We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely New Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe to your Saves list
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   460 West San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Fling!
Ranked #18 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Seattle Washington State
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Definitely New Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Casitas we stayed in is definitely quaint and fits the local Santa Fe NM style, there was plenty of room in our quarters. The only negative for me personally is that they are fairly old, which some might consider more esthetic quality for a beautiful old city like Santa Fe in New Mexico. However, a bit rustic for my taste, harder to keep clean, wires in places added over the years, shower not as updated as I would like with good pressure, sink drained slow. The air flow in our bedroom area is excellent, with just the fan on and without windows in our sleeping area the fresh air flowed fresh and well. Heat was great, not to much via the vents. The things I liked are the staff especially, they are s nice, kind, professional and friendly, they made us feel very very welcome. Hugo Gonzalez especially friendly and considerate. Plus the very nice lady in the late evening who brought us coffee while we played dominos. I wish I could recall her name, she made our stay extra special. The breakfast experience is exceptionally nice. Large eating are, nice selection of places to sit, staff prepares great omelets, and the buffet are has great fruits and breads, Coffee is always excellent with choices of Latte, Espresso, Coffee Americano or just god ole standard coffee and yes tea available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I am so glad to know that both Hugo and Rebecca took such good care of you! Indeed, we are located in the historic district and have many different shapes and sizes of rooms! We are constantly updating and upgrading our rooms - one by one - especially the bathroom - so please stay with us again soon and try a little less rustic room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    232
    63
    45
    30
See reviews for
136
488
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, California, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Santa Fe is one of my favorite destinations for food, art, hikes, bikes, history, etc. In the past we have stayed at the southwestern style glamourous and pricey La Posada which has beautiful grounds, lovely casitas and is only a short walk from the plaza. Desiring to allocate more dollars for shopping and dining and fewer for lodging, we decided to look for a place to stay that we would enjoy but wouldn't put such a dent in our budget.
This is our first time at this lovely little B&B within walking distance of everything. We were so impressed by the service, full delicious breakfast, and our home away from home in a traditional adobe building. Our suite featured a small living room with kiva fireplace which we used every night, a kitchenette, lovely bedroom with wonderfully comfy bed, pillows and sheets and very nice bathroom. It was a comfortable, charming, roomy haven.
The staff is very welcoming. We especially appreciated gracious touches like a fresh stack of wood and colorfully wrapped packages with newspaper and firestarter outside our door each afternoon, made to order omelets at breakfast, warm cookies and lattes at any time of the day in the lobby, great hiking maps and books also in the lobby, and good advice on area attractions.
The best part? It was half the price of our La Posada stay.
We will definitely return!! But plan on booking early as the multiple buildings in this quiet neighborhood were fully booked every night of the week even in off season.

Room Tip: Our rooms were not quite as glamourous as the ones on the website but we still loved them! I am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We do indeed try to stay busy/full and are delighted that you chose to “try us out” on this trip by yourselves to Santa Fe. Many thanks for your kind words and I am delighted to lean that we took good care of you. I hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits instead of that “other place”!

Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Las Palomas is made up of several sets of buildings. I was able to take advantage of a nicely-priced web offer, and we were placed in Duran House. The room had charm and character and was well-designed, including a wrap-around window seat, gas fireplace (did not use - other rooms appeared to have wood-burning ones), rustic, appealing furniture, microwave + frig, modern bathroom, and cushy king bed with comfy linens. (Bed was TOO soft for us, but still comfortable enough - everybody has their own preference.)
So - #1 - physically, Las Palomas is a super-charming, well-maintained and inviting place!
#2 - the "extras" - a fabulous breakfast, offering a full array of made-to-order omelets, a variety of HUGE waffles, as well as all sorts of DELICIOUS specialty coffee drinks. There is fresh fruit, hot coffee and teas, cold juices, hot and cold cereals, and a variety of breads and pastries. Also, offered from 7 am - 10 am, so fits all agendas. Other - a free shuttle, very handy! Took us from the O'Keeffe Museum up to the top of Canyon so we could walk the length back in to town.
#3 The location! Perfect for walking in to the Plaza!
All in all, we are so pleased with our choice and highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Your recommendation to others is so greatly appreciated! Many thanks for writing to tripadvisor.com with such positive comments and I am so pleased to note that items 1. Through 3. were a success!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I came to Santa Fe on a whim and without a reservation anywhere. We found Las Palomas online and decided to book it. We were so happy we did. Upon checking in we found we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite. We were very pleased with this, but we had to wait 30 mins for the room to be finished cleaning, which was a little disappointing after traveling all day. Once inside the room we were very happy. The bed was very comfortable, the linens were a nice quality too. The leather furniture in the family room was nice and comfy too.
We really loved the free breakfast that they put on each morning. And did I mention they offer warm chocolate chip cookies and coffee in the lobby all day?!
We had only planned on staying in Santa Fe for two days, but we fell in love with the area and decided to extend our stay. Our room was unfortunately booked and so was the entire Inn! However, the excellent customer service given by Tina, she booked us in at their sister hotel!! We spent two nights over there and were jonesing to get back to Las Palomas! We stopped over and found out they had availability so we moved back over! This time, we were upgraded to the room known as "la tienda". This was awesome! It felt so historical and special. Like we had our own little house in Santa Fe. I did not want to leave after those 2 nights. We even were told a "hollywood" actor stayed in this room for quite some time while filming a movie in Santa Fe!! And, that is the bottom line, Las Palomas and their staff make everyone feel like "Hollywood Stars". I appreciated Tina and Al, or Al and Tina's assistance on where to eat, where to hike etc. Tina runs around each morning making sure everyone is happy at breakfast and that they have everything they need.
If you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
As other guests have mentioned before, Tina is indeed a great hostess and been with us for many years! And Al is normally/often the “icing on the cake”?!!

