We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Pay in Advance - Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great overall experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited Santa Fe in December and stayed at the Eldorado Hotel and Spa. The hotel was lovely. The staff was first-rate: very helpful and accommodating. The concierge went above and beyond helping us find things to do in the city and coming up with ideas for things to do with our 5 year old son.
Our room was very large; it had a kitchen area and balcony. It was a great space to stretch out and relax for our 5 days there. There was also a kiva fireplace. If you pay the extra money to have a fireplace, know that the weather can play a role as to whether or not your fireplace can be lit. We had snow and wind while we were there and could not light the fireplace for the first 3 nights. I have read other reviews that some had issues with the staff not coming timely enough to light their fireplaces; we did not have this issue. Yes, the staff does have to light the fireplace for you, but during our stay they were very prompt. Due to the high winds outside, we even had an issue where the smoke began to come back into our room. We had to vacate our room due to all of the smoke, and the staff was very helpful in getting us moved promptly to a new room.
I have no complaints about this hotel. Enjoyed our breakfasts at the restaurant and they have quite an extensive art collection throughout the halls on the first floor. Valet service was exceptional as well.
This hotel is within walking distance to the downtown area. Had it not been so cold during our stay, we could have walked all the way to the market that they have on the weekend. Would definitely stay at the Eldorado again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are always grateful to hear such positive feedback on our customer service and that our guests enjoyed their time with us at the Eldorado. It's how we know we are doing something right and to continue to improve on our service.
Please reach out to us next time you come to Santa Fe. We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    208
    92
    43
    39
See reviews for
90
273
47
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful Hotel, lots of room,
Stay on the 5th floor for the view and enjoy the roof top pool and hot tub spa.
Right in the plaza area close to all the great shopping, restaurant's and take the free shuttle to and from the train it leaves every 15 minutes to take you all around this area.
E

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Santa Fe! We are lucky to be located so close to the Plaza. I hope to see you again when you return to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at the Eldorado for a business meeting in March, 2014. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the beauty of the setting. The convenience to sights, shopping, and entertainment made it an ideal venue for a meeting of professionals. In addition, I am an animal lover and it was great to see people with their canine friends in the hallways and on the elevators. It is often hard to find a hotel which takes pets and makes them feel welcome - there were even water dishes in the lobby! The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful in suggesting local restaurants related to food preference, the closest sights of interest, the safest places to walk. They seemed to have a true affinity for their city and were proud of the many attractions like the Georgia Okeefe museum. They answered any and all questions quickly and were willing to assist with any requests. The wait staff were friendly, unobtrusive, and efficient in completing their duties. Those responsible for cleaning the rooms were friendly and efficient. My room was always in excellent condition if I returned during the morning break in the meeting. I also appreciated the couches and chairs placed strategically along the hallways (downstairs) and in the common areas upstairs - they were great places to settle for some of the very productive "hallway" conversations that take place at meetings. Thanks, Eldorado, for a memorable and enjoyable visit! I guarantee that I will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
When we hear such wonderful comments from guests such as yourself, we know we are doing something right. It pleases me to know our associates are providing a memorable experience in all areas of the Eldorado.
Thank you for sharing your experience as I will pass along your comments to our staff. They take pride in what they do and to hear how well they are doing as a team.
We hope to see you again real soon,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We are repeat guests of the Eldorado Hotel. Due to the great service and dining experiences we have had there we continue to return for special occasions. This visit was to celebrate our anniversary and per usual we had an exceptionally positive experience--the staff, the location, the accommodations, The Old House Restaurant continues to amaze - the new menu with beautifully prepared and presented meals, great service and a special dessert for our anniversary. Yum!! Yes, The Eldorado remains high on our "go to list."

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a long walk from the elevators so individuals with mobility issues may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for allowing us to share in your memories and create new ones. Without our loyal guests, we would just be another hotel. We strive to set ourselves apart from others by providing a delicious menu and authentic hospitality.
We'll see you soon,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Eldorado late one night after a long day on the road and was instantly relaxed and put at ease by not only the comfort and aesthetics of the hotel, but mostly by the lovely Kayla behind the desk who, without a doubt, provided the best service experience I have received in any of my travels. She was informative, kind, and went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. I will definitely be telling friends and family about our stay. There is no place in Santa fe for me other then the Eldorado.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your interaction with Kayla. She definitely was able to Wow you during your trip and we will be sure to pass along your comments. We take pride in our associates and what they do on a daily basis, and Kayla takes pride in what she does. We hope to see you, your family, and friends in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Santa Fe from Austin late at night and were greeting by Kayla. Not only is the Eldorado a beautiful hotel, but Kayla provided the best service and experience we've ever had. She was friendly, helpful, and genuinely wanted to provide the best service possible. If we're back in Santa Fe, we will definitely stay at the Eldorado. Thanks Kayla!

-Kirsten and Nick

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We are very pleased that Kayla provided a wonderful experience for you during your trip to Santa Fe. She takes pride in what she does and clearly it is reflective in her interactions. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Eldorado and we hope to see you again when you are back in Santa Fe.
Kindest Regards,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Combo business and pleasure trip. Had some personal business but met up with some friends from HS and we made a weekend of it. We'd all stayed at the El Dorado before and agreed that is where we wanted to stay again. We were all happy with our accommodations - the rooms, breakfast, the lounge and the convenient location. Would definitely return again. The staff was terrific across the board.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
It sounds like you were able to mix your business and leisure all in one trip. We are very pleased that you chose the Eldorado to do so and that we lived up to you and your high school friend's expectations.
We are proud of our staff and the authentic service they provide for guests such as yourself. Keep us in mind for your next reunion!
Kindest Regards,
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and fabulous apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.