We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed lots but also lots they should look into approving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Remodel Complete!
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed lots but also lots they should look into approving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights 2nd week of February for pleasure. Desk/Door/Concierge friendly and very welcoming. Concierge gave super restaurant recommendations, wanted French & Italian on various nights, and her suggestions were more than just spot on they were perfect. Good breakfast each morning in the restaurant off the lobby. Room was spotless and daily housekeeping service was excellent. Location perfect, it's all out the front door that you can walk to.

Unfortunately the two nights I had dinner via room service I had some issues. Super pasta dish with a cream sauce and chicken tasted wonderful, however it was just barely warm, which can happen via room service. Tasted so good I ordered it 3 days later but it too was barely warm. When I let the very polite young lady in each evening I saw her pulling the dish out of a box under a rolling table parked outside my door that had some type of flaming thing in it,so who knows what the problem was. 2nd time there wasn't a breadbasket on my tray, felt awfully high maintenance calling down asking for it, but when I did I think it was in a minute that a manager knocked on my door with the bread, and profusely apologized. That tells me they obviously train their staff with customer satisfaction in mind.

First night I enjoyed the jacuzzi on the roof. Second time i went to use it but it wasn't working heat/jets. Called down to let them know. Promptly a maintenance guy showed up. I figured I'd get in the sauna to warm up till he could fix the jacuzzi then I realized the sauna wasn't working either. When I went back to the maintenance guy to let him know he went off... "are you the one that called down to complain" " I only have 2 hands and I'm all by myself and there are...." Poor guy, but really he shouldn't have shared that much information, a simple I am working on it would have been enough. We've all been there in a similar situation.

Despite my negative comments I really enjoyed my stay and am sorry if it didn't come across that way in my review. I'd go back because they offered 3 things I have to have when I travel.....a clean room, friendly staff and the feeling they appreciated my business!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel G, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always look forward to feedback as that is what assists us with making the necessary corrections and letting us know where our strengths are.
I hope to see you back with us in the future.
Thank you again,

Gabriel G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    242
    111
    51
    46
See reviews for
121
313
50
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 20th anniversary in Santa Fe, NM. We visit Santa Fe frequently and we have stayed at the Eldorado Hotel before . . . but not since it has been refurbished. It is a gorgeous property staffed with the friendliest, most-helpful employees ever!

We arrived early but our room was ready and we were checked in quickly. We requested a room with a fireplace and the room was quite large and very nice. We were happy to see two club chairs in the room -- so much more comfortable than having to sit on the bed all the time. The bathroom was large as was the shower. The room had a very nice view and a small terrace with a table and chairs. I want to mention two things which really made this room nice: two luggage racks (most people or a couple have two suitcases and it's nice to put them both on a luggage rack; and both a light drape and a heavy drape. The light drape is very nice for letting in some light during the day and the heavy drape totally blacks out the room for good sleeping. Very, very nice.

The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. The bed did not have a reusable bedspread or cover on it which I appreciate very much. I like the idea of all of the linens being clean and fresh and just for me. I would even rather they didn't put the decorative pillows on the clean linens. Just a suggestion.

We had a fire three of the nights we were there and we really enjoyed them. The Eldorado requires a bellman light the fire for safety reasons. Our fires were lit quite soon after we requested it so that was nice.

We worked out in the hotel gym twice and it is very nicely equipped. We used the ellipetical machines and the treadmills and my husband did some weight work. Loved the individual TVs. I was unhappy that I didn't bring my headphones with me but no worries -- the hotel provided earbuds!!!

I visited the spa twice and it was great. I reviewed the Nidah Spa separately. We also had a fabulous dinner at The Old House restaurant and I reviewed it separately too.

The hotel exceeded our expectations and it is only made better by an excellent staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Director of Rooms at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such as special occasion. It looks as though you had an awesome time. Thank you such great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Bought a gift certificate at a silent auction Eldorado was supporting, and used it for Romantic Valentines evening. Great spa treatments, nice dinner in Agave lounge, and nice large room. Ask for the king suite w/balcony looking east for a great view of Santa Fe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Director of Rooms at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I am delighted to know that we made everything so special for your Valentine weekend. I know it is a critical and important holiday for many. Thank you so much for expressing your satisfaction to others to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Over the years, we have stayed at most of the hotels in Santa Fe; however, this was our first stay at the El Dorado, and it was a very satisfying experience. The high point was our dinner at The Old House. I had ahi tuna followed by scallops and my wife had tortilla soup and a filet. We have lived all over the world, and this was one of the best dinners we have had anywhere, anytime. Chef Evan Dougherty is world class. The wine list is also excellent with considerable variety and good price points. We enjoyed a glass of chardonnay from Languedoc followed by a bottle of red wine from the Abruzzi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Director of Rooms at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I am sure that Chef Doughty will be flattered to hear about your time at Old House. It is with great pride that we operate the hotel and restaurant and are so happy to see it pays off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The staff, the rooms, the fitness facility, the spa, & the food surpassed my expectations. I've travelled all over the world & rate every detail of every hotel in which I stay. The pillows on the beds were fabulous! The spa steam room was a bonus at $10. The food served at every meal was delicious! All of the staff was so friendly. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: Room #456 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Director of Rooms at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Wow! I am so excited to hear your stay was so exceptional all around. We appreciate the comments about the staff an hotel. Thank you again! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the El Dorado hotel before a work event. The hotel is old and the rooms are dated. I didn't care about the poor decor, but combined with the poor service it was so disappointing. It didn't make it any better that they are super pet friendly and I had to listen to dogs barking all night. The kicker came when I left something VERY important right next to the sink and didn't remember until I got home. I called immediately but of course the house keeping staff had not turned it in. I KNOW I left it right by the sink, but the El Dorado hotel doesn't employ people that are consciousness enough to make sure guests get their left behind items back.
Overall the El Dorado is more of a motel with regards to service and the hotel is old and tired.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Director of Rooms at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
I am very dismayed to see the comments on your review. We have never had issues in the past with guests leaving items at the hotel. I will keep a look out in case it turns up. Is there some other comments about poor service you would like to share? Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to some great restaurants. Hotel had a nice gym with a great view of downtown. We found a lot of great food in Santa Fe. The night we decided to eat in, we dined at the restaurant located in our hotel and enjoyed our meals. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Director of Rooms at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Another satisfied guest. What a pleasure to have served you at the hotel. Is there anything else we could have done to make it 5 star?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.