We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Eldorado Hotel & Spa in late November to celebrate her 21st birthday. We enjoyed Santa Fe shopping, dining, history, and this wonderful hotel. The staff was friendly, warm, and extremely accommodating, including the parking garage valets who were so patient and helpful when we needed to get in and out of the car. The spa was fabulous. We enjoyed facials together, and the entire spa experience was second to none. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived! We also had a celebratory drink in the hotel lounge one night. Our waitress was happy to get my daughter a replacement drink when the Irish coffee she ordered was not what she expected! I can highly recommend the Eldorado, and we are going to try and make a stay here an annual event!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Can't wait to have you back each year. I am so happy we made such an impression for your stay. Happy Birthday to your daughter. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    212
    96
    43
    41
See reviews for
91
278
47
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just a couple of blocks from the heat of Santa Fe historical center. Clean and reasonable value.
Could have better TV channels, faster internet and breafast included. Carpets could be cleaner. Would recommend it anyway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. We are anctipating upgrading our internet and television service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The El Dorado has everything you could want in Santa Fe. It is steps from the Plaza. Its common areas are beautiful, especially at the olidays. The rooms are excellent. Most of all the staff is terrific. They go above and byod at all time. We checked in last night and later we found a hand written note from the front desk person under our door thanking us fr being here and offering to do whatever she could do make our visit even better.

Very impressed by everything here. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace king. Real wood fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything with the stay. We aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the outside this hotel is quite beautiful, especially during the holiday season as all the luminaria lights are displayed outside.

We had a room with a Kiva. Too smoky, even though we did not light the fire, the smoke residue from previous person was strong and when you opened the window, the other kiva smoke came in. We smelled like a campfire the next morning.

The hotel needs some updating. The lobby is nice, but the rooms seem a bit old.

The restaurant does have a great breakfast. And, the staff is very friendly. That is a plus.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Kiva room unless you like smoke. The 4th floor, facing east has nice views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am sorry we missed this opportunity to make your stay special. I have not heard this from previous guests unless a fire was lit or previously lit. I will make sure our Engineering department looks into this right away. I am happy you enjoyed the other portions of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my first visit to Santa Fe and traveled with my mother and two sisters. The Eldorado Hotel was absolutely delightful. Every staff member we encountered provided gracious and outstanding service. The rooms spacious and very comfortable. Great amenities, linens, towels, etc. Our dinner at the Old House Restaurant was delicious and again, outstanding service. The Agave Lounge was both stylish and comfortable with great margaritas. The proximity to the square made it easy to go back and forth and not worry about driving or parking. We will absolutely return to the Eldorado Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the awesome comments! We look forward to your return. I trust the family enjoyed the trip just as much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We purchased this stay through Living Social. We stayed on a Saturday night in early November. The first difficulty we had was that you are not allowed to park your own car in the hotel garage, rather the valets must do it. My husband started to argue with the Valet saying he didn't trust anyone else to drive his car. The valet started to protest saying the they were very careful, as on of his colleagues went flying past us in reverse. We paid to park in the city lot across the street. The room looks lovely at fist glance, but as you settle in, you can see the wear and tear, not to mention areas that were not well cleaned. The robes looked clean, but were definitely frayed. Then, there was a loud band that played until about 11:00 right outside of our room. There was a lot of noise in the hallway outside the room throughout the night. I have stayed here before and had a much better experience. I don't think I will go back again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
I am dissapointed also. I wil lhave Housekeeping evaluate the robes. As far as the parking, I do apologize that are only option is Valet at the hotel. We do not have any self park on the limited space at the hotel. I do see you find an alternative option. To the point about the noise, I hope you called our front desk and/or secuity departments to report the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I live in the Santa Fe area so I don't have the opportunity to stay at the hotels in Santa Fe very often. My wife and I have stayed at a few Santa Fe hotels over the past 5 years for events where we want to avoid driving home after the event.

Recently we had the opportunity to stay at the Eldorado for the Aid and Comfort Gala and I was a little disappointed in the experience. Sure it was nice and we got a discounted rate but I expected more. The Eldorado is supposed to be one of the nicer properties in Santa Fe and their normal rates are in the $200-300 range. Although the room had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable (nice sheets too) the rooms were a bit spartan and dated.

I had a bit of a flare up with the front desk over the parking fee of $24/night. Being a local I knew that I could park at the public lot located caddy corner from the property for $10/night. I commented that parking is cheaper in Washington DC and the person staffing the front desk challenged my assertion stating that he was from DC. I commented back that this may be true but parking is not a premium in Santa Fe like it is in DC. I asked him to take the charge off my account because I would move my vehicle from their garage to the city garage. The next morning my bill had the parking charge and I called the front desk and asked to have the charge remove and her response was that she would "confirm with the garage" that I was not lying. Not sure if the charge was removed but I'll know when I receive my credit card bill.

One other thing kind of irked me. My wife ordered a Jack and Ginger at the bar and they served it in a short highball glass. She asked them to pour it into a tall glass and add more ginger ale. The bartender responded that he only had 11 tall glasses left and refused to honor her request. Not quite what I expect from a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I am terribly sorry we did not meet your every expecations. We defintely were not trying to challenge you but only to strike conversation on your previous travel. Sorry about the misunderstanding. I wil also pass on your comments about the interaction in the lounge with the restaurant manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.