We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was skeptical but loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Was skeptical but loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a big fan of Cerrillos Road and the lodgings there, mainly because it's a standard piece of strip highway you can find just about anywhere. Needed a place for one night and wanted to be close to town. Couldn't find anything safe with a reasonable rate. Then a friend suggested this place. I was skeptical because Cerrillos Road has more of a commercial big-city vibe and I wanted a Santa Fe feel.

Turns out I got the SF feel at a pretty reasonable price. The hotel room was perfect. Clean and quiet and decorated in the SF style. Exercise room was just a few doors down and well-maintained. The entire property was in fantastic shape.

I expected breakfast to be just quick muffins, but there was coffee, fresh milk and juice, cereal, even a waffle maker. The breakfast room was quite nice and you could sit outside on a patio if you preferred.

Hotel was about a mile from the plaza area, just a block or so past the Santa Fe hotel and motel, which charge considerably more for rooms. Not a bad walk to town if that's what you prefer. Easy five-min walk to the Railway district, with its great shops and restaurants.

Only reason I wouldn't give the place a five is that they charge a small fee for parking, which to me seems nit-picky and cheap. It's not like the Sage is right near the plaza and folks want to sneak into the hotel lot and park there. They offer a shuttle service but it stops at 8 pm. Anyhow, there's so much cheap parking downtown, I don't really understand why anyone with a car would bother using the shuttle.

I had a great, quick stay. Staff was lovely. Great, reliable internet service. Was able to print out my boarding pass in the charmingly appointed hotel lobby without any problems at all.

I would definitely stay here again for a one night trip. More than one night, I'd consider spending the cash and staying within walking distance of town, but that's just me.

Room Tip: My room was quite near the main road and still quiet and peaceful. Not sure if there is a bad room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are so glad that you followed your friend's recommendation directly to our door. I am glad the Sage Inn was able to accommodate you so well and we appreciate you taking the time to post these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    366
    135
    58
    23
See reviews for
172
313
89
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Santa Fe is a terrific place to eat and shop. So why pay up for lodging when most of the downtown attractions are within a mile radius of the plaza? You can't use them up in a day, that's for sure. Grab a room at the Sage Inn on Cerrilos Road. It's right across from the terrific Santa Fe Farmer's Market (Saturdays). The Railyard dining and shopping area is just a little further and the downtown area and wonderful Canyon Road (upscale art shopping) are within a half mile. Sagehouse Bakery and a couple of cozy brewpubs are also just a few blocks. Even better, there's a Whole Foods Market right next to the Sage Inn, so you can stock your room fridge with treats and drinks to have when retreating from the bright days rambling around the area on foot. Heck, you can eat there too -- their lineup of takeout stuff rivals a lot of good restaurants in choice and quality, and they have nice seating areas. The hotel runs a free shuttle to downtown and back if you don't want to walk. I'll deduct a point because they charge $5 a night to park, but the fact is, there's not much easy parking around there. Rooms are just big enough, well appointed and clean, in our experience. Good bed. Good air conditioners. Nice little pool. The free breakfast is bare bones but adequate. If you want a more classic Santa Fe lodging experience, one strategy is to grab 3 nights at Sage Inn then move to one of the cool B&Bs near the plaza, such as Hacienda Nicolas for the other 3. Spend the savings on food and wine, or that unique Southwestern item you'll enjoy when you get home.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are notably quieter; downstairs you can hear people walking above. However, it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly! They had my room ready well before the 4pm check in time which I appreciated considering my boyfriend and I had driven 6 hours to get to town and really just wanted a nap. Location wise - it's a block and a half away from a liquor store and right across the street from the Railyard. It's also less than a mile from downtown; If you don't mind walking that, it doesn't seem like that much of a hike due to the short blocks and the array of interesting sites on the way there. The hotel is also really conveniently located near a Walgreens and highway 25. What I did not like about the room was that it smelled like sweaty feet the entire time we were there. We tried to air it out but to no avail. We also got a surprise the first night after retiring from the day - a giant centipede was crawling on the wall above the TV. Upon checkout today and cleaning the room up, I got the surprise of a lifetime when I moved the bed comforter a bit and saw a GIANT hard shelled Beatle cozying up in it; don't know if it was sleeping with us last night or just made its way onto the comforter as I was getting ready, but it was terrifying nonetheless. On the flip side the breakfast options were pretty sweet: waffle makers, a variety of juices and muffins that were well covered. Overall a decent experience. I loved the location and considering how much I did (or didn't pay) to stay there, not a bad deal

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is a good combination of value and location. It is right across the street from a great park and the outdoor market. Also right next door to a whole foods market. It is also walkable distance to the center of town (if you opt against the free town shuttle.) We did not need our car for anything while we were there. Rooms were a bit smaller than we like, and the pool was pretty small. Breakfast was very good with a decent variety of food. Overall the place was clean, quiet and friendly. I will stay here again if I return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a overall good experience, the breakfast bar is lacking, very disappointing actually, access to downtown and whole foods is a higher reason I chose it, hotel gym is good for a hotel, treadmills are life fitness and there are free weight dumbells, need to get a spin bike. Lost and found could use a lot of improvement, called twice and went in once for my forgotten iPhone charger And all 3 times I was made to feel like it was my fault, finally gave up and didn't pursue my charger. Will stay again but will make sure I don't forget anything. You have a good location, hire folks that keep customer service at the pinnacle of their focus, thank you

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family of 4 has stayed at the Santa Fe Sage Inn twice. It is an excellent value. This is not a luxury hotel. It has smallish, quaint, well decorated rooms. The service is excellent and the room was very clean. When we are looking for a quick Santa Fe getaway but are low-budget, this is where we stay. Bonus: VERY close to Whole Foods. Five minute drive to the plaza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We want to thank you for your comments. We are so happy to be able to accommodate you and your family and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Santa Fe Sage Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle to get you to the Plaza area. The location was good but the rooms were a little cramped. The room was clean. My husband and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to know that your stay was everything you needed it to be. We will hope to see you again on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.