We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel..great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
1 review
“nice hotel..great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A nice older hotel, but very well maintained and clean! The thing that really stands out is the service..the staff was incredible.so kind and willing to help or answer any questions. SHAWN the shuttle driver, front desk guy was the best.what a gem! He will do almost anythng to make your trip better!
Breakfast was great for this type of setup. The dining room is quite crowded however. The swimming pool is very tiny.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate that you acknowledged Shawn as he does a great job. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    394
    146
    62
    23
See reviews for
180
340
96
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location...an easy 6 block walk to the Plaza and historic downtown. There is also a free shuttle. There are restaurants, bars and shopping all close by (and Whole Foods is next door). The hotel itself is a little older, but nicely kept with nice grounds. Our room, though not large, was big enough for 2 queen beds with a nightstand between, an armoire with tv, a small desk table, and a chair. It was tastefully decorated with southwest touches. Beds were comfortable, and the room was very clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. When I was researching prices of downtown Santa Fe hotels, the Sage Inn was significantly better priced that the others. I will definitely try to stay here again the next time I am in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: We were in room 248 which was in the middle of the complex...it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad that you chose the Sage Inn for your most recent trip to Santa Fe. I'm glad that the hotel met all of your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We will hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As others have indicated, this is a reasonably priced motor inn about 0.7 miles from downtown Santa Fe. The rooms are somewhat dated, but are clean and quiet. Breakfast is oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, toast/bagels/juice/fruit/waffles - adequate. We found a Whole Foods market about 1/2 a block away, so if you are looking for a light dinner, there is a salad/entre bar a short distance away. There is a shuttle that will drop you off at the plaza.

My only sore point is they will charge you $5/night for parking - this was not shown when I made my reservations. If a hotel is going to charge for parking, you should know when you make the reservation ratehr than nickel - dime you afterwards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your most recent stay with us. We are so glad that you had a nice time while you were here at The Sage Inn. Please note that our parking charges are posted on our website as well as any third party booking site that you may have chosen to book through. Also, if you called in to make the reservation with us directly it is definitely our policy that the guest be told at the time of booking about our parking fee. I certainly apologize if it was not made clear to you at the time you made your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I just want to say that I really thought this was an outstanding place to stay. We came in prior to check-in time and didn't expect to be able to get into a room. The front desk people said no problem and promptly got us into a room. The room was very nicely (and uniquely) decorated. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room was very quiet...leading to a very good night's sleep.

They do charge $5 a night for parking, but provide a free shuttle to the "old" city center. There is no free parking downtown, so this is a real far trade off. If the weather is nice, it is a real nice 15 minute walk.

There is a breakfast provided in the morning which was really nice. Besides the early check-in, we were provided with a late checkout. The people, who operate this hotel are genuinely consumer oriented.

Next door to the Sage Inn is a Whole Foods Market where you can find some snack or meal options instead of eating at the restaurants that are found in the "tourist" area of town.

If you want deal to with a wonderful staff, stay in an inexpensive and extremely clean room, complete with a nice breakfast, this is the place to stay in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The key here is your expectations. If you want a fairly priced [for Santa Fe] hotel that is clean and pleasant, with a small pool, quiet, perfectly satisfactory breakfast, helpful front desk [not concierge] staff, with hourly shuttle service to the Plaza [which is also within a reasonable walkable distance], then you should definitely consider the Santa Fe Sage Inn. I had a perfect stay there. An important element is choice of room. Many rooms have been refurbished but some have not. I wanted quiet so I asked for it. I had a back -of-the-property room on the second floor. There were trees and a park in view as well as hanging backers of flowers ... and humming birds. The room was attractively furnished and served my purposes very well.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room - #252 - back of property facing trees and park. Second floor. No elevator. Far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I chose this hotel for my families 3 night stay because it was very affordable hotel and near the center of Santa Fe. Its walking distance to some great restaurants and galleries. It was very clean and comfortable for my family of 4. I felt it was a successful choice of hotel for sure. The only thing I really did not like was the free breakfast, its really not all that great, actually I feel they could have done a little more with that. The pool is small but clean and nice. I would definitely consider staying here again if I was on a budget and would feel comfortable recommending it others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your most recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend The Santa Fe Sage Inn. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Sage Inn is not right on the main plaza, but it is very close to the center of Santa Fe. It is a motel so you park adjacent to your room which we found very convenient with a good deal of luggage. There is a bare-bones breakfast and good WIFI, but a $5 charge for parking which is strange for a motel. The rates are low enough that it makes little difference. For a single overnight stay this motel is a great choice.

Room Tip: Some rooms are away from the busy road in front of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#30 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.