We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic motel in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good basic motel in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent two nights at Garret's Desert Inn and it was a decent, clean, no frills place. Just like everyone has stated it's in a great location really close to the Palace of Governors and the center of town. There are good restaurants and wonderful shops and museums within a 10 minute walking distance. If you're looking for a comfortable place to bed down, this is may suit your needs. Our room was quite large, the beds were comfortable but the room/motel was 'worn'. It has a huge parking lot in the middle and there are two floors of rooms surrounding the parking lot... I really liked the reception area - kind of mid-century modern furnishings and decor (looks like they never updated it from that period of time :). There is also a small out door pool close to the reception area, but when we were there, Santa Fe wasn't really warm enough for me to go for a swim - the city's weather can be quite cool in May because of its altitude/elevation in the mountains. It's pretty basic but good value for the money in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    111
    91
    48
    33
See reviews for
62
105
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel's location is great - just a short walk from the Piazza. The rooms and the entire hotel is a bit dated, though. The staff was cordial and welcoming. Another drawback was that they did not serve breakfast in their restaurant except on weekends-a big drawback.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our one-night stay on the way South was fine....as it has been for the past 3yrs. On the way back, however, we arrived to find the inn booked solid and the batteries dead in our key lock. The maintenance man was called from his gig as a member of a mariachi band and tried to change the batteries with no luck and left us with "manyana". One of us had to stay in the room at all times until checkout the next morning. Wife found the pool to be refurbished and a delight while I found the same old CRT TV and the room to be shabby and dull. They cut our room charge in half and were most apologetic but I expect that, after promising renovations, they would have gotten busy on it after three years. If you like shabby chic, this is a great place to stay and it's close to pretty much everything you might want to walk to.
I have reviewed the newly attached Santa Fe Bite burger joint and don't recommend it at all.
And I wish I spoke Spanish so i could thank the hapless Musician/Maintenance guy!

Room Tip: Pretty much any room on the ground floor is good unless they haven't fixed the loose headboard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is just a decent place, nothing fancy, but clean and in a great location. The online booking service we used messed up and we didn't actually have a reservation. But they luckily had room for us and even honored the price that we originally booked at. Very nice! (Even if you get a confirmation online, call to make sure it got through - especially during busier times of the year!) The only drawback of this place is pretty thins walls, we had to listen to an amorous couple next door. :( But the price and location are right!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an old style motor inn that is next to the Plaza. The price great for the budget minded, but don't expect luxury or anything modern. The parking was included, and the lobby had computers and free coffee which was a nice perk. Our room was in dire need of a refresh and you could clearly hear the TV next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The title says it all. This hotel is 3 blocks away from the Plaza, at a price at least half that of other hotels further from the plaza. The 4-star rating is quite simply because of the price and location.

Pros:
LOCATION!
Price in comparison to other hotels in the general proximity
Plenty of space in our room (double queen)
Near instant hot water in the bathroom
Clean bathroom (new hardware, clean shower curtain, fresh paint, clean tile grout)
Clean bed linens
Non-smoking room had no smoking smells
Surprisingly higher end soaps and shampoos (organic, great scents)
Lots of natural light
Friendly, retro vibe
Nice sized pool
Plenty of parking

Cons:
Older furniture: rip in chair, old tube TV
Dirty blinds
One of our queen beds had a broken leg, making one corner ~3 inches shorter than the rest of the bed
No light switch by the door (you have to walk halfway across the room to a lamp)
Older carpet (no obvious smells or rips)
Plenty of parking, yet still charges $8 per day
Walkways and stairwells were quite ugly and the concrete was chipping, badly in some places.

When a hotel has clean linens and bathrooms, I consider it a 3 star unless it has significant issues elsewhere. This hotel gets the extra star for the combination of location and price. My bride and I will not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's dated but it's walking distance to most everything people want in the heart of Santa Fe. For the price one could not get a better deal. This has become a regular standby for me. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#30 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.