We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location only positive thing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
florida
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“location only positive thing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Small outdated rooms/baths, not very clean, hear all neighbors, no elevator, small tv very limited channels, parking extra 8$, no food/brkfst, charge to use lobby computer, fitness ctr=barely; no hospitality felt here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    100
    80
    45
    31
See reviews for
55
90
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This hotel was recommended by some locals we met in Taos. The price was great for the location. The room itself was nothing extraordinary but for the price and the location we were more than happy. With the Plaza and great shopping, museums, galleries and restaurants within a couple minute walk we were very pleased. The service was fine though nothing came up out of the ordinary that required extra attention from the staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of everything and not spend a small fortune. The only complaint we had was the very thin walls. We could hear the tv and conversations in the room next to us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We spent five nights at Garrett's in late October, 2009. Our first plans were to spend two or three nights in Santa Fe, and then move north towards Taos. We quickly realized we could see every thing, the museums, art galleries and surrounding Pueblos in three days. We extended our stay to five nights.

The hotel was probably built in the 60's. Parts of the motel are being remodeled. However, it has location, location, location. Given the prices of other hotels within walking distance of the art galleries on Canyon Road and the Plaza, Garrett's is a bargain. We paid about $90 a night plus $8 day parking for an off season rate. There is a new French Bakery in the old coffee shop and they serve an excellent breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Garrett's is conveniently located near the Plaza and it was easy to get to all locations within walking distance, including the Rail yard. The rooms are a bit worn, but kept very clean. The maids did take my soap bars away every day, even if I only used them once, which seemed quite a waste. Additionally, it seems they used my room phone to make calls, so check your bill. The man at the counter promptly credited me, however, so there were no issues.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The good: Excellent location walking distance to all the town central sights, nice staff, easy parking, pet friendly. The bad: Showing substantial signs of wear and tear and is in need of refurbishment. Worn carpet, worn out sofa springs created a "sink while sitting" experience, light bulbs that may not exceed 5 watts. Try for a room that does not back up to the major road for a quieter sleep.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel is in a great location, really close to the plaza and everything else there is to do in downtown Santa Fe. You can walk pretty much everywhere. But ... that's about it. This hotel is old, not well taken care of, and in need of updating. We got a "special" rate of $150, and this hotel is definitely not worth $150. It was clean and didn't smell funny or anything like that, but for $150 I expect something a lot nicer and in better shape.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I have stayed at Garretts at least 4 times and I must be crazy because only once did we have half way decent beds. We select Garretts because it is close to the Plaza and a reasonable price, but after this last trip, we will never stay there again. The beds squeek when you make the slightest movement and they sag terribly to the middle and aren't the least bit comfortable. A year ago they said they were getting all new beds. Either they did and got a terrible deal or it was not the truth. If you want a good night's sleep, don't stay at Garrett's until they really do buy new, good quality beds.

We also found the staff to be unfriendly and not responsive to requests.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.