We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is at such an amazing location. My family and I stayed here for several nights and although it isn't the fanciest hotel it is worth the money. The mattresses have been replaced and are extremely comfortable now! I would definitely stay here again. The only downside to the hotel is the bathroom. The bathroom is not up to date but other than that the room is fairly clean. Definitely worth the money spent because of the location!

Room Tip: Hold down toilet handle and the toilet will not be a problem. Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    100
    80
    45
    31
See reviews for
55
90
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This large motel complex hit the mark except for the pillows: flat, hard and uncomfortable. Easy fix: bring your own pillow. Great location for very short walk to the plaza. Fabulous low price. Clean room. Nothing fancy, but not shabby. Hot showers. Long countertop with large mirror and open closet just outside bathroom provided extra space for luggage, dressing and primping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am a travel loving person on a budget and I happen to stay at the Garrett's Desert Inn for spring break march 2014. I must say that this place was very clean, comfotable beds, friendly and helpfull staff, quiet place in the hub of all there is too see in the historic district of Santa Fe. Fabulous place for a person on a budget. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definately stay there again on my next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is in downtown and it is close to all attractions. The room was clean and comfortable at a resonable price especially when you compare it to other hotels in the neighborhood. The front desk was kind enough to provide a microwave oven and a mini fridge on request with no extra charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This little motel is well within walking distance of the Plaza. If your looking for a clean place to sleep, shower and then head out, then this place is perfect. NOT fancy one bit, but the convenience to the Plaza and the price make up for the lack of luxury. The staff were all very friendly and there is a little restaurant attached to it that serves great burgers & homemade chips. The cost of parking is $8 a night. If you're going for luxury, romance or even atmosphere then this may not be the place for you. If your looking for convenience, great price and a place to sleep then consider Desert Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Before finalizing our travel plans for a recent trip to Santa Fe over the recent MLK Jr. Holiday weekend, I did a lot of “shopping around” on the Internet for hotel accommodations. I selected Garrett’s Desert Inn based upon the location, rate and photos on their web site.

As soon as we walked into Room 104, we realized that the photos on the web site did not in any way match our actual accommodations! Unlike the newly renovated rooms in the photos, our room hadn’t been updated in decades. The soap dish in the shower was so old that the chrome-plating had been rubbed off exposing the brass below!

The other short-comings we found during our three-day stay were:
1) Only one accessible outlet that had an “illegal” six outlet device installed.
2) An inoperative alarm clock.
3) Peeling paint in the bath and peeling wallpaper in the bedroom.
4) A bed-side wall sconce that was pulling away from the wall.
5) The handle for the cold water in the shower was unattached.
6) When we had problems with the TV on Sunday, we went down to the front desk to report the issue. The desk clerk, Tiffany, was not at all supportive of getting the matter addressed promptly. After waiting for the “maintenance man” to arrive, we attempted to call the front desk but found that the phone in our room was unplugged and the wall jack was behind a piece of very heavy furniture.

Adding insult to injury!

A day or two after our disappointing stay at Garrett’s, I received an online survey about our experience which I answered in detail. On 2/23, I received a very nice response from Eric at Panetiere Marketing Advisors. In an effort to address the very disappointing conditions that we experienced during our stay at Garrett’s, Eric generously offered us a refund of one night’s room charge and a complimentary night’s stay at a future time.

Five days later, I emailed Eric to take him up on the offer of a complimentary night’s stay. After not getting a response from Eric in over a week, I emailed him once again. That day, I received a reply from Eric stating that PMA no longer represented Garrett’s and that he would see if the motel would make good on his previous offers.

To this date, I have not received any additional communications from PMA or Garrett’s!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 104!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were there last weekend. First and foremost, it is a great location, only two blocks from the Square. And the price is right. We paid $82 for a king room. That being said, go into the stay with the correct perspective. This is not one of the nice properties with a kiva fireplace in the corner. It's a mostly clean, aging, decent room. Don't require anything further and you will not be disappointed. We loved the location and spent our extra money on good food and shopping! Also, the girl at the front counter was not at all friendly, not just to me, but to others I saw check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.