We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel with reasonable prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Need a Santa Fe Getaway?
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cute hotel with reasonable prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The outside isn't much to look at, but the decor in the rooms is super cute! From the teal mirror, to the metal details under the sink, to the Navajo bedspreads, to the antique-looking armoire, this place is worth a try. There is a shuttle to and from the square.

It's not as chic as Inn of the Governors, and the breakfast definitely isn't up to their standards, but you're also not paying as much, which may be worth it in the end!

Cute. Cheap. Sant Fe chic.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so glad that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated our décor. We will hope to see you again at The Santa Fe Sage Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    350
    129
    59
    22
See reviews for
169
296
91
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I love the old time hospitality the staff provides. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The complimentary shuttle service to the old Plaza makes access to areas of interest, so easy. ...and the price? ...well, it's much less then one would expect in Santa Fe, and they have a pool!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is so nice to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have the opportunity to come back to The Santa Fe Sage Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were staying at the Sage Inn for the Santa Fe Century bike ride and received a special rate for the event. Rooms were comfortable, clean, bit aged. Some rooms had flat screen televisions, mine was one of the old bulky type with very poor picture quality. Shower head leaked a little. Location is within short walk 15 minutes and they have a free shuttle that runs to/from hotel to downtown square. Breakfast was fine although on the day of the ride we ask if they might open a little earlier than the usual 7:00AM, perhaps 6:30PM and they said no.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are noisy with footsteps heard easily from up stairs room so would recommend 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

All of the basics were covered and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

As a business traveler I was very disappointed by the lack of wifi coverage. It was consistently spotty and weak and I was not able to work at all from the hotel. I found it very frustrating that they advertised free wifi and had such consistently poor service. I checked with the desk to see if it was an anomaly or normally that way. I was told that this was normal and that a lot of guests complain about it. Apparently nothing is going to be done going forward, so be warned.

Also know that the breakfast is a sugar and carbohydrate feast. Nothing there but fruit and cold hard boiled eggs if you are gluten sensitive or watching your sugar intake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We found the location, cleanliness, and comfort standard to be quite satisfactory. I was surprised that the towels appeared rather thread bare. The location is a comfortable walk to the Plaza as well as the Georgia O'keeffe Museum. Our stay was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast is quite good with fresh fruit, and healthy choices.The folks at the front desk could be more service oriented when answering questions. There is a large parking lot, but I felt the inn was nickel and diming when they charge $5 for parking, overall experience positive.

Room Tip: Consider the second floor as someone over us did have heavy feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Sage Inn during our first visit to Santa Fe in May of 2014. We were there for 2 nights. The check in process was efficient and the two young gentlemen at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. Be aware, that there is a charge to park your vehicle at the Sage Inn each night, as parking in the downtown area of Santa Fe is at a premium. We were on motorcycles, which we parked in one space, so we were only charged for one vehicle. You may want to negotiate this charge when you make your reservations. The room is nicely decorated in a Southwest/Santa Fe mode, with punched tin accents throughout. The bed is comfortable and clean and there are a ton of pillows. There is a fridge and microwave, but the room is a bit small. There is a large cowhide chair and ottoman pushed into the corner which is where we deposited our luggage due to lack of space. There is a convenient shuttle to downtown Santa Fe, driven by a very informative and helpful young man. He also will recommend restaurants and points of interest, if you ask. The true "star" of this review is the city of Santa Fe. There is so much to see and tons of history to discover. Allow at least 2 full days to walk the town to get the flavor of Santa Fe. The Sage Inn is in a great location, and the shuttle is a bonus. There's also a Whole Foods Supermarket right next door to the hotel, where we were able to get dinner each night. The hotel offers a continental breakfast each morning, which is standard fare - but the room gets pretty crowded, and the tables are arranged in a very tight pattern, so choose one of the outlying tables, or go into the separate room at the back, if you need more space. I felt that the motel was a bit pricey, but this is Santa Fe and probably to be expected. If we return to Santa Fe, we may stay here again.

Room Tip: Due to excessive traffic at the front of the hotel, it is best to leave the hotel through the back e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Might return here, but only by booking a second floor room - the plumbing is unbelievably noisy and, of course, you'll be awakened between 4 & 5 AM as people begin their day. Nice location to the Plaza - everything w/in walking distance-so good value in that respect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.