We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy hotel with charming local character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very cozy hotel with charming local character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location, easy to find, parking is easy, and only a few blocks to the Plaza in a very walkable area. Upon arrival the parking attendant/bellman was very helpful. The desk clerk was smiling and check in was smooth and efficient.

Best of all, the lobby in the Hilton is gorgeous. It has rustic southwest charm, a cozy fireplace, and sitting area, a nice place just to relax and read a book. The hallway decor is attractive with ornamental lighting and local art canvases. The hotel does well at capturing local character and making you feel like you're in Santa Fe.

Although I had to wait until after 3:00 to check into my room (not a big deal) they graciously held my bags while we walked around town and had some lunch. The room was worth the wait. It was a very large room on the bottom floor with a sliding glass door to the pool and jacuzzi area. Only one minor negative point is the pool itself does not look attractive in the off season, but the jacuzzi was open and was clean so that was nice having it so accessible to my room.

Overall a fantastic stay, would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: 1st floor with sliding glass door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    283
    116
    55
    34
See reviews for
151
304
56
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

As other posters have commented, you can't beat the location. Plaza area is within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

This is an historic building so don't expect it be to be brand spanking new with all the latest building amenities and room sizes you may find at newer Hiltons. Having said that, the property appears to be very well maintained and decorated in a great southwest motif. Thought the public spaces - lobby, restaurants, hallways, etc. - were very well maintained and looked very nice.

Our room was nice, fairly typical but had a small bathroom, some missing wallpaper border, a hot iron stain on the carpet and a toilet that flushed so hard and loud you could hear the toilet next door to you. Room housekeeping could have been better - bed sheets weren't changed when requested (took request to front desk to make it happen) and vacuuming the carpet wasn't thorough as' leftovers' were still on the floor after the room was cleaned. Still the beds were very comfy and our room location was very quiet.

Special credit goes to the staff, especially the foodservice folks, who were unrelenting in their commitment to excellence. They were always checking to see what they could do to make our dining experience better. Food was excellent and the fitness room is top notch.

NOT SO GOOD: paying for self parking, paying for internet access except if you are sitting in the lobby.

Every property has its opportunities for improvement but this Hilton is nevetheless a GOOD CHOICE and certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I think hotel staff and their wilingness to solve any problems is key to a great experience. This hotel is tops! It's located on the edge of Santa Fe's Plaza. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a trip to Santa Fe for the weekend of our Wedding Anniversary, as we had never been before! We choose the Hilton Santa Fe based on location, past trip advisor reviews and word of mouth from a friend who had stayed there in the past. When we first walked into the lobby we were greeted by friendly front desk staff as well as a beautiful Southwestern Style Lobby that was the perfect mix of modern comforts and historic touches. We asked the front desk agents about local places to visit and they had really good recommendations, which was exciting for us, because you could tell they knew the area well!
We were checked into room 226, which was a spacious room with a great view of the pool area. I had read some past reviews about the rooms undergoing renovation in the near future, but even with the current status of the way they are now, it was a lovely room with the modern amenities you would need. I would be so interested to see what they look like after the renovation.The hotel might be smaller then its next door neighbor, but the staff gets to know each of their guests so much better and ends up providing much better service to those staying the weekend.
The second evening as we were getting ready go to out, the hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as they had remembered we were in town for our anniversary! It was such a nice treat and the room service was delivered by Christoper, who was very sweet.
We also had breakfast in the restaurant on Sunday morning before leaving and I felt that it was an above average hotel breakfast, and had great southwestern options for their guests.
All and all I would go back in a heart beat and look forward to seeing the updated rooms!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the modernized facilities!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This hotel is a bargain compared to the El Dorado next door (where my conference was). Room was quiet (faced the pool). Fee internet in the business center. Friendly staff. Close to the tourist attractions. Take the train from Albequerque (sp) for just $7 and walk 3 blocks to the hotel. OK, I found a quarter and other stuff near the bed and by the big chair ( but they vacumed the next day). Message to hotels: Vacum your hotel rooms, especially next to the night stand, in the closet, in the corners, etc. It's not brain surgery. Is there nothing grosser than finger nail clippings by the bed stand. (And thanks for the quarter left there too).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Located at the bottom end of town but easy walking distance (four blocks) to central square. Excellent front desk service. Great value for the price compared to other hotels we researched.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.