Thank you so much for a marvelous review and I am so happy to know that you had a great time and especially enjoyed the breakfasts.

We can’t wait to welcome you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in April. We chose this place because the hotel offered a $99 a night special. I agree with an earlier post that suggested you see the room you are getting before you check in. They have several properties and they vary in quality.
We booked a fireplace room and were happy to learn we had a free upgrade when we arrived. Our happiness soon turned to disappointment when we were in the 2 room suite. It was dirty and old. There was a step into the bedroom but it would have been easy to fall into the step area at night because the room was so small. It was dark and depressing. The bathroom showere didn't work well and it was hard getting water. We disliked the room so much we were ready to cut short our stay.
The next day I expressed some concerns and we were moved to another upgraded room that was MUCH better! It was clean, larger, had more wiindows and even a patio area. Both rooms were the same price but hugely different. We liked this room so much we added a night to our stay.View before you accept a room!
Breakfast was really good. Made to order omelets, freshly baked muffins, fruits, juice etc... One day we had a Native American playing an accordian during breakfast...he was great! The woman who handles the mornings at the inn was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful.
The location is perfect, a short walk to downtown and parking is included. Would I stay again? Yes...if I first saw the room. Also...my review might be totally different if I had paid $160 as opposed to $99 per night.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Many thanks for staying with us for an extra night! I am sorry you were disappointed with your first room, but glad to know that we made amends!

I hope you will try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If posh and pristine are your style this is not the place for you. When we first walked into the lobby we almost left due to the slightly shabby and downscale look. The pictures on the internet are nothing like the reality. Our casita's entire floor was concrete painted a mustard color with sponge painted teal and dark green blobs all over. Really, it has to be seen to be believed. We stayed anyway and are glad we did. The staff are uniformly pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is great, with made- to- order omelets and waffles, with specialty coffees available. The bed was super comfortable, the linens and towels very nice. It's a very easy walk to the main plaza so location is a plus. We would consider staying there again but would ask to see the room first.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I am so glad to know that you did not leave us but enjoyed your stay! Yes, indeed, every room is a little different and please do “take your pick” next time. Many thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is my second time staying here and I would not stay anywhere else. All the staff was fabulous to work with! From the time I made my reservation with Melissa to checking in at the front desk with Rebecca and Al. Al took the time to show me three rooms. This is a charming hotel where all the rooms are peublo homes that have been turned into hotel. Everything about this hotel is charming. Great breakfasts in the morning is included, homemade omelettes, waffles, fresh fruit and juices! It does not get any better. You are full for the day! There is a shuttle that will take you anywhere you need to go.

The rooms are charming with fireplaces with lots of rooms. Everyone is so helpful with anywhere you need to go. Tina and Thomas were a great help with directions and great places to visit.

You are 2 blocks to the town where there is wonderful shopping. I cannot say enough about this hotel and everyone who works there. Oh yes and they always have fresh hot chocolate chip cookies available along with Espresso, Latte or Cappucinos anytime of the day!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 60. It is considered a studio and has two rooms with a king and double bed and on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
And we can not say enough about your wonderful review and thank you so very much for staying with us again. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Address: 460 West San Francisco Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas de Santa Fe in an exceptional boutique hotel located just three blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza. Our rooms offer traditional Santa Fe style and world-class amenities at an affordable value for your visit to Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.