We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Wi-Fi
Ranked #17 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for walking around the old plaza in Santa Fe. Great bar in the hotel for cocktails and appetizers. Within walking distance of the old Plaza as well as Railyard section.

Skip the spa which is very nice but very over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    191
    84
    42
    38
See reviews for
87
258
46
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently I had the opportunity and pleasure of staying at this incredible hotel.The accommodations were excellent and the staff was both professional and courteous. The concierge was wonderful. She went out of her way to ensure that my stay was fantastic. In passing I mentioned that I was retiring this month. I returned to my room to discover a platter with chocolate covered strawberries and two bottles of exquisite mineral water. Included was a personalized heartfelt note congratulating and thanking me for my many years of service as a teacher. I was touched by the thoughtfulness of the gesture. I can assure anyone that you will be pleased with " Eldorado" and it's staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were here for a conference and had a room on the second floor which was convenient but the view was lacking.
Service was excellent in every way during our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.
I liked this hotel and the location is great. There are a few things that I wish were different.
These are picky but here I go:
Towels-these were seriously lame. For a resort hotel they can do better.
Coffee- the room coffee was swill to begin with and then they ran out of regular coffee for the rest of the week. The maids were very helpful scavenging coffee from the checked out rooms that had extra. This is unacceptable for a resort.
AC- Good Lord I have NEVER been so hot at night in my life and I am not a person that loves the chillzone. I could not cool that room down at night no matter what I put that thermostat on. Nights were not pleasant as we were in a heat wave that week.
Pool- Ha, ha. I wasn't there for the pool but I had to laugh when I saw it. Reminds me of the endless lap pools as far as size. Max capacity is 11 people. I just made sure there were no kids when I when up there because the area is so tiny.
Good things: location, cleanliness, staff, valet parking, complimentary apples and water in the lobby, beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Eldorado for two nights on a cross country roadtrip in January. It was a beautiful hotel, though I must say that the service was lacking. From the moment we arrived, the people at the front desk were not welcoming and it often took awhile to get the attention of someone. That was disappointing... but the room itself was lovely. It was very roomy and nicely decorated. The bed was great. The bathroom could have used some updating, but was nice and clean. As for location, it was a great location. We opted to drive most places, because it was freezing while we were there (which says a lot... considering we are from the northeast). If the service was better (which could just be the people that were on duty while we were there), I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It truly saddens me to hear that our service was lacking. This is something that we pride ourselves on and I will make sure to review this with our staff today and moving forward. I appreciate your honest feedback and without it, we cannot improve. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
imcclendon@eldoradohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed with three other couples at El Dorado in connection with a medical conference. The hotel is very conveniently located, just two blocks from the Plaza and easy walking distance from the restaurants and galleries on Canyon Road. While there, we experienced no major problems, but several minor issues preclude me from considering this a five star property.

When booking the trip, we were assured that our group would be housed in adjacent rooms. At checkin, we were not even placed on the same floor. When checking out, we were charged a rate higher than promised when booked. The tissue box in our room was empty, as was the note pad. The water disappeared for about 30 seconds during one of my showers. The wi-fi speed and coverage was very bad, though complimentary.

None of these issues would I consider major. The room we had, a junior suite, was very comfortable. Complimentary water in the lobby was a nice touch and the spa was nice, if not spectacular. All in all, the hotel was perfectly acceptable and the location trumped any deficiencies cited above.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our property. It seems that we have some work to do with a couple issues, and I will make sure to bring these to the attention of our staff today. If there is anything else that we can do for you, please let us know. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you back in Santa Fe very soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
imcclendon@eldoradohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided at the last minute to go to Santa Fe for the weekend. We had not stayed at the Eldorado before and were so happy with all aspects of our stay.From the valet who greeted us to the check out on Sunday, everything went well. We had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant on our first night. The location is perfect, far enough from the square to not be in the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk to everything.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
we are glad that your last minute vacation took you to our beautiful property! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we hope you make plans to visit us again soon!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
imcclendon@eldoradohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Everything was as expected from a hotel of this caliber. Just a short walk from the square and great restaurants. Nice decor, expansive lobby area was a welcome and inviting space for meeting with friends and colleagues. We had a conference rate of $189. I wouldn't be inclined to pay more than that. But that's just me. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! It seems that we have missed the mark with exceeding your expectations, and we will be reviewing your visit with our staff to see if there were missed opportunities. We are glad that your conference experience was successful and we hope to see you again very soon in Santa Fe!

~Ian Robert McClendon
Director of Rooms
imcclendon@eldoradohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and fabulous apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.