We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Savings Strategy for Santa Fe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Motel Savings Strategy for Santa Fe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Santa Fe is a terrific place to eat and shop. So why pay up for lodging when most of the downtown attractions are within a mile radius of the plaza? You can't use them up in a day, that's for sure. Grab a room at the Sage Inn on Cerrilos Road. It's right across from the terrific Santa Fe Farmer's Market (Saturdays). The Railyard dining and shopping area is just a little further and the downtown area and wonderful Canyon Road (upscale art shopping) are within a half mile. Sagehouse Bakery and a couple of cozy brewpubs are also just a few blocks. Even better, there's a Whole Foods Market right next to the Sage Inn, so you can stock your room fridge with treats and drinks to have when retreating from the bright days rambling around the area on foot. Heck, you can eat there too -- their lineup of takeout stuff rivals a lot of good restaurants in choice and quality, and they have nice seating areas. The hotel runs a free shuttle to downtown and back if you don't want to walk. I'll deduct a point because they charge $5 a night to park, but the fact is, there's not much easy parking around there. Rooms are just big enough, well appointed and clean, in our experience. Good bed. Good air conditioners. Nice little pool. The free breakfast is bare bones but adequate. If you want a more classic Santa Fe lodging experience, one strategy is to grab 3 nights at Sage Inn then move to one of the cool B&Bs near the plaza, such as Hacienda Nicolas for the other 3. Spend the savings on food and wine, or that unique Southwestern item you'll enjoy when you get home.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are notably quieter; downstairs you can hear people walking above. However, it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    375
    140
    58
    23
See reviews for
175
321
93
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly! They had my room ready well before the 4pm check in time which I appreciated considering my boyfriend and I had driven 6 hours to get to town and really just wanted a nap. Location wise - it's a block and a half away from a liquor store and right across the street from the Railyard. It's also less than a mile from downtown; If you don't mind walking that, it doesn't seem like that much of a hike due to the short blocks and the array of interesting sites on the way there. The hotel is also really conveniently located near a Walgreens and highway 25. What I did not like about the room was that it smelled like sweaty feet the entire time we were there. We tried to air it out but to no avail. We also got a surprise the first night after retiring from the day - a giant centipede was crawling on the wall above the TV. Upon checkout today and cleaning the room up, I got the surprise of a lifetime when I moved the bed comforter a bit and saw a GIANT hard shelled Beatle cozying up in it; don't know if it was sleeping with us last night or just made its way onto the comforter as I was getting ready, but it was terrifying nonetheless. On the flip side the breakfast options were pretty sweet: waffle makers, a variety of juices and muffins that were well covered. Overall a decent experience. I loved the location and considering how much I did (or didn't pay) to stay there, not a bad deal

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is a good combination of value and location. It is right across the street from a great park and the outdoor market. Also right next door to a whole foods market. It is also walkable distance to the center of town (if you opt against the free town shuttle.) We did not need our car for anything while we were there. Rooms were a bit smaller than we like, and the pool was pretty small. Breakfast was very good with a decent variety of food. Overall the place was clean, quiet and friendly. I will stay here again if I return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a overall good experience, the breakfast bar is lacking, very disappointing actually, access to downtown and whole foods is a higher reason I chose it, hotel gym is good for a hotel, treadmills are life fitness and there are free weight dumbells, need to get a spin bike. Lost and found could use a lot of improvement, called twice and went in once for my forgotten iPhone charger And all 3 times I was made to feel like it was my fault, finally gave up and didn't pursue my charger. Will stay again but will make sure I don't forget anything. You have a good location, hire folks that keep customer service at the pinnacle of their focus, thank you

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family of 4 has stayed at the Santa Fe Sage Inn twice. It is an excellent value. This is not a luxury hotel. It has smallish, quaint, well decorated rooms. The service is excellent and the room was very clean. When we are looking for a quick Santa Fe getaway but are low-budget, this is where we stay. Bonus: VERY close to Whole Foods. Five minute drive to the plaza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We want to thank you for your comments. We are so happy to be able to accommodate you and your family and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Santa Fe Sage Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle to get you to the Plaza area. The location was good but the rooms were a little cramped. The room was clean. My husband and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to know that your stay was everything you needed it to be. We will hope to see you again on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for vacation. I loved the location because it was just a block away from the Railyard which has the Farmer's market and local artists display. If you are a walker, it is an easy walk to the square with good restaurants along the way. (1 mile) There is an hourly shuttle if you are not a walker. The rooms are not large, similar to average European room sizes, but are clean and the beds are excellent. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because the continental breakfast is a bit of a miss. While I didn't expect a gourmet buffet, especially for the price, I do expect continental breakfast to always have coffee available, milk for the cereal and utensils. There were either staffing/training issues or just not up to snuff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid being right outside the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.