We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Visit to Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Mexico Cultural Offer
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Visit to Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I spent a overnight with a friend at the Hilton to spend a couple days visiting museums and doing some shopping in Santa Fe. I have stayed at this Hilton before, and found this stay very comfortable and the staff helpful. I think this Hilton offers a good option for a nicer hotel stay in the area. It is not as luxurious as some of the other nearby resort hotels, but a better option staying at at the more basic hotels on Cerrillos Road. It is in walking distance to most everything in the downtown area, including the Lensic Performing Arts Center, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, and the NM Museum of Art.

The only disappointment this visit was their outdoor hot tub was out of service, which we were looking forward to using after our busy first day and the cooler temps. The front desk staff apologized and indicated they were working on the problem to almost every guest who raised this to their attention. We were there over Memorial Day weekend so if this is an important amenity to you, best to call to see if they have it repaired before you book your stay.

I stayed in the pool view side this visit and found it quiet and enjoyable. Beds were comfortable and the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated in Santa Fe style. Really great shower head in the bathroom, and found our room to have ample hot water.

There is coffee in the lobby until 6:30 a.m., and if you find yourself hungry, check out their nice buffet breakfast that features a great selection of eggs, breakfast meats, cold cuts, fresh fruit and more. All the fixin's for a great lox and bagels too!

I have stayed at this hotel several times and always enjoy my experience there. Watch the Hilton web site for specials!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great if you are going to use the pool area a lot. Third floor was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback and comments and have shared them with our hotel staff, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    265
    112
    53
    34
See reviews for
141
280
51
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is an excellent hotel and very conveniently located for walking around central Santa Fe, NM. In fact, we did not rent a car for rhe four days we were in Santa Fe. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite spacious.

My one complaint about the hotel is that it is noisy and poorly sound insulated inside the hotel. We did not hear street noises, but we could hear the people talking in the room next to us and people walking down the corridor. Also there was a noise associated with the heating / air conditioning system even though we had turned the system off in our room.

Room Tip: Although not a problem for us, I suspect any room near the elevator, the ice machine, or the Executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the hotel and that you were able to walk to your destinations. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for last four nights of 10 day Southwest trip. Was deciding between hotel points/status and local charm, and being we were staying in other smaller and independent hotels for other parts of our stay, Hilton won out. Location and ease would be hard to beat. Inexpensive parking and free wifi for HHonors members. Overall value was quite good. Room was large and pleasant, but seemed more like a city room/business hotel room rather than a vacation hotel room. Had first floor room with pool access, but no real patio. Many little quirks that seem naive for a large chain: lack of garbages anywhere outside doors or lobby, our bathroom had no ventilation and had mishung shower door that banged into shower head and caused leaking. Breakfast food quality was one of the poorest I have had at a full fledged Hilton. I was just looking for some type of charm or sense of luxury that an older hotel in a vacation destination should have that this property did not have.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reviewo regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We truly appreciate and value all of your feedback, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great location. Standard yet modern hilton only a few blocks from historic Santa Fe. The outdoor pool and fire pit are wonderfully relaxing with comfy chairs to enjoy the beautiful sky.
Carlos at front desk was very helpful and welcoming. Fitness center standard offerings.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotels staff and services to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

outstanding location/ helpful associates / easy walking distance to all of he downtown stores and attractions. i walked everywhere and returned to the hotel to rest several times during the day and relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; we truly appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the hotel staff and that you were able to walk to your destinations. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

First off, the hotel location is excellent for touring old town Santa Fe and the room decor was very nice and the King bed comfortable. Unfortunately almost everything else was disappointing. The hotel motto is "If walls could talk". Well they couldn't talk but they didn't prevent you from hearing every bit of talking in the next room or hallway either. This was one of the noisiest hotels I have ever stayed in, including flushing toilets, doors banging and every conversation in the hallway. The connecting doors to the next room actually allowed you to see lights under them . The lighting in the bathroom was substandard and the overall room size quite small. On our way out in the morning we informed the cleaning supervisor that the room was available for cleaning and we were told they would do it right away. We returned 4 hours later to rest only to find the room unmade. As a diamond reservation we were entitled to access to the Club Lounge on the third floor although my request for a high floor made with the reservation was ignored and our room was on the ground floor(floor2 ) in this property. The access to the lounge was no big deal since it was completely unattended by any hotel personnel. There was no replenishment of breakfast items originally put out,so we ate in the main breakfast area. The breakfast buffet was fair at best, really not much different from a Hampton , although the servers in the dining room were pleasant and helpful but understaffed. We were given continental breakfast vouchers as diamond members on arrival but shorted in number by oversight. When I asked at the desk the next morning for the additional vouchers needed for our 3 night stay instead of handing them all to me at that time , I was told to stop by each morning to pick them up , because the desk clerks were busy doing paperwork at the time. Not a big deal, but not handled the way it should have been. We ended up checking out early after 2 noisy and somewhat disappointing nights. Amazingly, no one asked why we were cutting our stay short. They didn't really care. The clerk at the desk was poorly trained and could not print out a bill since the room was booked on Diamond points. Some of the problems are due to the building itself, but better management and service would have helped. Overall, a generally disappointing stay in an otherwise beautiful and friendly city. Certainly not what was expected at a top Hilton property.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms and services provided by the hotel.We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Overall good experience. Nice location for our trip.In Santa Fe there are several Hiltons. For ambience we like the HILTON DOUBLETREE..The Hilton near the plaza is adequate...but needs some upgrading. We like the fire in the firepit at night. Meeting rooms are okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.