We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, art-filled hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Pay in Advance - Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Hinton, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely, art-filled hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Eldorado is a 'classic' hotel of a certain age that has been kept up and has an elegant feel from the moment you step out of the car for the valet. The place is a visual feast with artwork (for sale) on every wall throughout. A visual feast. the restaurant, though very slow with service, offers excellent food with attention to seasonal themes. October's theme was Oktoberfest...and the German food was authentic and delicious. The staff in every area is eager to please and the only word I could think of to describe the ambiance is "coccooning" where you hardly feel like going outside into the cool, windy (albeit lovely) city of Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite with a patio had lovely views of the city and mountains, but all rooms are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
So happy to be able to provide a warm and relaxed ambiance for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    208
    92
    43
    39
See reviews for
90
273
47
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque,nm
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed over night in a balcony room for a wedding. The service was excellent from the the original reservation, check in, valet parking and bell service. The room was updated, clean and comfortable, although not particularly fancy. For those unfamiliar with the region it is a very good location for local sight seeing. Parking is underground for $24 a day. A little pricey and a lot unusual for wide open New Mexico but the plaza area of Santa Fe has almost no free parking. The only reason I did not give a five star was because we did not eat at the restuarant, only the wedding reception(the food was much better than your typical wedding food).

Room Tip: Some street noise from front facing rooms. Request away from elevators as each floor has a large lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
So happy to impress. I hope the day of celebration was just as fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Starting with the wonderful concierges, Halle and Maggie, through Candice at the front desk who checked me in early, to a wonderful corner room on the 4th floor with views everywhere, to a very comfortable bed, this was a trip to be remembered. If there were more than 5 stars to give, I would give them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Eldorado Hotel & Spa staff at its very best. Happy to astound and excite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at the Eldorado for two consecutive conferences and it became a comfortable home away from home. The rooms are well-appointed and vary in size from a standard hotel room to a large multi-bedroom suite, perfect for larger families. Each break-out room was conveniently located, and the staff did whatever was necessary to provide for our organization's needs. The hotel restaurant is decent but somewhat limited, but there are plenty of great restaurants of all types within a few blocks walking distance. For the jewelry shopper, an easy five-minute stroll takes you to the plaza where dozens of Native American crafters sell their wares.

Room Tip: People tend to congregate near the elevators, so the rooms further away tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited this wonderful resort a few weeks ago and had a fantastic time! From the lovely lady Kayla who checked us in to the attentive, friendly staff in the restaurant...our experience with Eldorado was above and beyond. :) :) :)
On our way down to Sante Fe, we made a stop at the Black Mesa winery to check it out. I did a wine tasting and got a complimentary wine glass that was engraved with "Black Mesa Winery" and a fancy logo. At one point during our stay, housekeeping serviced our room and must have mixed up my wine glass with their room service wine glasses. I called down to the Front Desk when I noticed that it was missing and they told me that they would be on the lookout for it. Well, we had to check out early the next morning and we had not heard back about it. :( HOWEVER, once I returned home, a package was shipped to the resort that I am an employee at with not only my "Black Mesa Winery" wine glass BUT another wine glass of the same design! So now we have a matching set!!!!!! I was blown away by this amazing service and how they went the extra mile to be the difference!!!
A big thank you to Mary Love who sent the wine glasses and also to Kayla at the Front Desk who gave us a coupon for complimentary champagne after we checked in and made sure we had a nice view of the mountains, as well as a balcony! We were treated like royalty during our entire stay! :) Thanks again for providing amazing service and going out of your way to not only return my wine glass....but to get me a pair!!!!!!! AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
This is the response we want from everyone. Can't get much better. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX&CO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited the El Dorado Hotel & Spa in Santa Fe again last month in October just after the ABQ balloon festival and it was GREAT! The hotel staff and reservations were so welcoming. My husband had just had surgery and we needed to change our reservation and room type. They were very accomodating. I love Santa Fe as there are so many restaurants to go to. However, it's nice to know that if are tired, the hotel has one of the best restaurants in New Mexico. Long ago I searched for the "Old House" when it was the only Zagat rated restaurant in the state. I had no idea that it is actually in the El Dorado Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Small details like having a magnifying mirror in the bathroom for makeup, spacious closets and a comfortable bed and pillows are so important to comfort. The El Dorado has it all. The front desk staff and bellmen like Juan really help when someone needs a little extra care. I will definitely go back to the El Dorado Hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms are larger than most of the Santa Fe hotels so I don't think that you can go wrong. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It is a great day when we know we have made someone's stay so personal. Thank you for the comments and for mentioning one of our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at Eldorado Hotel on way home from Denver. Everything was wonderful, nice, squeaky clean, large room and bath, great location and warm, inviting staff. We have stayed in almost every hotel or b&b near the Plaza, but never the Eldorado since it was always more expensive. They now offer some nice specials of which we took advantage. So glad we did! think we now found our go to hotel in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Front Office Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
So happy we make such an impression! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and fabulous apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.