We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepy Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Santa Fe Spring Getaway
Ranked #16 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sleepy Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Eldorado was our first stop on a NM honeymoon. The hotel staff was very kind from the very start, and the property is nice. Although we checked in on a Wednesday, we were put in a room right next to an elevator which was unfortunately very noisy and not so romantic... but that said, the front desk sent up champagne to help us celebrate and we loved the extra touch.

On day two, I was having trouble sleeping because it is quite dry in Santa Fe, but the hotel was able to provide a humidifier and it made all the difference in the world!

Overall, nice accommodations, kind hotel staff, and comfy bed... previous reviews about shower soaking you bc of poor design and the terrible forced parking fees are true. We suggest paying a few dollars less and parking in the garage kitty corner to the property.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator! Also, no view from front side 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear BShan1982,

First off I would like to extend my heart felt congratulations on your recent marriage and a life filled with joy and prosperity. We were delighted to have you stay with us and really appreciate your kind comments. I was sorry to hear that your room was not in a quiet area of the Hotel.

We hope you will return in the very near future as our goal is to become your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friend's at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    179
    81
    41
    35
See reviews for
83
241
44
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed at the Eldorado October 5th & 6th 2012. The front desk staff was extraordinary and went above and beyond. The room itself on the 5th floor was clean, good beds and pillows. The bathroom was lovely, large and clean. I did however expect the room to be larger considering the price but realize that Santa Fe is a resort destination and the fact we were only 2 blocks from the plaza justifies the higher pricing. The food at their restaurant was absolutely 5 star in presentation and quality. The front desk staff recommended other restaurants and all were really good. Had a bit of a problem with valet parking. Upon arrival the valet said they would unload our luggage and send it to our room. We did not use the vehicle all weekend and when we checked out on Sunday morning the car's battery was drained and they had to charge it. One of the valet personnal said they always make sure to turn off all lites and ensure the doors are closed. After 45 minutes and while I was calling AAA for assistance a manager came up with the car and apologized saying all was fine. We left and had to re-program the anti theft, and radio as the battery had failed. Then after getting back to Colorado when parking in a garage at home noticed the dome lite was on dim the whole time. I understand accidents happen, but the valet got rude during the ordeal and blamed us for the car problems until the manager showed up then he seemed eager to please us and asked if we needed directions to get on the interstate. The car was new in February by the way. All in all we had a great time at the Eldorado until we tried to go home.

Room Tip: Only one elevator so if you have issues with walking any distance be sure to check how far the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kim G,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I really appreciate your kind comments regarding our Front Desk personnel and the Old House restaurant experience. I would like to apologize for the issue you had with our Valet Service. As this group of individuals are a direct report, rest assured I will see that a full investigation into the problems you experienced take place so that this type of situation never takes place in the future.
Our goal for our property is to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe. We do hope the negative experience will not prevent you from returning as I can guarantee that poor behavior on the part of our staff members will never be tolerated.

With kind regards from your friend's at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I drove out west this past summer (July 2012), and we spent one night at the Eldorado. We chose the hotel because they were dog-friendly, which is great. BUT, our room was well below expectations. We paid over $400 for a one night stay. The room was worn, dark and in need of repair. The TV cable line was stretched under the carpet across the floor so you could see a line of cable underneath the carpet from one end of the room to the other - underneath the worn, faded carpet. In one corner, the carpet was chewed or torn. The fireplace area was dirty and worn. The room had been "renovated" apparently years ago. There was little water pressure, little room for the shower, and the bathroom was cheaply "re-done".

It was what I would have expected from a Motel 8, but not from a hotel that costs $400 /night. It was not horrible, but it was no where NEAR what one would have expected for $400/night. The staff was all very nice, but the owner needs to do major upgrades. Looking out from our balcony, we saw significant deterioration of the hotel below, and I just felt like we were very ripped off. Save your money and stay somewhere else!

Pamela and Colin, Atlanta, Georgia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Pamela P,

Although we appreciate your feedback, we are very troubled by the fact that you waited for such an extended period of time to let your comments be known. I invite you to contact the Hotel directly and speak with me so that we may find some type of resolution to your issues.

With regards:
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our room was OK not great. Chipped paint and a bathroom door with hardware installed backward. Staff was helpful and professional. Housekeeping was thorough. Valet parking staff was fun and gave perfect directions every time. Bed was large and comfortable. The hotel is right at that point where it needs thoughtful refurbishment of its rooms and common areas.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Gern B,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response. We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, and it will be my pleasure to share your review with them. I appreciate your candor regarding the room, and rest assured this has been on all of our minds as we prepare to make necessary changes.

