We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the discount prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garrett's Desert Inn

Save Saved
You added Garrett's Desert Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garrett's Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Not worth the discount prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Garrett's Desert Inn had been recommended by a Santa Fe merchant during our last trip. It's location on the edge of downtown was appealing and certainly the prices seemed like a deal. When we arrived at our Junior Suite room, we were very disappointed to find our mini-fridge unplugged and moldy. There was glitter and confetti on the floors, indicating the carpets had not been thoroughly cleaned. We asked for another room, and the hotel was accommodating. Unfortunately our substitute room, while cleaner, wasn't much better. The furnishings are old and shabby. The linens are thread-bare, the pillows are well past their prime, and the mattress was sunken in the middle. Although we had planned on staying five nights, we checked out after two nights. If you are staying just one night, or are here for business, the place might be okay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    90
    76
    42
    32
See reviews for
54
79
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is right beside the main tourist area, so you know it's going to be more expensive. I stayed on a Saturday night, making the price higher. I didn't see any tour buses, so I assume everyone there drove, so I don't understand why I would have to pay extra for parking in their lot. I was getting tired so instead of driving to a different place I checked in.
It's a bit older, everything was in good shape. Bed was comfortable. I asked for an upper level room for a bit more quiet. Has an attached restaurant (although you are surrounded by restaurants in that area). I also think I saw an exercise room and pool.
The second night I drove out to the suburbs to get a cheaper place. (Santa Fe is not that big, so it didn't take long).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
All Hotels in DownTown Santa Fe charge for parking since it is very limited and at a premium. We have one of the lowest parking rates which range from $8/day (our rate) to $32/day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are comfortable and not your carbon-copy plan hotel rooms found worldwide, which is nice. The location is great, right near the plaza. The only thing I didn't appreciate was that parking is not included in the room price. Who am I, some millionaire who flies in and gets a limo from the airport? Everyone has cars... Other than that, great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purrfctprncss
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

For the price, the location of this hotel is good. That's about all it has going for it. The room is dated, and our bathroom had all types of hair all over the place--none from us. We had reservations for 2 nights. Went to breakfast after the first night and returned to the room. They did not make our beds or do anything to the room besides laying new towels on a dingy chair near the bathroom. We immediately checked out--not worth paying $$ for only location. They need to renovate, and if they insist on charging parking fees for guests, I would suggest including it in the price of the room instead of an add-on. This place definitely has potential, but obviously doesn't have the management to get it where it should be. I gave it 2 stars solely based on location.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We do take these seriously. I will first apologize for the lack of service your room received. Often times, we receive requests from our guests stating they only need fresh towels and the room doesn't need servicing. A room number may have been mis-communicated to our housekeeping department and thus your room was not serviced in error. On a good note, we are renovating this hotel which should be completed by June 2013. Regarding our parking fee, at least 95% of all downtown Santa Fe hotels charge for parking since it is at a premium in this area. Parking fees range from $8.00 per night (which is the amount we charge) to $16, $24 and even $32 per night. Properties that do not charge for parking have room rates over $299 per night and up. If we were to add this fee into our room rates, it would be taxed at a higher percentage due to the lodger's tax on hotel rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
851 helpful votes 851 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel has a great location, 2 blocks from the plaza and 1 block from the Loretto Chapel where the Miraculous Staircase is. Other than that, it's a shabby motel that lacks Santa Fe charm. No breakfast and a parking charge as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, Director of Sales at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello Jerry S.

Garrett's Desert Inn is a landmark in the Santa Fe area, yes, It is in the Motel style which many find a welcome treat to be right in the heart of downtown, with our great prices, easy access and friendly staff. I find Garrett's rather charming!!! as do many of our return guests, year after year!!!

We do have an onsite Restaurant which serves a great Breakfast that we offer a discount to and our parking charge is quite reasonable compared to other downtown Hotels.

Garrett's strives to offer affordable lodging right in the heart of downtown. I hope you will come stay with us again and enjoy our fantastic location at reasonable rates.

Have a great day!

Rin (Sales Manager at Garrett's).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've stayed at many of the Santa Fe hotels and resorts and decided to try Garrett's for a recent one-night stay. The location can't be beat - easy walk to the plaza, shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and everything worked just fine. I agree with other reviewers that if they did a small amount of updating, it would make a huge difference. Especially the linens (including blankets that seem like they are about 40 years old) and pillows. I just had a feeling similar to when you stay on someone's fold-out couch or barely-used spare room with the old, hand-me-down linens that they just never bothered to replace. Even with the parking charge, it was significantly less expensive than a local coupon deal we had for one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yes it's dated but man what a location! Walking distance to the Plaza and everything Santa Fe. We actually enjoyed the restaurant and the very accomodationg staff, great breakfast and coffee every morning while we were there. My wife and I have been coming to the Garrett's since 1991 and consider it the only place to stay when in Santa Fe...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrett's Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrett's Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.