We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I love this place, it is in the heart of Santa Fe, walking distance to the plaza. It is clean, great parking, although they charge a minimal fee but I suppose that is worth it. Many cities charge a parking fee anyway, so decide for yourself, great location vs. not so great and try and find a place to park which you will also pay for. Staying here is way better than staying outside of town which I have done, I can't afford the La Fonda, or? so for me this is perfect. If you want easy access to the plaza at a great price, stay here! The staff are friendly, I totally recommend it. When I am staying at a motel/hotel I don't care about the TV as I have way more to do than watch TV! It's clean, and I felt safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    111
    91
    48
    33
See reviews for
62
104
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Garretts is in a PRIME location. Easy walk to the Plaza but far enough away to be quiet. It is an "old school" style motel. Our room was huge and clean. The bed was comfortable. Towels could be upgraded, though. The staff was very informative and gave us great recommendations for restaurants not in the Plaza. It is not plush or grand but I highly recommend it. When you are in Santa Fe, you are hardly in the room! Very good rates.

Room Tip: Felt very safe on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This motel is an oldie, but goodie. We have stayed there many times and have always found it quiet and comfortable. It is in easy walking distance from the historic Santa Fe Plaza, which adds to its attraction. If there are any downsides to the place, it would be that the televisions are of the near obsolete CRT variety, small screen and snowy….ugh. Too, for the life of me, I will never understand the charge for parking. But, it was explained to me that ALL hotels near the plaza do the same. Does that strike anyone as strange? You invite a guest to your establishment for a pleasant stay….AND CHARGE THEM FOR PARKING! But, friends, that is Santa Fe, the City Different…..indifferent?

Room Tip: Wifi is slow as Christmas….ZZZZZ…..try your own hotspot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Well....the hotel was cheap by Santa Fe standards, but the cheap price also came with dusty tube TVs and greasy remotes, holes in the carpet, cracked tile, thin towels and thin sheets that never stayed in place. The 1980's merlot colored bedpreads and pillows were suspect. The thin slit in the door where planks had separated let in cigarette smoke from the outside. And the two plastic chairs outside the room were big enough for a 12-year old's butt. The A/C worked well but very noisy. The GOOD things about the hotel were the restaurant (Santa Fe Bites) and the location.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing North. The west side rooms can be quite warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Santa Fe, NM is a gorgeous and expensive city. Lucky for us Garret’s Desert Inn can help our bleeding wallets a bit.
Although the hotel has nothing to show for, both architecturally and aesthetically speaking, it competes on location with many pricier hotels in the area. Garret’s Desert Inn is perfectly located within walking distance to all the important sights in Old Santa Fe. Loreto Chapel is a mere block away from it; while San Miguel Mission and the Oldest House are just next door!
The hotel itself looks like a dated motel, but our room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Check in and check out was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Biggest PROS are of course the location and the price.
Big CONS are: No breakfast included; they charge $8 per night for parking even though we are guests of the hotel. There are no elevators, something to consider if you have problems walking up stairs.
Overall this is a good place to stay if traveling to Santa Fe on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just got back from Garrett's in Santa Fe. It is extremely convenient to the plaza and shopping BUT although basically clean, the bathrooms are old and need some bleach in the grout-yes mold .... also as they are old bathrooms the quickest fix would be the arced shower rod, it's an inexpensive fix to give the tub/shower a little more room. Head of Housekeeping needs to do a walk around of ALL the rooms. the corners in the bathrooms are filthy, the sheets pop off the beds.... but the sheets are clean... no overhead lights..... pool area looks good. they provide a laptop and printer in lobby. the wifi is beyond slow -that's why you need the lobby! I would likely stay here again because this place is 1/2 the price of everything around the plaza. just don't expect too much....

Room Tip: older hotel so it might be more quiet on the 2nd floor. U shaped so there is not a bad room
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room was Dirty. Wifi access was intermittent, made it impossible as a business hotel. Bathroom was awful, showered in ankle deep water, old hotel with no real place to "get ready" hairdryer and curling iron in sink kind of day. Filthy--I put a towel down for my suitcase.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.