We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymoon we'll never forget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Eldorado Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Moorestown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Honeymoon we'll never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife and I had researched and investigated many hotels throughout Santa Fe for over a month and decided to settle on staying at the Eldorado for our Honeymoon. We were not disappointed! From our first entrance into the hotel, and the greeting we received by Carrie, one of the front desk clerks at the Eldorado, we were graciously welcomed, and made to feel like we were royalty. Carrie gave us so many great suggestions that made our vacation so carefree. Our room was on the 5th floor, and had a balcony and fantastic view of the city, and surrounding mountains. We also had a kiva fireplace in our room. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The shower was splendid with polished granite surroundings. When we opened the door, we were greeted with complimentary chocolates, and a bottle of chilled champagne. We don’t drink alcohol, and so they promptly substituted the champagne for sparkling cider. We had turndown service every night at the hotel. They really care about you at the Eldorado. We did not eat at the Old House, but did order room service on our last night. Our cheeseburgers were sufficiently ample and delicious, along with the sweet potato fries and cheesecake for dessert, and the bill was not exorbitant at all. Yes, the hotel is not on the plaza, but it is only 3 short blocks away, and I strongly recommend that you don’t stay in the plaza area because of the noise, and the traffic due to certain streets being blocked off at certain times. Access in and out of the Eldorado was perfect! It was close enough to the plaza to be convenient, but far enough away that you don’t get caught in the hustle and bustle of crowds. The rooftop pool is fantastic, and is a salt-water pool. The Jacuzzi is also on the rooftop and is also great. The Nidah Spa was fantastic! I received a deep-tissue massage, while my wife received a facial, manicure and pedicure. The staff were extremely professional and proficient. We will certainly stay at the Eldorado whenever in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor towards the plaza are the cats meow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    199
    86
    42
    37
See reviews for
88
264
47
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We once again loved our stay at El Dorado! Everything from the service to the accomodations were wonderful! The check-in was simple and quick. Room was
clean and very comfortable. House keeping did a great job every day. I was treated to another massage and I have to say it is the best I have ever experienced. I have had massages locally and at resorts where we have stayed. None can match the Nidah Spa. Their people are obviously highly trained. We had room service several times, it was prompt and the food was very good. The valet attendants were professional, friendly and very prompt. We used the fitness center daily and if there is anything of a negative nature I would have to say the equipment could use some attention in cleaning and servicing.

I hope all the staff at El Dorado will be given a positive congratulations on how great they made our stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here
in the past. It was a huge disappointment. It is obvious that the Eldorado haslong passed it hayday. The rooms are worn with chipped furmiture and tattered carpet.
We dined at the Old House and while the service was just OK, we waityed for 45 minutes for our COLD food. We complained to the restaurant manager and he was very curt and uncaring. Needless to say we will never stay at this hotel again nor will we recommend it to even our worst enemy

Room Tip: Say at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolTrip101, General Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. I apologize that your food was cold and I’m surprised to hear that you felt that our management was uncaring. I hope that we’ll have the opportunity to do a better job next time or that your next trip is a more enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppy36
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just got back and and had a great time. The hotel is really nice and conveniently located right downtown Santa Fe. Loved Santa Fe. The overall character and charm of this hotel is perfect, adobe spanish style. It made us feel like we were in a foreign country, but we never left the U.S. The first night we ate in their dining room, I think it was called the Old House and the food was amazing, the best I have experienced in a very long time at a hotel restaurant. I am a bit of a foodie, so the food is an important part of my hotel experience. Rooms were a little small, but very comfortable with a view of old town. I would definitely stay there again and stay longer next time. This trip was four nights.

One day it was beautiful and sunny in the morning and by afternoon it poured down rain, then by early evening it cleared back up and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset. The rain didn't affect the enjoyment of the visit at all, we just tucked into shops, cafes and churches and continued along our journey. A truly amazing trip.

Room Tip: I was there on business and everyone loved their rooms. Only drawback was there were no balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudcroft nm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had stayed at the Eldorado Hotel in Santa Fe before, so it was the first place we went to for a return visit. I had checked out their prices online and they had a room internet price. I did not have time to book it, and thought that we could get the same deal "in person". We checked at the front desk, and they said that they would not honor that rate and quoted a much higher rate. I guess I could have gotten on my computer right there and booked it, but there are many hotels to choose from, and usually the customer is "king". Not at this hotel. So they let us leave for a $20 difference...

So we went down the street to the Hilton and had a great front desk experience, great rate, great room and found us a new hotel!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

After reading some of the reviews, we opted to give this hotel a try. I usually stay at either Anasazi or Inn at Loretto. I will never stay at Eldorado again. Neither will the other guests in my party with our conference. The front desk staff were so unprofessional that if they were my employees, I would fire them on the spot. I asked to speak to the manager and waited 20 minutes. He never showed up. The restaurant in the hotel was supposed to be one of the finest in Santa Fe and it ended up being the worst meal of our 4 night stay. The steaks were tough, the service pitiful, the flatware was dirty, need I say more?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolTrip101, General Manager at Eldorado Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for the problems experienced with the Front Desk staff and for the fact that you waited 20 minutes to see a Manager who did not show up. I would also like to apologize for the problems experienced in the Old House Restaurant. These issues have been shared with management. We hope that you visit us in the future to prove that staying at the Eldorado Hotel & Spa can be an enjoyable experience exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent three nights at the El Dorado. We had a corner room. The room was clean and well appointed. Comforters on the beds. We used the exercise room and it was also clean, the machines all worked, and it wasn't crowded when we were there. We did not eat in the restaurant or use the spa. This hotel is only a couple of blocks off the old Plaza and perfectly situated for walking around the old town. We went to the Santa Fe Opera twice and our shuttle picked us up right at the hotel. The parking is Valet only and $22 per night, which is somewhat expensive, but they were efficient and prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible--puts you at the end of the hall, but is quiet and away from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldorado Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Hotel & Spa

Address: 309 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Eldorado Hotel and Spa, where award-winning luxury and unexpected delights set the stage for an enchanting visit.4 Diamond/4 Star Hotel located steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. Relaxing rooms, some with wood burning fireplaces. Superb cuisine at the Old House Restaurant. Exquisite drinks and fabulous apps at AGAVE Lounge. Ultimate pampering at Nidah Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eldorado Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel And Spa
Eldorado Hotel Santa Fe
Eldorado Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.