We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very solid choice for downtown Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Mexico Cultural Offer
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Oak Hill, va
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very solid choice for downtown Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed one night and had a very good experience. Hotel is in very good condition, Front desk staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Short three block walk to the heart of Santa Fe shopping and dining. Room was quiet and good bed. On small complaint was the price of parking. With a $190 room rate, it is a little offensive to charge another $17 for parking. I realize downtown is tight on space, but at that room rate, you are poking a customer in the eye. We had breakfast in the dining room and ordered from the menu which is $3-$4 cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't get too close to the lobby, as noise from the busy traffic in and out of the bar and dinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Santa Fe. We are glad you enjoyed the service provided by the staff and that you were able to walk to your downtown destination. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    267
    112
    53
    34
See reviews for
142
280
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Expansive hotel several blocks from the historic plaza, with a notably high number of parking spots (at a cost per day), a sizable pool, and a substantial lobby. Our room was large and the bathroom was spacious without being quite luxurious. Free wi-fi and dog friendly for an extra fee. The facility is the opposite of the small, boutique hotels characteristic of Santa Fe without being one of the luxurious spa hotels in the area. I didn’t notice an on-premises restaurant, but I could be wrong about that. As with everything near the historic downtown, this hotel is well above average cost typical of such a level of hotel.

Room Tip: A room closer to the historic plaza, as opposed to one farther away, will save you a block of walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We truly appreciate and value all of your feedback, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I usually stay at Hilton properties. This hotel was nice, clean, comfortable and located near the town square. We would stay here again. The evening hotel desk clerk recommended a restaurant than we did not enjoy. When we told him about his poor recommendation he was a bit of a jerk and wanted to argue with us. When we told him we looked up the restaurant on Trip Advisor he had no idea what that was. In spite of his poor recommendation the hotel is nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were surprised there was no free coffee in the lobby. Good location close to the tourist stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for all of your comment. We appreciate all of your feedback and have shared it with our hotel staff.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Everything perfect! What a nice hotel and staff. Excellent location to explore artist studios, galleries, and delicious dining. Meeting rooms were set and ready for use. Good quality sound and lighting. Loved the fresh lemon/lime water always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; we truly appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the hotel and that you were able to walk to your destinations. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

How to be fair? We just came off visits in Vail at the Marriott Mountain Resort an Ritz Carlton Club. We stayed in a Casita - 2 bedrooms, living room, dining/work area. We were a bit early for check-in. We told our room was "dirty", not "unmade" or "not ready" - a bit off-putting. We were told 3pm was guaranteed check-in. After a few check-backs (room was still "dirty"), we were finally checked in a 4pm. they did give us a few "bennies" for the inconvenience (thank you!). The rooms have modern conveniences and nicely appointed in an "old Santa Fe" decor but we were never able to rid the living room of a stale, musty smell. (Maybe because the Casita building used to be a stable.) The worst feature was the fact the toilets don't have a door separating them from the rest of the bathroom area and the 2 bathrooms share a shower/bathtub area. There is no lock on the door for the 2nd bedroom's entrance to the shower area. Definitely a major negative. It was impossible to open the right half of the master bedroom closet and a tight fit for the left half due to the bed and nightstand. Putting aside those annoyances, the location cannot be beat, there is a definite old Santa Fe charm to the property. The breakfast buffet is a plus. Our server was super friendly. Overall, this is our second stay here and we will probably stay again. Just be prepared for a few wrinkles if you stay in the Casitas.

Room Tip: The Casitas are worth it for 2 couples or a family if you don't mind a few weird design flaws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We truly appreciate and value all of your feedback, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The personal attention from the staff at this Hilton makes staying there a delight. Started with my check in when we realized that my reservation was not booked with the group rate that my association had arranged. Josh H at the front desk quickly took care of fixing that which saved me $100 per night. Love when a hotel has that type of integrity that when they know you are with the conference that arranged the special group rate, they honor it. And love that this hotel empowers their front desk staff to make those corrections. Thank you Josh and Santa Fe Hilton! You won my loyalty at "hello". But that special attention to detail just kept going. Jon the AV expert who helped presenters set up and run our presentations was the BEST! I do about two speeches per week in hotels around the world and rarely is the AV guy as great as Jon! He set the powerpoints up, showed us good tricks to keep the projector primed and ready to transition between speakers quickly and the best was that he helped me figure out how to bring the audience back to paying attention as I had planned many small group discussions and pair shares into my presentation and needed to get a Noisy room of full of dialogue back to the focal screen. We plugged my iPhone into his mic connection and I played a lovely sound from my alarm choices as he pulled the volume up and down as needed. Together we managed to get a busy, engaged room of 150 participants refocused with grace and ease. Thank you Jon! Also want to mention the delightful waitress in the restaurant who every morning remembered that I like soy milk with coffee! It was great that this Hilton had soy milk on the breakfast buffet. And the buffet was great. The continental breakfast was more complete than most USA hotels offer. It had the fuller European breakfast assortment that included smoked salmon and capers and homemade granola with all sorts of good nuts and sunflower seeds-yummy plus platters of fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. The location was great--within walking distance to everything but what makes this hotel better than any other in Santa Fe is their staff!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the found floor and makes it easy to get from room to meeting rooms and restaurants wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; we truly appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the hotels staff during your conference. We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel is located in a perfect spot! Walking distance to so many amenities and downtown. Whether you are dining in-hotel or downtown (which is a block away) is superb. Sante Fe boasts some very eclectic and authentic restaurants and you will not be disappointed. Hotel staff provide honest and thoughtful recommendations for getting a local feel for the area. Definitely recommend this hotel. Negative was small fitness center. Positive was a large outdoor pool in middle of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the recomendations provided by the hotel and that you were able to walk to your destinations. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.