We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Historic district is a very good place to stay. It is a very walkable area with lots of restaurants and shops. The room is comfortable, with a couch, and nice view of the town. I didn't use the gym or spa. Since it is winter, it is pity I didn't swim in the out door pool on the roof.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Luciya,

Thank you for being our recent guest and taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are indeed very lucky to be in the heart of Santa Fe with so many wonderful places to visit that are walkable. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay as our motto is total guest satisfaction one guest at a time.

We do hope you will have an opportunity to join us again in the near future as we want to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe. To that end if we can ever be of any assistance, please do contact the Hotel directly.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    199
    86
    42
    37
See reviews for
88
264
47
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cons: there are probably places in SF with a bit more character. My room was somewhat noisier than I expected; I could hear conversations in the next room pretty clearly. The: TV picture was a little fuzzy.

Pros: the rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable, and clean. They will put a humidifier in your room, which is greatly appreciated in a place with such dry air. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Located within easy walking distance of most SF downtown destinations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Xman_7,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are indeed very lucky to be in the heart of Santa Fe with such an incredible property. I was disappointed to hear that you did have a couple of concerns as we want all guests to have error free stays.

I have brought your concerns to the attention of our Senior Engineer so that we may address those items. We do hope that you will join us in the near future as we want to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here because that's where my conference was, but was pleased to find a very spacious room with a big desk and free wifi. My only concern was that the shower head could have used some updating. The location is in the heart of old Santa Fe and a convenient walk from the train depot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Bob4er,

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay, but was disappointed that you had an issue with the shower. I have passed this information on to our Engineering Department for inspection and the necessary correction.

We do hope that you will have the opportunity to come back to Santa Fe and be our guest in the not to distant future as our motto is to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in a beautiful large room with a huge king bed and a Kiva fireplace. The ambiance of the hotel was warm and friendly. The main restaurant served an excellent meal. The bedding was top notch, with feather pillows and a feather top bed. Close to downtown and the plaza with many restaurants and stores to choose from. My first time in the city was a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sharli6,

I can't thank you enough for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Our goal to each guest is total satisfaction one guest at a time, and it appears that we did our job in making your first trip to Santa Fe a memorable one. This is by far the highest compliment you can pay to a Hotelier.

We do hope that you will come back and visit in the very near future, and to that end if we can be of any assistance please do contact the Hotel as it will be our pleasure to be at your service.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff at the hotel is very nice and willing to accomodate any requests that you have. We upgraded to a room with a fireplace, very nice on cold nights. Views from hotel are nice. We loved the location, great to walk to the plaza and restaurants, yet not in the middle of the tourist inundation. Book restaurants in advance, Santa Fe is small and they book up fast. The lobby could use a reno, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Gary D,

Thank you for being our recent guest and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We are indeed very lucky to have such a caring staff and I seriously appreciate that they were able to handle all your requests in such a satisfactory manner. I am so pleased you took the opportunity to venture out and see so much of our little town as it is a charming place to call home.

We do hope you have the opportunity to join us again in the near future as we are constantly making modifications in order to better serve our guests. With that in mind if we can be of any further assistance please do contact the Hotel as it would be our pleasure to be at your service.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Eldorado rolls out the red carpet for well pedicured paws—special bedding, food bowls and most importantly (to my food obsessed pug) first class pet treats. Local neighborhood dog bakery, Pooch Pantry, makes organic freshly baked doggie biscuits, which were included in our Golden Paws Club gift bag. The hotel also provides a list of pet sitters, local vets and pet stores.

We received an exceptionally warm welcome from all staff including parking valet ,Joe, front desk reception personnel and concierge, Dachelle.

The lobby is impressively urbanely chic—it looks much better in person than on their website. The Agave lounge is a popular spot with well-heeled locals and has a very comfy and intimate ambience featuring tasty and fresh small and large plate items (I enjoyed a very tasty and fresh tuna tartare). The bartender caters to a discerning clientele and his drinks did not disappoint (the pomegranate martini was super!). Chef Anthony Smith employs a hand-crafted chamber to dry age the beef served at the hotel's affordably priced Old House fine dining restaurant, adjacent to the lounge.

Our 5th floor deluxe king with kiva fireplace was peaceful and posh-warm rich woods, oversized chairs and the bathroom has a great roomy vanity (a nice feature for us women) and all the little extras you expect in superior accommodations—robe,complimentary grooming items, coffee maker and refrigerator. The real wood burning fireplace was such a treat during our stay in January when temperatures can plummet. The hotel staff provides ample firewood and are available to light the fire at your convenience. We enjoyed wonderful views of Santa Fe and the mountains from our private balcony with electric luminarias.

A super bargain in off-season. Our room was $139 and can increase to over $300 in peak spring and summer season.

The hotel does not offer pet friendly dining options at present but room service was excellent—food was hot, well presented and tasty (no extra charge for substitutions).

Free WIFI and access to fitness center, outdoor heated pool, sauna and whirlpool.
Parking is $24-pricey— but in heavily populated downtown area, the norm and the price you pay for an ultra convenient location (walk to shops, museums, etc.)

$50 per pet fee (maximum 2 dogs per room).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Shelia W,

We are thrilled you had an opportunity to be our recent guest and shared your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I can't thank you enough for your kind words and recognizing our amazing staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with them as it will be most appreciated.

I am so happy that we could also accommodate your pet needs. I have two pampered pups myself so I well understand the need to have all the little extras available as it makes traveling a pleasure rather than a chore. We do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the very near future as we want to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked this property same day as arrival - we were on a road trip and this place fit the bill for quality accommodations, great location right in old town Santa Fe, and being dog friendly.

The property did not disappoint and the staff were very friendly and generally happy people (always a plus!).

We did have an issue with the first room we checked into - on the top floor - when we heard continued scratching sounds up in the ceiling/on the roof. We notified the desk and they immediately sent someone to investigate and move us to another room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Michelle M,

We are so pleased that you found us on your recent trip. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are very greatful for your kind comments. I was disappointed to hear that you had trouble with your first room as we try to be error free. However I am very pleased the staff handled the situation in such a timely manner.

I do hope when you find yourself back in Santa Fe we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest again as our goal is to make the Eldorado your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friends at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and fabulous apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Amex, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.