comfortable. We stayed three nights and it was very quiet.

The food was okay with waffles or a huge crepe made for you. The fruit was hit or miss. Coffee was horrid but my wife said it was pinon coffee. I have no idea. Or you could do the cereal, oatmeal, bagel thing. You could get what you wanted as the well-stocked breakfast bar.

Las Palomas was walking distance to the plaza and the O'Keefe museum. Stuff was close enough we didn't feel too isolated which was nice.

My only humbugs would be to say the room wasn't as nice as the pics and the bed was lumpy - not firm. It was like staying at someone's old house which is, I suppose, the point. It was a comfortable getaway; t didn't feel corporate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie4Eva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

What a wonderful experience. When we first pulled in the valet had the bellman unload our car for us as we checked in. My boyfriend, myself and our 120 pound Bloodhound were all greeted with huge smiles & great service. The lobby, foyer and restaurants were all decorated beautifully and the staff was more than welcoming. Finding a place that fits our standards can be tricky as we both work in the resort industry and have stayed with the best. Las Palomas definately exceeded our expectations. Not only did we find a beautiful property, but they were pet friendly too! Our room was a one bedroom with a fireplace- ooo la la was it romantic?! The bedding was so comfortable I had to force myself out of bed in the mornings. The room was so charming and the bathrooms were gorgeous. I love the spa products that they give you: Lemongrass Lavender Shower Gel & little soaps shaped like rocks (they are part of Rock Springs Resorts). Every last detail was perfect down to the do not disturb signs being made out of dreamcatchers. Very cozy, southwestern, comfortable and well maintained property. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked our next trip for the Chili & Wine festival and requested the same room. When we checked in the front desk staff even gave us a room with a fenced in yard for the dog. If you want space & charm book a bigger room. We loooove this resort and look forward to many more stays with Las Palomas. The new menu in the bar was great & they have the best mojitos I haev had in a while. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Address: 460 West San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas de Santa Fe in an exceptional boutique hotel located just three blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza. Our rooms offer traditional Santa Fe style and world-class amenities at an affordable value for your visit to Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.