We thank you for being our guest and do hope we will see you in the very near future.

With regards from your friend's at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed here this past weekend for the wine/chile fest which is always a great time!!
after reading some negative reviews on the outdated rooms i was pleasantly suprised to see that at least the room we were in (426) had been updated with the exception of the love seat in the room but still wasnt bad.
nice bathroom and comfortable bed and the staff are very helpful and accomadating.
we also enjoyed the agave lounge in the lobby which had great apps and drinks and had a cool vibe.
the location has to be one of the best in town just moments from anything in the downtown area.
will definitely stay here on our next visit to sante fe!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Wineboy57,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are overjoyed that your stay for Wine and Chili was such a great success, and I hope we had the opportunity to make found memories for your stay.

Please come back soon as our goal to you is to become your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With regards from your friend's at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Ive been staying at the Eldorado since the 1980's. The last few times I was disappointed as the hotel was beginning to show it's age.
I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it has been redecorated. My room felt new and was very well appointed. The one minor downside, shower curtains. They always leak and smell.
The lounge is now moved to inside the Old House restaurant. I miss the old area with the fireplace, piano player and comfortable lounges to enjoy a drink. Now it's a noisy crowded bar scene, which is a lot more fun if that's what you are looking for. It's different.
Overall, you can't beat the location and ambiance. I left happy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Kevnzworld,

Thank you so much for being our recent guest. We appreciate your kind words, and are overjoyed that you noticed the changes we have made in the past year. Stay tuned as we are intending to make more modifications to stay in pace with what are guests are asking for. I think you will find over the next several months not only a change in the Hotel, but in service standards as our goal to you is to become your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

We look forward to your next visit in the very near future.

With regards from your friend's at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nmchick
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Much has been written about the Eldorado, but it's not easy to find info about taking your pet with you, so I want to focus on that right up front. I researched for hours to find dog-friendly lodging within walking distance of the Plaza that also had a heated pool and terraces/balconies. We're very happy we chose the Eldorado, as they made our pet (and us) feel very welcome right from the greeting by the doorman Paul. After checking in, we were given a bag with two nice size Milk Bones, which Luna loved! We were offered those another two times while entering or leaving. Everyone was very friendly and had no problem with Luna's 50 pounds.

Right away they told us that we had to walk across the street to a small area that actually is part of the landscaping next to the sidewalk for her to 'do her business', as there is actually no place on the property for that. In fact, the Eldorado has no exterior grounds at all, which is not uncommon in the compact space that is downtown Santa Fe. We quickly also found a walking route behind the hotel (near Johnson & Palace) with some dirt area that she could use, too. And the walk to the Railyard District Park (not sure what the actual name is) was about 15 minutes and there is lots of space there and grassy areas; we really like that park and went there twice. It is also just a short (5 minute) walk to the grassy park that runs along the river next to Alameda, so there are plenty of areas nearby for those with larger pets requiring more exercise.

At check-in, we were given a list of restaurants they believed to be dog-friendly. I called them before set out for our first long walk, and some had changed their policy, so be sure and check first. On our own, we found two other places where we could take the dog inside or eat on the patio with her. One was the Cowgirl Restaurant and the other was the Bean in the back part of the Sambusco Shopping Center (which you can also take your dog in). Inside the Eldorado, you can take your dog into the Lobby Lounge or sit in chairs outside that area, or outside at the tables on their entrance patio overlooking San Francisco Street. They let us order drinks from the Agave Lounge and take them to any of those areas so we could have her sit with us instead of being left in the room. However, there is no patio where one can dine with the dog (just another reason to order room service though : ).

We had booked a junior terrace suite and had a small balcony; the size of the room was quite adequate and we were pleasantly surprised to find an additional half bath by the door and sitting area in addition to the 3/4 bath near the bed. No bathtub, though, if that's important. The water pressure was not really all that great, not made any better by the fake 'rain' shower head. Since the bathrooms are small, it was nice to have one for each of us to spread out our toiletries and get ready to go out simultaneously.

