We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Approved work hotel--NOT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Approved work hotel--NOT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Room was Dirty. Wifi access was intermittent, made it impossible as a business hotel. Bathroom was awful, showered in ankle deep water, old hotel with no real place to "get ready" hairdryer and curling iron in sink kind of day. Filthy--I put a towel down for my suitcase.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    99
    79
    45
    31
See reviews for
55
88
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My name is Daniel. My fiance and I stayed overnight on 6/20/14 thru 6/21/14. The room had nasty, dirty stains on the bedspread, there was a pet-urine stain on the rug, the receptionist told us they were sold out, but actually had newer renovated rooms that they could have moved us to. When I told them, they said there was a computer gliche and this is why we had this room. The bed was so bad , my back still hurts today. The two chairs looked like they wee from 1970. When I phoned the GM, Robert, he hung up on me. I will never stay there again, and we filed a complaint with Better Business , and Attorney Generals office, and Santa Fe visitor's beareau.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms, not the uncleaned ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I have already responded to this review in that it is totally libelous. When Daniel Geier didn't get a discount based on totally false events, he wrote this review. He went as far as making claims with his credit card company and attorney general. To date, his credit card company reversed his chargeback claim and sided with the hotel. The attorney general also sided with the hotel and closed his claim as "dismissed without prejudice" in that the hotel did nothing wrong whatsoever! They also mentioned that we could press charges due to harassment.

TripAdvisor, please remove this request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We chose this motel due to the location - walking distance of downtown Santa Fe. The room was basic and clean for the most part. It was indeed dated but the bathroom and dressing area were very retro and cute! The pool was small but all we needed for a little down time and quick dip. There is no free breakfast provided at this motel (which we knew). We paid $133.56 for two queen beds - no reservation, just walk in around 4 pm in the afternoon. Non smoking room and no issue with smoke smells. The main issue I have with this motel on the negative side is that they charge $8.00 a day for parking. I know parking is at a premium in any downtown area but it would have been nice to have free parking with our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor (have to climb stairs but no one above you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent two nights at Garret's Desert Inn and it was a decent, clean, no frills place. Just like everyone has stated it's in a great location really close to the Palace of Governors and the center of town. There are good restaurants and wonderful shops and museums within a 10 minute walking distance. If you're looking for a comfortable place to bed down, this is may suit your needs. Our room was quite large, the beds were comfortable but the room/motel was 'worn'. It has a huge parking lot in the middle and there are two floors of rooms surrounding the parking lot... I really liked the reception area - kind of mid-century modern furnishings and decor (looks like they never updated it from that period of time :). There is also a small out door pool close to the reception area, but when we were there, Santa Fe wasn't really warm enough for me to go for a swim - the city's weather can be quite cool in May because of its altitude/elevation in the mountains. It's pretty basic but good value for the money in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel's location is great - just a short walk from the Piazza. The rooms and the entire hotel is a bit dated, though. The staff was cordial and welcoming. Another drawback was that they did not serve breakfast in their restaurant except on weekends-a big drawback.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our one-night stay on the way South was fine....as it has been for the past 3yrs. On the way back, however, we arrived to find the inn booked solid and the batteries dead in our key lock. The maintenance man was called from his gig as a member of a mariachi band and tried to change the batteries with no luck and left us with "manyana". One of us had to stay in the room at all times until checkout the next morning. Wife found the pool to be refurbished and a delight while I found the same old CRT TV and the room to be shabby and dull. They cut our room charge in half and were most apologetic but I expect that, after promising renovations, they would have gotten busy on it after three years. If you like shabby chic, this is a great place to stay and it's close to pretty much everything you might want to walk to.
I have reviewed the newly attached Santa Fe Bite burger joint and don't recommend it at all.
And I wish I spoke Spanish so i could thank the hapless Musician/Maintenance guy!

Room Tip: Pretty much any room on the ground floor is good unless they haven't fixed the loose headboard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is just a decent place, nothing fancy, but clean and in a great location. The online booking service we used messed up and we didn't actually have a reservation. But they luckily had room for us and even honored the price that we originally booked at. Very nice! (Even if you get a confirmation online, call to make sure it got through - especially during busier times of the year!) The only drawback of this place is pretty thins walls, we had to listen to an amorous couple next door. :( But the price and location are right!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.