We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Save Saved
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an old style motor inn that is next to the Plaza. The price great for the budget minded, but don't expect luxury or anything modern. The parking was included, and the lobby had computers and free coffee which was a nice perk. Our room was in dire need of a refresh and you could clearly hear the TV next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    84
    75
    38
    32
See reviews for
50
77
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The title says it all. This hotel is 3 blocks away from the Plaza, at a price at least half that of other hotels further from the plaza. The 4-star rating is quite simply because of the price and location.

Pros:
LOCATION!
Price in comparison to other hotels in the general proximity
Plenty of space in our room (double queen)
Near instant hot water in the bathroom
Clean bathroom (new hardware, clean shower curtain, fresh paint, clean tile grout)
Clean bed linens
Non-smoking room had no smoking smells
Surprisingly higher end soaps and shampoos (organic, great scents)
Lots of natural light
Friendly, retro vibe
Nice sized pool
Plenty of parking

Cons:
Older furniture: rip in chair, old tube TV
Dirty blinds
One of our queen beds had a broken leg, making one corner ~3 inches shorter than the rest of the bed
No light switch by the door (you have to walk halfway across the room to a lamp)
Older carpet (no obvious smells or rips)
Plenty of parking, yet still charges $8 per day
Walkways and stairwells were quite ugly and the concrete was chipping, badly in some places.

When a hotel has clean linens and bathrooms, I consider it a 3 star unless it has significant issues elsewhere. This hotel gets the extra star for the combination of location and price. My bride and I will not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's dated but it's walking distance to most everything people want in the heart of Santa Fe. For the price one could not get a better deal. This has become a regular standby for me. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

If you want to stay in the heart of Santa Fe, but not spend an arm and a leg, this place is a great option. Rooms were just fine, service okay. Nothing too fancy, but totally fine. The photos looks a lot different from when I stayed there, maybe they got a welcome facelift?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Garrett's when we come to Santa Fe. The location is perfect -- within a very short walk to the Plaza, to Canyon Road, to the Cathedral, to many restaurants, and to the spots near the railroad station. The desk staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms we have stayed in (we usually get a suite since the rates are very reasonable) have been more than adequate. There is nothing fancy about them, but they are comfortable and perfectly fine. The beds have been comfortable, the counter space in the dressing area outside the bathroom is generous. The hot water is very hot and plentiful. Garrett's is, for is, the perfect place to stay and it helps to justify our additional spending on dinners and miscellaneous shopping!! We always recommend Garrett's Desert Inn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I use budget hotels all the time. This however is priced above a budget hotel but is a 1-2 star and budget hotels DO NOT CHARGE FOR PARKING. Their website nor the website i purchased the hotel from listed the 8.00 a night parking fees. Pictures on the site does NOT match the room (at least mine). The room itself was CLEAN and the bathroom was Extremely clean (room had a faint smell when I walked in unsure if it was musty or smoke). However, the furniture is probably 70's and not in that great of shape. Not many outlets to utilize unfortunately. Sheets were THIN and the blanket on the bed is probably from the 50's/60's the old thick scratchy wool type that does not breathe. Towels were thin and been laundered/bleached to the point they were not soft. The only way you could sleep on the mattress was in the center and when you rolled over you could feel the wear of the mattress (springs). I requested a "quiet room" the response I received was "it's on the second floor." I had to put the heater/ac unit on FAN ONLY all night in order to muffle the noise from the highway ? or streets behind the hotel so that I could sleep. The walls are very thin and I could hear the conversation next door. The overall property needs some work. The finish on the exterior doors are flaking off, several places needed touched up paint outside and wood replaced because it is rotting. The gym is a joke. As my title reads: LOCATION is nice and the only redemption.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is at such an amazing location. My family and I stayed here for several nights and although it isn't the fanciest hotel it is worth the money. The mattresses have been replaced and are extremely comfortable now! I would definitely stay here again. The only downside to the hotel is the bathroom. The bathroom is not up to date but other than that the room is fairly clean. Definitely worth the money spent because of the location!

Room Tip: Hold down toilet handle and the toilet will not be a problem. Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.