We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymoon we'll never forget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre-pay and SAVE!
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Honeymoon we'll never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife and I had researched and investigated many hotels throughout Santa Fe for over a month and decided to settle on staying at the Eldorado for our Honeymoon. We were not disappointed! From our first entrance into the hotel, and the greeting we received by Carrie, one of the front desk clerks at the Eldorado, we were graciously welcomed, and made to feel like we were royalty. Carrie gave us so many great suggestions that made our vacation so carefree. Our room was on the 5th floor, and had a balcony and fantastic view of the city, and surrounding mountains. We also had a kiva fireplace in our room. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The shower was splendid with polished granite surroundings. When we opened the door, we were greeted with complimentary chocolates, and a bottle of chilled champagne. We don’t drink alcohol, and so they promptly substituted the champagne for sparkling cider. We had turndown service every night at the hotel. They really care about you at the Eldorado. We did not eat at the Old House, but did order room service on our last night. Our cheeseburgers were sufficiently ample and delicious, along with the sweet potato fries and cheesecake for dessert, and the bill was not exorbitant at all. Yes, the hotel is not on the plaza, but it is only 3 short blocks away, and I strongly recommend that you don’t stay in the plaza area because of the noise, and the traffic due to certain streets being blocked off at certain times. Access in and out of the Eldorado was perfect! It was close enough to the plaza to be convenient, but far enough away that you don’t get caught in the hustle and bustle of crowds. The rooftop pool is fantastic, and is a salt-water pool. The Jacuzzi is also on the rooftop and is also great. The Nidah Spa was fantastic! I received a deep-tissue massage, while my wife received a facial, manicure and pedicure. The staff were extremely professional and proficient. We will certainly stay at the Eldorado whenever in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor towards the plaza are the cats meow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    253
    120
    55
    47
See reviews for
128
320
51
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We once again loved our stay at El Dorado! Everything from the service to the accomodations were wonderful! The check-in was simple and quick. Room was
clean and very comfortable. House keeping did a great job every day. I was treated to another massage and I have to say it is the best I have ever experienced. I have had massages locally and at resorts where we have stayed. None can match the Nidah Spa. Their people are obviously highly trained. We had room service several times, it was prompt and the food was very good. The valet attendants were professional, friendly and very prompt. We used the fitness center daily and if there is anything of a negative nature I would have to say the equipment could use some attention in cleaning and servicing.

I hope all the staff at El Dorado will be given a positive congratulations on how great they made our stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here
in the past. It was a huge disappointment. It is obvious that the Eldorado haslong passed it hayday. The rooms are worn with chipped furmiture and tattered carpet.
We dined at the Old House and while the service was just OK, we waityed for 45 minutes for our COLD food. We complained to the restaurant manager and he was very curt and uncaring. Needless to say we will never stay at this hotel again nor will we recommend it to even our worst enemy

Room Tip: Say at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolTrip101, General Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. I apologize that your food was cold and I’m surprised to hear that you felt that our management was uncaring. I hope that we’ll have the opportunity to do a better job next time or that your next trip is a more enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodacre, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just got back and and had a great time. The hotel is really nice and conveniently located right downtown Santa Fe. Loved Santa Fe. The overall character and charm of this hotel is perfect, adobe spanish style. It made us feel like we were in a foreign country, but we never left the U.S. The first night we ate in their dining room, I think it was called the Old House and the food was amazing, the best I have experienced in a very long time at a hotel restaurant. I am a bit of a foodie, so the food is an important part of my hotel experience. Rooms were a little small, but very comfortable with a view of old town. I would definitely stay there again and stay longer next time. This trip was four nights.

One day it was beautiful and sunny in the morning and by afternoon it poured down rain, then by early evening it cleared back up and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset. The rain didn't affect the enjoyment of the visit at all, we just tucked into shops, cafes and churches and continued along our journey. A truly amazing trip.

Room Tip: I was there on business and everyone loved their rooms. Only drawback was there were no balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudcroft nm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had stayed at the Eldorado Hotel in Santa Fe before, so it was the first place we went to for a return visit. I had checked out their prices online and they had a room internet price. I did not have time to book it, and thought that we could get the same deal "in person". We checked at the front desk, and they said that they would not honor that rate and quoted a much higher rate. I guess I could have gotten on my computer right there and booked it, but there are many hotels to choose from, and usually the customer is "king". Not at this hotel. So they let us leave for a $20 difference...

So we went down the street to the Hilton and had a great front desk experience, great rate, great room and found us a new hotel!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

After reading some of the reviews, we opted to give this hotel a try. I usually stay at either Anasazi or Inn at Loretto. I will never stay at Eldorado again. Neither will the other guests in my party with our conference. The front desk staff were so unprofessional that if they were my employees, I would fire them on the spot. I asked to speak to the manager and waited 20 minutes. He never showed up. The restaurant in the hotel was supposed to be one of the finest in Santa Fe and it ended up being the worst meal of our 4 night stay. The steaks were tough, the service pitiful, the flatware was dirty, need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolTrip101, General Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for the problems experienced with the Front Desk staff and for the fact that you waited 20 minutes to see a Manager who did not show up. I would also like to apologize for the problems experienced in the Old House Restaurant. These issues have been shared with management. We hope that you visit us in the future to prove that staying at the Eldorado Hotel & Spa can be an enjoyable experience exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent three nights at the El Dorado. We had a corner room. The room was clean and well appointed. Comforters on the beds. We used the exercise room and it was also clean, the machines all worked, and it wasn't crowded when we were there. We did not eat in the restaurant or use the spa. This hotel is only a couple of blocks off the old Plaza and perfectly situated for walking around the old town. We went to the Santa Fe Opera twice and our shuttle picked us up right at the hotel. The parking is Valet only and $22 per night, which is somewhat expensive, but they were efficient and prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible--puts you at the end of the hall, but is quiet and away from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the newly remodeled Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning service and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit. This acclaimed four-diamond hotel is located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Spacious rooms, many with views and some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant and AGAVE lounge. Experience the new CAVA bar featuring Spanish wines, food and live entertainment. Ultimate pampering at the full-service Nidah Spa. Underground, covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.