We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Mexico Cultural Offer
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a trip to Santa Fe for the weekend of our Wedding Anniversary, as we had never been before! We choose the Hilton Santa Fe based on location, past trip advisor reviews and word of mouth from a friend who had stayed there in the past. When we first walked into the lobby we were greeted by friendly front desk staff as well as a beautiful Southwestern Style Lobby that was the perfect mix of modern comforts and historic touches. We asked the front desk agents about local places to visit and they had really good recommendations, which was exciting for us, because you could tell they knew the area well!
We were checked into room 226, which was a spacious room with a great view of the pool area. I had read some past reviews about the rooms undergoing renovation in the near future, but even with the current status of the way they are now, it was a lovely room with the modern amenities you would need. I would be so interested to see what they look like after the renovation.The hotel might be smaller then its next door neighbor, but the staff gets to know each of their guests so much better and ends up providing much better service to those staying the weekend.
The second evening as we were getting ready go to out, the hotel surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as they had remembered we were in town for our anniversary! It was such a nice treat and the room service was delivered by Christoper, who was very sweet.
We also had breakfast in the restaurant on Sunday morning before leaving and I felt that it was an above average hotel breakfast, and had great southwestern options for their guests.
All and all I would go back in a heart beat and look forward to seeing the updated rooms!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    272
    113
    53
    34
See reviews for
144
288
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the modernized facilities!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This hotel is a bargain compared to the El Dorado next door (where my conference was). Room was quiet (faced the pool). Fee internet in the business center. Friendly staff. Close to the tourist attractions. Take the train from Albequerque (sp) for just $7 and walk 3 blocks to the hotel. OK, I found a quarter and other stuff near the bed and by the big chair ( but they vacumed the next day). Message to hotels: Vacum your hotel rooms, especially next to the night stand, in the closet, in the corners, etc. It's not brain surgery. Is there nothing grosser than finger nail clippings by the bed stand. (And thanks for the quarter left there too).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, NV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Located at the bottom end of town but easy walking distance (four blocks) to central square. Excellent front desk service. Great value for the price compared to other hotels we researched.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel's convenient location, and the quality of the room.

Just off the central plaza, it's close to all of the sights. Although it's central, it's very quiet.

Everything in the room seemed new. The bedding and towels were sumptuous. The TV screen was very big for a hotel room. I'm not a fan of Direct TV because it's so slow to change channels, but it is good enough for a stay in a place like this where there's so much to see and do outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeSuzanne, Director of Sales at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Hello judyisreadytogo,
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel during your most recent stay.
We truly appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Warm Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Our stay at the Hilton on Santa Fe's Historic Plaza was pleasant in spite of very cold weather. The fireplace and hot cider in the lobby was welcomed. The front desk staff was friendly at check-in and offered an upgrade. The hotel's location was convenient for walking around the Plaza and up to Canyon Road. The bathroom was very small and dated but the towels were great. We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel and our waitress was wonderful.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, NM
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Met the high standards of Hilton Hotels. Service and amenities excellent. Quiet. Immaculately clean. Fire in lobby fireplace! Walking distance to historic area and Capital buildings.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeSuzanne, Director of Sales at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear KathyrnAlto_NM,
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your most recent stay.
We will share these with our department heads and look forward to seeing you again in Santa Fe.
Thank you again.

Warm Regards,

Suzanne Lehman
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.