We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Special Offer
O'Keefe Museum Package
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was a nice hotel but a bit pricey in my opinion. $179/night. They don't have any breakfast included for that price and they also charge an additional $8/night to park your car. They state they are on the plaza but they are really about 2 blocks from the plaza. But it's a nice easy walk. The hotel was clean and the bathroom and bedroom were spacious. Their front desk staff were very nice and very helpful. I asked them for a few restaurant recommendations and they were all great places to eat.
I gave the breakfast 1 star because it wasn't offered as part of the price. We did not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We appreciate all of your feedback and comments and have shared them with our hotel staff, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    250
    109
    51
    33
See reviews for
139
272
50
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The staff at the Hilton Santa Fe were the best. Great care and service. The room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was good too - if you get the full buffet and not just the continental. But, the continental did have smoked salmon which was a nice surprise. Easy walking to everywhere fun in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; we truly appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Breakfast services provided by the hotel .We hope you will consider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Super location in the historic area. We showed up, parked our car and never touched it again.

Good sized rooms. Very clean. Staff was friendly and quite helpful. The executive lounge was worth the upgrade. Frig was full of water, pop. Snacks were plentiful.

Next time in Santa Fe I will return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback and comments and have shared them with our hotel staff, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am Hilton Gold Member (there are Blue, Silver, Gold and Diamond). I usually stay in Hiltons all around the world, usually clean hotels, great service, and some of their locations are top notch. Well..... I made a reservation for one of the most expensive rooms at this Hilton, called Casitas. At the time of making the reservation, I stated that we were going to be 3 guests, my wife, my 7 years old son and myself. I asked for a rollaway for my son, and we asked for late check-in (we arrived around 10 PM, enough time to clean the room.....). When we arrived to the hotel, usual process, check in and walk to the casita. As soon as we open the door, we found dirt in the carpet, a couple of empty bottles of sodas, and the list goes on. But this is not the reason why I am stating "The Worst Hilton ever", no matter the fact that I shared with them about 3 passengers, there was no bed for my son. These casitas have a bedroom, living room, dining room, a lot of space to put a bed. I went to the front desk, and the useless lady (very rude) told us "we do not have rollaways, and we do not have any place for your son to sleep other than sleep in the couch" -and the couch was not the one that you can convert to a bed. At this point in time I lost it, no matter how much we argue with her, she did not care. Please Hilton, do something about this person ! her name is Marcella Vega, do not have her dealing with customers. Anyway, we went back to the Casitas, few minutes after we arrived back, they sent a housekeeper to clean the room and the fun part.... she came with bed sheets for the couch, telling us that one has to sleep in the couch, only solution (again , a 500$/day room). The housekeeper did not even try to put the sheets in the couch, she left us to do it. Of course we did not stay there, we left the hotel and found a Rosewood near by (see my review about the Rosewood). Hilton, how you keep people like the ones running this facility ?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. I am so sorry you found your Casita unacceptable. I can assure you that is not the standard in our hotel. We work hard to make sure our housekeepers keep each and every guest room and bathroom clean; my apologies.Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a nice but unexceptional property in a superb central location. Pleasant southwestern theme, nice pool, plenty of free parking. Room is big enough and not too far, bathroom good. It's a fairly good bet for the price (<$175).
The property suffers from a general lack of investment: the beds are older and sag some, the conference room seating is cheap and uncomfortable, and they are always short-staffed at front desk, morning or evening. Food is very ordinary and the bar closes at 10pm!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest beds. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

First the positive, location, location, location! felt very safe.
everything is within walking distance, the railyard district, Museums, Restaurants, Churches, etc.
there is water in the lobby all day, with lemon and with oranges, Business office opened 24 hours with 2 computers.

We arrived on Friday during an electrical storm, having just driven through the torrential rain happy to finally be at my vacation destination. I went in to check in and informed due to power outage I would be taken to Buffalo Thunder Casino, actually what I was told was "Leave NOW" .There was mass confusion, no back up power , guests were being sent out of hotel , only to be met by another electrical storm. I asked if we could stay in lobby till storm blew over and was told that it was against the law, too dangerous, codes, blah, blah, blah.
Out in storm in front of hotel met two employees, one employee was sneaking a cigarette the other was giving directions to the mall around the corner that did have electricity.
Once again I was told there was a van that would take me to Buffalo Thunder Casino.

I made my reservation for this hotel in February, due to its location and based on reviews from Trip advisor. I was so dishearten upon arrival. I should have called another hotel and walked.
But I am a Hilton Honors member, I booked my entire vacation with Hilton Brand, I so wanted this to be my Dream Vacation.

Around 8 we called the hotel and power had been restored. Again I went to check in and was met by several employees at the desk. I was not greeted as a Hilton Honors member, I was given room 127, wait I said, I emailed the manager and specifically asked to be on upper floor. there are only 3 floors, (see other reviews about the bottom floor) Carlos said oh no you don't want to be on 3rd floor, I want to put you on 2nd floor, handed me only the keys and directed us to elevator, after realizing we were already on the correct floor exited the elevator and proceeded to our room.

The room was very clean, the beds were adequate not as comfortable as the Hampton Inns we stayed prior to Hilton, the sheets were nice but the duvet comforter was heavy duty poly and not very comfortable. They do not use fitted sheets on the bottom so constantly waking up in wad of sheets. The bed consists of 1 flat sheet at bottom that does not cover the end of mattress, yuck! 1 flat sheet on top and duvet cover. There was a blanket in the closet, which by the way is in the bathroom.

The bathroom was large and well lit, very clean. The water pressure was not very good nor was there enough hot water. It was a holiday weekend so could be too many guests ?

The Hotel runs the heater all day, it has the smell of burnt air, I had to keep the air on 64 to keep the room cool, and had to adjust it at night down to 60 to sleep but it was still very stagnant.

The outside noise was minimal, but hallway corridors very noisy, doors had to be slammed to shut and the toilets were loud! yes horribly loud. We were constantly awakened by neighbors trying to shut the doors and late night toilet flushes. The refrigerator in the room makes a whirring noise and had to be turned off to sleep.

If you want coffee in the morning you need to get up between 4:30 to 6:30, I wasn't told this when I arrived, the free coffee is not very hot but was told they provide for the Europeans guests because of time difference. The Coffee shop opens at 6:00 if you want to purchase Starbucks.
there was a problem with door keys not working and internet connections as well.

We stayed 5 nights and throughout our stay observed many complications being handled by various employees, although very quick with apologies , the employees are accommodating but not overly friendly.

To Sum up the stay, Great location, safe and very clean rooms, but NOISY, HOT and way too expensive. Stay at a quaint B-n-B , or Eldorado next door, where the employees are very friendly and if you need to rent a car while you are in Santa Fe see James at the El Dorado, Hertz desk.

Room Tip: you definitely want to stay on 3rd floor if you choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. This is not the level of service that we deliver to our guests.We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Ordered surprise strawberries and champagne to be in the room when we arrived or shortly after and it was delivered late in the evening. The promise maker is the not the promise keeper. Had to ask three times for a delivery. Hallways very loud and A/C was sluggish and hot tub was not filled.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and comments and have shared them with our hotel staff, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.