We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great and The Not so Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Southern New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Great and The Not so Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Garrett's is great because the location near downtown Santa Fe is terrific, the price is very reasonable for the location, and the motor court motel design with a continuous balcony, sitting chairs in front of rooms, no-charge mini-fridges, large rooms and big room windows are pleasant and comfortable. It is not so great because they charge $8/night for parking even for guests, the attitude of front desk staff is often aloof and not personable, the appearance of the front desk itself is negative - raised up behind a high partition, the main lobby "business center" is a single pay-as-you-go computer, and most of all, the room furnishings and hotel amenities are worn and dated. Kind of like an older Motel 6. Examples are a large stain on the carpet (room 230), older not very appealing chairs and tables, small bathrooms with older fixtures, no screen in the bathroom window, small non-HD non-LCD TV, noisy room air conditioner, hot neglected "fitness" room with small TV, and exercise machines that do not all function. Garrett's has been around for a long time and is often busy - we would like them to step up and commit some of their success to updating their infrastructure and customer service, while keeping the cost reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdigm, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We do take these seriously and I'd like to take this opportunity to share some information with you. We do have plans on re-configuring the front desk/reception area. It will be a lot more welcoming. I apologize if you encountered a guest service agent as being "aloof and/or impersonal". We do receive positive comments that our service was very helpful and genuine so of course I will share this with with all the staff. We do provide complimentary WiFi however if a guest does not have a smartphone, table, or laptop, we do have the lobby business center available at a fee. We do print boarding passes at no charge. Parking is at a premium in downtown Santa Fe so all hotels charge a parking fee. Ours is the most reasonable at $8/day. Other hotels charge between $16 to $24/day. We do have plans to change out all existing guest room carpeting as well as TV replacement. A lot of our return guests do like our bathrooms with specific tile and colors because they are reminiscent of the 1950's and 1960's Route 66 motor lodges. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    91
    77
    42
    32
See reviews for
54
80
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've never written a bad review about a place before, but the Garrett Inn has spurred me on to do so. The price is pretty good for Santa Fe--$119--but you're charged an extra $8 for parking. Not that that's so much, but it's a motel with a large parking lot, and I find it offensive to be charged extra to park in their lot. The motel is non-smoking, but my room reeks of decades of cigarette smoke. So much so that it's nauseating. There were a lot a food crumbs under the table in the room. There were no bath towels or bath mat. The people who work here are nice, and brought me towels and bath mat when I asked. The towels are the cheapest imaginable, and have mascara stains on them. Rooms are small and old and shoddy. The location is very good, and there's a spectacular little bisto (351 Bistro) next door. But I sooooo regret staying here and will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had stayed at this Inn about 10 years ago and it was pretty run down then but now it is worse, much worse. The bathrooms were filthy needing major updating, carpets were dirty, the window A/C barely kept the room cool. Restaurant was not open all the time. This place is a DISASTER.
Rate was 143.10 + Parking $8.00 + Gross receipt tax $11.72 + Lodgers tax $10.02 = $172.84 a night. You would be better off putting another $30 toward a better room.

YOU FOOLED ME TWICE, SHAME ON ME.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Some friends were staying at the Loretto (across the street) at twice the price. Our rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. It was close to everything. The bed was a little squeaky but very comfortable. We parked when we got there and didn't drive until we left town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Even during Indian Market you can find a motel for less than $200 a night in downtown Santa Fe, really. At between $149 and $169 per night, Garrett's Desert Inn is a bargain during Indian Market (much less off season).

This downtown, spacious, motel is as well located as they come. Just a block or two from both The Plaza and Canyon Road, you won't have to worry about renting a car for your visit.

We loved the pool and the adjacent restaurant, Santa Fe Bite
For more... see my article on Examiner.com. Just Google my name and the motel name.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with afternoon shade during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for Indian Market in August. Great location. A little dated, but location and price make up for any inconveniences (like not-so-great AC.) The pool is a wonderful respite from the mid-day heat and fatigue from shopping. Close enough to the Plaza to go back to the room for a swim or a nap and then go back out for more shopping.The restaurant that's attached to the hotel is "The Bite." Has a wonderful breakfast and I hear it has one of the best Green Chili Cheeseburgers in town.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the west that get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived as a group, pre planned stay. Rooms were not clean. one member had hair shavings in his bathroom sink! did not feel sheets on bed had been changed or room cleaned at all. went to Walgreen's & bought Lysol to insure no bugs were taken back.
though close to downtown...just not comfortable w/lack of cleanliness. had to stay 2 days. glad to leave. picture shown of pool..not what was there. Bed lumpy....sagged in middle. cover on one bed (in double room) was....not clean.

Room Tip: find another place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdigm, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We do monitor these daily and share with our staff to address areas that need attention. It is difficult to coach particular room attendant when we do not have details. I am happy to say that cleanliness is usually not an issue here. We are currently undergoing some renovations to include the few room left that need new mattresses, carpeting (inside and outside). Later on this year we will replace tv's and furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.