The tv was a flat-screen and was almost big enough to watch from the bed but perfect from the couch that faced the tv and sat between the bed and tv. The terrace walls are about 4' high, so sitting down you only have a view of the tops of the mountains, but standing up we had a nice view looking down Palace Ave towards the Plaza. At our 5th floor level, we could hear the rooftop air conditioning units from the building across the way (our terrace door looked down Palace Ave) when we were on the terrace or had the room windows/patio door open. That was annoying to me, but I live in a very quiet area and am sensitive to such things. Folks used to the noise level of a city might not even notice or care. If we go back, we'll try and get a terrace room on the 4th floor, as I don't think terrace rooms are available on the opposite side of the hotel. Each morning, there were USA Today newspapers for the taking on the table near the elevator. I don't know if this is the case on every floor or just the one with the suites, but it was nice to be able to grab one of those to have with our in-room coffee. The room also had a fridge but no microwave. There was a fireplace in the room in a nice location, but the weather didn't warrant us calling to have them come up and light it for us. That would be a very nice touch in winter, though.

As for the room, although the carpet was obviously old, everything was very neat and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable; in fact, our plans were put a bit off-kilter by me staying in bed until noon our first morning there! What a luxury though; so we missed touring one museum...it was worth it to just relax and sleep in.

The rooftop pool area is very small, as is the pool itself, but it was heated to a perfect temperature. Since we have a spa at home, I enjoyed the pool more than the spa, but my partner was in the spa more, which had adequate jets. There are no walk-in steps to take you into or out of the pool--only two ladders with the hand-bars on the side of the pool, so very heavy-set people might have a problem getting out, quite honestly. They do have a wheelchair elevator lift if you can't climb the short flight of stairs from the 5th floor to the pool deck entrance. Only service animals are allowed there, I guess. The sign says "No dogs in the pool or spa or on the pool deck", so we wondered if someone could bring their miniature dog if they carried it up and kept it on their chaise lounge (only half-kidding about that). The pool area hours are posted as being from 7 am to 11 pm; we didn't test that but you do have to use your room key to gain access to the area. They serve food at the pool area, too, from a limited menu posted in the pool area.

We enjoyed everything about room service except the child's mac'n'cheese; definitely not up to the standards of everything else we ate at the establishment over the course of three days. For our in-room meal, we also had the creme brulee, cheesecake, cheese platter with fruit chutney, and child's hot dog with fries. They did not bring American-style mustard with the hot dog (which was a regular size hot dog as you would expect), but apparently it is available, so be sure and ask for it if you want that. Lots of other condiments were provided, though, including ketchup, spicy mustard and mayonnaise--all in those little individual jars, two of each, in fact! They could save some money by only bringing one each of those for a single hot dog and small fries.

By the way, if it doesn't matter being 4 miles out of town, Bishop's Lodge is another possibility for those with dogs. While they 'prefer' them to be on the leash, they have LOTS of space and some grassy areas where you could actually play catch off the leash. We did that at the park near the Railyard, mentioned earlier. This trip, we enjoyed being within walking distance to the Plaza and lots of museums and galleries, as well as a variety of other restaurants if you don't want to dine at the hotel every meal. The only time we got in our car from arriving Sunday afternoon to leaving late Wednesday afternoon was for our trip up to Bishop's Lodge.

Shortly after arriving home, there was a survey in my email, and I received a very prompt and cordial response from management after completing it. The property manager said in his email response to me that he would look into the noise issue as well as the small, dry child's mac'n'cheese serving delivered by room service, and considering the excellent service during our stay, I'm thinking he actually will. All in all, superior service at this establishment takes it a notch above other hotels, and at the price we paid was well worth it. They did have a special deal going for NM residents, so our rate after including the valet parking and dog fee was $140/night plus taxes. I don't know that I would want to pay much more than that, though--maybe up to $200 per night would still be reasonable for the quality of their service, excellent attitude towards pets, and good room service (for me, only if the pool was open though).

Of note: After checkout, you can leave your car there for the rest of the day if you want to continue to see the sights or have lunch before taking off. At $24 per day valet parking, I would expect it to be this way, but we were happy there was no problem with us doing that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry W, Guest Relations Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear NMChick,

We greatly appreciate your Trip Advisor response, and for being our recent guest. Yes we are very proud of our Staff and Facility and it shows in our responses to guests needs. Another item we are always happy to share is our Pet Friendly status. It is our pleasure to have your pet be with us as we see it as an extension of your family.

Thank you very much for your generous comments, and we hope to see you in the very near future. Our continuing goal to you is to be your favorite Hotel while in Santa Fe.

With warm regards from your friend's at the Eldorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe
Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and fabulous apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list