We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Need a Santa Fe Getaway?
Ranked #23 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The rooms are nicely decorated. Parking is a little tight, but without problems. At night, our room was silent. The fan/ac was very quiet. The beds are firm and good. Rooms are a little tight too, but comfortable. Breakfast was skipped because the room was crowded and selection small. Location is very close to downtown plaza. No complaints. It was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do want to apologize for the fact that you were unable to have breakfast with us. For your next stay please know that we have an additional room for breakfast if the main dining room is full. Also, we have recently upgraded our breakfast selection to include make your own waffles and hot oatmeal as well as cereals, yogurts, fruits and breads. Again we thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    337
    127
    59
    22
See reviews for
165
290
89
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Kansas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After spending many years at the Lodge overlooking the city, because it was closer to our son's apartment, we finally gave up and booked with the Sage Inn. The Lodge had a wonderful staff but whoever owns the complex just doesn't seem to be putting into it what we expect. Internet access was next to none, no matter where I tried, the breakfast was fine but very limited on choices and the wait is long, and don't try staying there on a weekend with their nightlife activities. If you go out for the evening, you'll have to park far from your room's location and usually in darker parking lot locations. The Sage, at our son's suggestion, proved to be what we've been looking for. I can't say the internet access was that good, but I was on and active unlike so many attempts at the Lodge. Our only pet peeve at the Sage was the size of the furniture. The furniture made for a tighter feel, in an otherwise very clean and comfortable room. We liked how the hotel provided parking lot security after dark. This really provided an added element of safety for us. You do have to pay $5 a day for parking, but this was well worth the cost, and we were never stuck in a DARK out of the way location. Our favorite thing about the Sage was it's location within walking distance of the Santa Fe rail yards, the Second Street Brewery at the rail yard, and Tomasita's Mexican Restaurant. Plus, how could I forget an easy walk to the Cowgirl BBQ and Hall of Fame? They are only six blocks from the Plaza, but they still offer a free shuttle to take you around. With Santa Fe being our destination every July, since 2000, we didn't feel the need for the shuttle but might have given it a try, if had been staying longer. Our preference is to get out and walk, which makes the Sage so convenient. We were also so surprised to have a normal continental type breakfast available in a decent sized dining room with plenty of choices to help start off each day. We will definitely return to the Sage. I'll be the first to admit that every hotel/motel has it's headaches occasionally, but at least the Sage did not disappoint us. Not one little bit.

Room Tip: We've only stayed there once, but we enjoyed the second floor overlooking the parking lot and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time time to post such a positive review. I am so glad your son recommended us and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope you have found your new home away from home at The Santa Fe Sage Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a large motel within brief walking distance from downtown, the Farmer's Market, and other attractions. The rooms are clean and large enough, if not expansive. The rates are quite good, especially for Santa Fe. Parking is a little tight, so try to arrive before the late afternoon check-ins if you want to be near your room. Probably the best of the many motels along Cerrillos Road near downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Sage Inn. It was very convenient to the plaza area and across the art market on Saturday morning. Our room was quiet and the breakfast was good (I always like the make-your-own waffles). You can walk to the Plaza or take the shuttle, which runs once-an-hour. Overall, a good value and we would definitely stay at the Sage Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so glad to see that you had a great stay at The Santa Fe Sage Inn. We will look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My Daughter and I wanted to stay near the plaza without spending a lot of money. We just stumbled upon the Sage Inn by accident. Found it to be neat and clean, the room adequate in size. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The building itself reminded me of a Holiday Inn from the 1960's, and so gave me a nostalgic feeling from my childhood. I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so glad you found the Santa Fe Sage Inn. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the recommendation and will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista , Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went to Santa Fe for Zozobra and chose to stay a bit off the plaza to save a little bit of money. I was satisfied with the reviews for the Sage Inn on this site and decide to give them a try. The rates were very reasonable considering it was the Zozobra celebration, which is a big draw for this city. We were very satisfied with our king bed and the size of the room. It wasn't a huge room, but it had everything we needed. A comfortable bed, a flat screen tv, and a functioning ac. The hotel also had a shuttle to take patrons to the plaza. We were also very close to a couple of very good restaurants.

After the burning of Zozobra we did have to walk back to the hotel, however it only took us about 20 minutes from the plaza. Not bad at all and the weather was Great. In the morning we had some excellent coffee and there was a small choice of fruits and pastries and eggs. The thing about Santa Fe is that there are so many fabulous restaurants, so the hotels selection was just right to hold us over until we decided where we wanted to go for breakfast. However I think there was enough of a selection to satisfy anyone who didn't want to go out or breakfast.

I only have one complaint. Check out was at 11am but at 845am housekeeping was knocking on the door to see if we had left! It was my husbands chance to sleep in as the grandparents were taking care of our baby for the night down in Albuquerque. Unfortunately because of the impatience of housekeeping he was unable to do so. The front desk was very apologetic and said they would address it. Obviously it wasn't too big of a deal to not leave them a great review.

Very nice staff, good rooms, and a nice free breakfast. We will stay here again. But we will be sure to put the do not disturb on the door!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you had the chance to stay with us and got to see Zozobra. I do apologize for the fact that housekeeping was a little over zealous in wanting to clean your room so early. this is something that has been discussed with our head housekeepers. Please remember us for your next trip to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

When we take family members to Santa Fe, we appreciate the budget prices and comfortable rooms at the Sage Inn. The inn was sold out and a bit crowded over Labor Day weekend but that was true of the entire town, so we were glad we had made advance reservations. We took advantage of their free shuttle to head to the Plaza for lunch at Tia Sophia's and for wandering through the Fiesta Fine Arts and Crafts Market. The Sage Inn was ideally located since we could walk 2 blocks to the Saturday Farmers' Market and the adjoining Santa Fe Artists Market at the Railyard. We walked across the street from the inn late Saturday afternoon to the Railyard Park where our granddaughters enjoyed the inflatable jumpers that were part of the Boys & Girls Clubs Family Fun Fair & Zozofest. We all enjoyed the many musicians who performed that day. The inn was also convenient for us to walk with our grandchildren to the Cowgirl BBQ for Sunday lunch and music by Zenobia. With so many people staying at the inn, the breakfast room was crowded so we took our food out onto the shaded patio. Our room was very clean and the lobby staff were all friendly and helpful. Our one disappointment was having an air conditioner that didn't cool the room and kept shutting off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Fe Sage Inn. I would like to apologize that the AC did not seem to be working correctly. I will make sure that our maintenance team is aware of that problem. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a “Healthy Start” breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, parking, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.