We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Save Saved
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Do you want to be right in the heart of the action for $100 less per night than the hotels nearby? Then choose this place. I stayed with two other people here and for the money, there's apparently no beating this hotel. Of course there are nicer places to stay in Santa Fe, but this place gets 5 stars for the value, and the value is in its cheap price and location. You are a couple doors down from the San Miguel church and a couple minute walk to the main plaza. I found the beds to be pretty comfortable. You get a TV, A/C, comfy beds, a pool, and a great location. If you're a fussy retiree or a yuppy type that wants to be pampered then you might as well drop the extra cash elsewhere, but for a guy like me, this is exactly what I wanted.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    84
    75
    38
    32
See reviews for
50
77
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed three nights in early June and were very pleased with our experience. The office staff was exceptionally helpful and we wish to thank Leslie, Holden and Lyn Marie for their restaurant suggestions and other advice. The location can't be topped and we would definitely stay here again on future trips to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This motel is o.k. and provided me with a central location to explore Santa Fe. The room are somewhat dated but worked well for me- i could park my bike right outside my room door. It was quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The price is good and you get what you pay for. They have a pool for cooling off after a long day of walking around town.

Room Tip: Eat at The Shed for best dinner in town and Aztec 317 for great breakfast/ lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First of all I arrived a night early and the hotel I had reservations didn't have rooms for the night i stayed. First of all the place is real average, but its clean. I gave it a very good for a friendly staff. It is a little outdated. You have to take into account it's affordability. I could see this being a great place for a family. Also it looked like they do concerts there. Would have been neat to see! Older, but clean and close to a lot of the sights. Friendly Housekeeper was really sweet dropped my bag and was quickly helped to gather up my clothes, and junk. Beds were pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed at Garrett's several times - it's a few blocks to the plaza - I do agree with other reviewers that they definitely need to do some renovation - this time it really seemed run down - yes the price is right and you can't beat the location but the bathrooms need updating - tattered pool chair pads - towels so rough I thought I was going to get a paper cut from them - the check in person was very nice but the young woman the next day seemed bothered when I was asking for directions - I might stay there again if I hear they have fixed up the place - so if you want a cheap, close place to the plaza this is it - otherwise pay a little more for some luxury

Room Tip: Ask for something in the back - second floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here as we were traveling with friends and just trying to go with the flow. The check in was fine, nice young man - answered all our questions. The room was not nice, everything is completely outdated and down right gross. The bathroom, I believe, is original - very old. I didn't even like to shower here. Luckily I brought my own amenities so I didn't have to use whatever it was they provide as soap.
The exterior of the building looks like it's going to crumble at any moment.
The pool was nice for the kids but they need to spend a couple hundred dollars and get new chair pads.
The only thing good about this place is the location.
We are generally resort people, so used to big hotels with lots of amenities. I will not return here.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Spend the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before it is a great location next to Lorado Chapel, the Square, the art district, it's clean even if it needed some upgrades and the staff is really helpful. We were always happy with it until our last visit. I took the children to the pool and there was a party going on which seemed to be all local people. We weren't able to get a table or chairs, the language was inappropriate, so we had to go back to our room. I wondered did they also pay for parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.