We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Affordable Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Affordable Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I chose this hotel for my families 3 night stay because it was very affordable hotel and near the center of Santa Fe. Its walking distance to some great restaurants and galleries. It was very clean and comfortable for my family of 4. I felt it was a successful choice of hotel for sure. The only thing I really did not like was the free breakfast, its really not all that great, actually I feel they could have done a little more with that. The pool is small but clean and nice. I would definitely consider staying here again if I was on a budget and would feel comfortable recommending it others!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your most recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend The Santa Fe Sage Inn. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    375
    140
    58
    23
See reviews for
175
321
93
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Sage Inn is not right on the main plaza, but it is very close to the center of Santa Fe. It is a motel so you park adjacent to your room which we found very convenient with a good deal of luggage. There is a bare-bones breakfast and good WIFI, but a $5 charge for parking which is strange for a motel. The rates are low enough that it makes little difference. For a single overnight stay this motel is a great choice.

Room Tip: Some rooms are away from the busy road in front of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We only stopped here the one night but it was just what we needed. The staff were polite and helpful, with a free shuttle into the plaza area.
Our room was spacious and clean, plenty of parking, a small fitness room, pool and laundry area.
This place has a nice feel about it and the breakfast was plentiful.
Would stay again and recommned

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are so glad that you found The Sage Inn and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Clean rooms, exceptionally helpful staff.

Easy to walk to all major Santa Fe attractions. There's also shopping and restaurants in the motel vicinity. A shuttle is available to take you into town if you would rather not walk.

Reasonable rates, small pool,laundry and workout areas. A gem of a motel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so glad that The Sage Inn provided you with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a big fan of Cerrillos Road and the lodgings there, mainly because it's a standard piece of strip highway you can find just about anywhere. Needed a place for one night and wanted to be close to town. Couldn't find anything safe with a reasonable rate. Then a friend suggested this place. I was skeptical because Cerrillos Road has more of a commercial big-city vibe and I wanted a Santa Fe feel.

Turns out I got the SF feel at a pretty reasonable price. The hotel room was perfect. Clean and quiet and decorated in the SF style. Exercise room was just a few doors down and well-maintained. The entire property was in fantastic shape.

I expected breakfast to be just quick muffins, but there was coffee, fresh milk and juice, cereal, even a waffle maker. The breakfast room was quite nice and you could sit outside on a patio if you preferred.

Hotel was about a mile from the plaza area, just a block or so past the Santa Fe hotel and motel, which charge considerably more for rooms. Not a bad walk to town if that's what you prefer. Easy five-min walk to the Railway district, with its great shops and restaurants.

Only reason I wouldn't give the place a five is that they charge a small fee for parking, which to me seems nit-picky and cheap. It's not like the Sage is right near the plaza and folks want to sneak into the hotel lot and park there. They offer a shuttle service but it stops at 8 pm. Anyhow, there's so much cheap parking downtown, I don't really understand why anyone with a car would bother using the shuttle.

I had a great, quick stay. Staff was lovely. Great, reliable internet service. Was able to print out my boarding pass in the charmingly appointed hotel lobby without any problems at all.

I would definitely stay here again for a one night trip. More than one night, I'd consider spending the cash and staying within walking distance of town, but that's just me.

Room Tip: My room was quite near the main road and still quiet and peaceful. Not sure if there is a bad room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are so glad that you followed your friend's recommendation directly to our door. I am glad the Sage Inn was able to accommodate you so well and we appreciate you taking the time to post these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Santa Fe is a terrific place to eat and shop. So why pay up for lodging when most of the downtown attractions are within a mile radius of the plaza? You can't use them up in a day, that's for sure. Grab a room at the Sage Inn on Cerrilos Road. It's right across from the terrific Santa Fe Farmer's Market (Saturdays). The Railyard dining and shopping area is just a little further and the downtown area and wonderful Canyon Road (upscale art shopping) are within a half mile. Sagehouse Bakery and a couple of cozy brewpubs are also just a few blocks. Even better, there's a Whole Foods Market right next to the Sage Inn, so you can stock your room fridge with treats and drinks to have when retreating from the bright days rambling around the area on foot. Heck, you can eat there too -- their lineup of takeout stuff rivals a lot of good restaurants in choice and quality, and they have nice seating areas. The hotel runs a free shuttle to downtown and back if you don't want to walk. I'll deduct a point because they charge $5 a night to park, but the fact is, there's not much easy parking around there. Rooms are just big enough, well appointed and clean, in our experience. Good bed. Good air conditioners. Nice little pool. The free breakfast is bare bones but adequate. If you want a more classic Santa Fe lodging experience, one strategy is to grab 3 nights at Sage Inn then move to one of the cool B&Bs near the plaza, such as Hacienda Nicolas for the other 3. Spend the savings on food and wine, or that unique Southwestern item you'll enjoy when you get home.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are notably quieter; downstairs you can hear people walking above. However, it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly! They had my room ready well before the 4pm check in time which I appreciated considering my boyfriend and I had driven 6 hours to get to town and really just wanted a nap. Location wise - it's a block and a half away from a liquor store and right across the street from the Railyard. It's also less than a mile from downtown; If you don't mind walking that, it doesn't seem like that much of a hike due to the short blocks and the array of interesting sites on the way there. The hotel is also really conveniently located near a Walgreens and highway 25. What I did not like about the room was that it smelled like sweaty feet the entire time we were there. We tried to air it out but to no avail. We also got a surprise the first night after retiring from the day - a giant centipede was crawling on the wall above the TV. Upon checkout today and cleaning the room up, I got the surprise of a lifetime when I moved the bed comforter a bit and saw a GIANT hard shelled Beatle cozying up in it; don't know if it was sleeping with us last night or just made its way onto the comforter as I was getting ready, but it was terrifying nonetheless. On the flip side the breakfast options were pretty sweet: waffle makers, a variety of juices and muffins that were well covered. Overall a decent experience. I loved the location and considering how much I did (or didn't pay) to stay there, not a bad deal

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.