We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You people are just spoiled brats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You people are just spoiled brats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Heavy title I know, but after reading some of the negative reviews it has become very obvious that it was very very biased.
FIrst off there are 2 Hiltons in Santa Fe. One is called Thunder Mountain Resort, the other is the Hilton in downtown Santa Fe. The people that complained should have stayed at the resort if that is what they expected.
As for the Hilton downtown my stay was lovely. First off the location is super, within walking distance of the shopping downtown area. Restaurants are literally steps away. You do have to pay for parking, but this is generally the case when you stay at any downtown hotel. Considering the high prices of parking downtown however this is quite a deal. The building itself is a historic building, and has beautiful features. The lobby is very nice indeed and the hotel staff is very accommodating. The rooms are very nice, with a rather large flatscreen TV. Beds are verrrry comfy. The bathrooms aren't huge, but they are nicely done. Who needs a huge bathroom anyway? For being downtown it was a very quiet location where I stayed in room 165. As for amenities, the internet is not free so that would be the only negative. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    320
    143
    59
    36
See reviews for
179
372
62
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Staff, rooms and service were unbeatable. Sandwich shop that compares to none. Free internet in the lobby, must subscribe for a price in the room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Dated / old furniture. SMALL bathrooms. Proximity to Plaza is nice. Nicer rooms available in lower class hotels.

Staff exceptionally nice and the restaurant is above average for hotels.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

My wife and I spent one night here for our 20th anniversary and to go see a concert at the Lensic Theater (only 1 block away). I am a HH member, and when making the booking, I noted that it was our anniversary. When we checked in we were surprised and delighted that the hotel upgraded our standard room to a casita. The casita was really cute, had a kitchen, 2 king beds, fireplace, two bathrooms, etc. It also had a private patio and reserved parking (they even waived the parking fee!). What was even nicer was that they delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, and a lovely card with all of the staff's well wishes!

As for the room and hotel, sure they are a little worn - this is a really popular area. But the staff were so friendly and kind that the hotel definitely deserves 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed at the HIlton Santa Fe on May 10-12. Check-in was smooth, and parking lot was crowded, but plenty of room and convenient to building. The rooms, lobby, and other public spaces are decorated in the rustic Mission style made famous here. Location is within easy walking distance (approx. 4 blocks) of the Governor's Palace, cathedral basilica, and many missions including Loretto. I appreciated the lack of mandatory resort fees. There is a parking charge, but I thought $7.50 for HHonors members was fair since we were in an area where parking is at a premium. The room quality was fine; they did recently remodel with new carpet, furniture, and LCD tvs (NOT plasmas). The room was refreshingly large in size with a standard size closet and plenty of room for suitcases and walking around the entry/bathroom door area. Major problem with room design: bathroom door actually has been cut to fit around part of the toilet (it still hits, but at least you can walk inside and then shut the door); I'm afraid this is because the toilet bowl is elongated rather than standard/round as they probably were prior to remodel.
Hotel services incl. at least one restaurant (we didn't eat here) & room service was available. Complimentary punches/lemonades as well as apples were available in the lobby in the evening (maybe all the time).
Pool is billed as the "largest in Santa Fe," and it was rather big, but we were unable to swim as it was being refurbished. The kiva (firepit) was a neat touch as well. Housekeeper did a splendid job and deserved her tip!
We highly recommend taking a 8-minute drive to the Chocolate Maven Cafe for their hot cocoas (Italian is the creamiest and best, but Mayan is the most unique as it is quite spicy). It is a lot of fun to watch the pastry chefs work through the glass wall separating the 1st floor dining area and bakery. Breakfast here is wonderful but expensive at $5 for large cocoa and about $8-10 per entree. Besides the local Santa Fe missions, etc., other family attractions include the Bradbury Science Museum (Los Alamos) and Bandolier National Monument (25 mins. from Los Alamos) with its Anasazi cliff dwellings and petroglyphs.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I arrived at the Santa Fe Hilton on the Sandia shuttle the morning of 5/11/2009. Check in was a breeze and I was amazed at the hospitality of the staff and concierge. The room was nice and had a large plasma flat screen TV. The hotel is two blocks southwest of the plaza which makes it convenient to shopping and the museums. Jane the concierge gave me recommendations on where to visit and set up a rental car for me through Budget rent a car which I kept for two days. I had only planned to rent a car for one day to visit Taos, but Jane suggested I visit Bandelier Monument. I went to Bandelier and I also visited Los Alamos. It was a pleasant visit to New Mexico and I would recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Hotel is located two blocks from the main square in Santa Fe which is a big plus...but the hotel despite its claims to a big renovation is quite ordinary,and maintenance is not the best...hot water faucet in the sink did not function upon our arrival,and only two of the jets worked in the hot tub by the pool.....you will also have to pay $15 for parking unless you are a hilton honors member(fee is then $7.50) and internet is only free in the lobby...Highly recommend the Coyote Cafe Cantina for an inexpensive meal...the cantina is on a balcony less two blocks from the hotel on water street...also highly recommend the Amavi restaurant on Shelby street for a wonerful meal in a great atmosphere...They have a great wine list and on Wednesday evenings any bottle of wine is half price.....finally Inn of the Anasazi on Washington Ave. has a nice outdoor seating area and a great buffalo burger

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
No photo provided
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.