We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Mexico Cultural Offer
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Huntington Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was our first time to Santa Fe. The hotel/resort was great and has come to resemble the consistency we would expect from Hilton. The rooms resemble the Spanish influence of the region and leaves you feeling you are staying some place special. Compared to other hotels it is great bargain and worth visiting. Yes you do have to pay for parking, but the only reason why they charge is to keep others out. They ran into a problem when downtown visitors would use the pay lots and hotel guests couldn't park. When I heard that, I thought it was a great idea.

As an added tip, in the evening ask Carlos at the front desk where to eat. He has the best tips and suggestions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from sandoval street and away from the dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    271
    113
    53
    34
See reviews for
144
286
51
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Its a Hilton, consistent product and a better than run-of-the-mill road hotel for this location. The Santa Fe Garden Inn is a nice quiet, clean place to stay and that's all I have to say about that. Really no other items of complaint or compliment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for all of your comment. We appreciate all of your feedback and have shared it with our hotel staff.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has a great location. It's a block and half or so away from the Plaza. The location is so convenient that if you are only here for a few days, I wouldn't even rent a car. Just take the Sandia Shuttle from the airport, as the hotel doesn't have its own.
The hotel is priced about the same as others in the area. Overall, it's reasonable. A lot of people complain about the parking charges, but that is standard everywhere, and you don't need a car here, as I said. The wifi charge, however, was annoying. I became a member of Hilton Honors, because honors members get free wifi. As I was leaving, I overheard another guest in the lobby say that whenever she stays at this hotel, she pretends she needs the wifi code to use her device in the lobby. The hotel staff then gives her the code and she uses it for her whole stay. She says it works everywhere in the hotel, not just the lobby. If I come back, I'll try that tip.
The hotel was recently renovated. The rooms are so nice! They look elegant and fresh. And they are very spacious. I didn't like that my king room didn't have a bathtub, but apparently that's just how the hotel was designed-- only rooms with two double beds have tubs.
On our last night, the cooling system in the room was making a terrible noise. We moved to a different room and the hotel staff was very nice and apologetic about it. They even gave a us complimentary breakfast (though breakfast should really be included in their rate, I think).
The new room was just like the old one, but the view was much better. The room was above the front desk on the third floor overlooking Water Street. It's a much better view because all of the other rooms we looked at before moving overlooked either dumpsters or the parking lot.
The staff was friendly, but didn't go out of their way to get to know our names or make anything special happen. Given the rate we paid and how busy they were, that didn't surprise us. Also, we were a little miffed that the hotel didn't have a humidifier that it could put in our room. So if you tend to get sick from the altitude, you may want to choose a hotel that is better equipped. It was discouraging to have to get the bathroom steamy so my cousin could sit in there for hours on end until he felt better. Also, it wasted a ton of water.
The pool is lovely, so bring your suits. Towels are down by the pool and you can requests bathrobes from the front desk. One last tip is to give your garbage to the staff behind the front desk. The hotel doesn't have public trash cans, so it seems like everyone is littering everywhere, but they aren't. They just can't find a trash can. I feel bad for the staff, because it seems like extra work for them with very little results.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This Hilton is direct in the town Santa Fe and the building is built in the style like most nice houses in the state New Mexico. At Check-in I was greeted as Diamond Member and the front office said they has a special lounge only for Diamond member.(not for Gold) I was very interested in to see the special Diamond lounge, I had never seen a special Diamond lounge. The lounge was nothing special, its small, has no complimentary alcoholic drinks and I did not see some small snacks besides chips. The breakfast was also served in this small room. I did not like it, there was no special breakfast or live cooking. The Diamond executive lounge can be skipped here.
The rooms are very nice. Our room was directly at the pool. This hotel got high rates, so there a less families and soccer teams who normally use the pool as a day out. The pool was used buy couples and businessmen. In the evening the fireplace was turn on on people were drinking the wine at the pool. This was nice and after a long day in Santa Fe a welcome break.
We had diner in the hotel bar, normally I skipped hotel bars to eat, but I got a tip that they were serving great food. I ordered the fresh mussels and I can recommend this bar with great service from the barman. The bar is at the end of the hotel, it’s difficult to find it.
This Hilton hotel is one with high rates and focus its business to leisure guests who like art and businessmen. Only bad thing was the ridiculous Diamond lounge. Close this lounge or make it really nice for loyal Diamond guests.
Greetings, CEO HiltonHotelFans

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was one of our many trips to Santa Fe, the first though at this hotel. We were very impressed with the service and guest rooms. The room was warmly decorated, updated, and number one for us, clean. We felt the value was very good for this time of year on the plaza. Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We appreciate all of your comments, and are glad you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and the decor of the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This Hilton is a solid property with impeccable service and a stellar location. The executive lounge on the third floor is well stocked with snacks, drinks, and newspapers. The breakfast buffet was well prepared also. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for writing the review regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We are glad the you enjoyed lounge offering and service provided by the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! The rooms are commodious, even the bathrooms (unusual these days). Beds, linens, bathrobes, and products were all top notch.

The pool is large for Santa Fe with plenty of lounges and other seating.


The staff were personable and willing to help without seeming insincere and programmed. The location is excellent- walking distance to everything Santa Fe-but about a block or so from noise and traffic.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback, and are glad the you enjoyed the services and amenities offered by the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.