We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

second floor was quiet and comfortable, slept well. Room was clean, no complaints about the room. Breakfast was good, fruit wasn't always available, no big deal, waffles, cereal, yogurt coffee, oatmeal, lots to choose from. Parking places are small but tolerable, always found a convenient spot.
The only drawback, all staff needs access to fax machine, why do I need to wait for dayshift to show up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    377
    140
    58
    23
See reviews for
175
322
94
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A few miles from downtown Santa Fe, but fairly convenient if your looking for a less expensive alternative to the downtown area. The room we stayed in did need a little refreshing though. The carpet was buckled in places and had spots that needed cleaning. The sofa had stains on it. Our room faced the main road and was a little noisy the first night, but you get used to it after that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When will I learn not to stay in a hotel if I haven't checked Trip Advisor first. While visiting Santa Fe on business, I stayed at the Sage Inn. It really should be called the Sage Motel because the condition its in. Before I launch into the negatives, the positives are the hotel shuttle to the Plaza and the close proximity to the Rail Runner train that goes to Albuquerque for a very reasonable fare. The Inn also offers a continental breakfast and employees are very courteous.

Now for the list of negatives... Dingy sheets, very old furniture, questionable cleaning (housekeeper didn't clean sink first night), hard bed and chairs, room keys that sometimes work and sometimes doesn't, and no elevator and unsafe and uneven walk ways. The Sage Inn wasn't what I was expecting at all. Visitors to Santa Fe beware and think about choosing a different place to stay unless you don't care about certain amenities and standards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights the week of 5/20. The rooms are kind of dark, but clean and comfortable. It's about a ten-minute walk to the historic area and square. While I would have preferred being closer to the square, the price to stay at the Sage was worth the extra walking we did. They also have a shuttle that runs every hour to take guests to the historic area. I appreciated the fact that they had a laundromat on site, and we even took advantage of their pool (it's small, but clean).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Santa Fe Sage Inn. It is always nice to hear from our guests. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs during your most recent trip to Santa Fe. We have now completed the renovation of our pool area so that there is much more space for our guests to relax and enjoy. We hope you will think of The Sage Inn on a future trip to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights in 5/13. $90/two people, plus tax. Looks like 2-3 small motels, combined into one fairly large motel, then renovated with new lobby building and dining area for breakfast. Generally looks good and tastefully appointed for a slightly upgraded but nonetheless, motel. Quiet and clean rooms. Functional with okay appointments, but nothing great. Breakfast was entirely acceptable with a large eating area, but if the hotel is busy, the eating area is not big enough for the crowds it can draw in the morning. Apparently a favorite for the tour groups as a tour bus disgorged its hordes while we were there. Without being rude, it looked a little funny to see 40 or so people each trekking through the parking lot towing their respective luggage behind them.

Not too far from the The Plaza, but definitely not walking distance, so it lacks the convenience of the much more expensive downtown hotels, but less than 1/2 the price.

We would stay there again if returning to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that The Santa Fe Sage Inn was a good choice for you. To address your concerns about our breakfast space I wanted to let you know that we can and often do open our meeting room and outdoor patio area for dining on our busier mornings. I apologize if that did not happen as needed during your stay. Also, while some guests do find the plaza too far to walk others find it too be a lovely stroll through the Rail Yard District and then into downtown. But as you know we happily offer our shuttle for all of our guests. I hope you will consider The Santa Fe Sage Inn again when you are planning you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here passing through on a road trip through Arizona, Colorado and New Mexico. We had an upstairs room in the back of the property for two adults and three kids -- one a baby. We had requested a roll-away crib and it was already in the room for us when we arrived which I really appreciated.

I think if you know what to expect, the Sage Inn completely meets expectations. It is basically a remodeled Travelodge with older, smallish rooms, but it's in a good location with free breakfast and free parking (in our experience -- I see that some people were charged a small fee). Everything was very clean and staff was helpful and professional.

We hadn't been to Santa Fe before and wanted to see the area before we got back on the road. We were able to walk to the downtown historic area with the kids and the stroller, and then walked back to the hotel and got back on the road at midday. We didn't use the television but the Internet connection was fine. For $100 a night close to downtown Santa Fe, the Sage Inn was a good fit for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that The Santa Fe Sage Inn was able to supply you with convenience and sincere hospitality. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not much to compliment here. Rooms generally clean but tv's are from the 1970's and reception even worse. Breakfast not worth much. Did not even have yogurt or editable fruit. Good location although a long walk to historic area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am truly sorry that you felt your experience was only average. While we are in the midst of upgrading to flat screen televisions, the ones we currently have in the rooms are color tv's with remote controls. Our maintenance department would have been happy to help you with any reception issues and I know that a quick call to the front desk would have helped to solve that problem. Also, we serve two different kinds of yogurt with our complimentary breakfast and we supply fresh fruit and apples throughout the day. Again, I am sorry you were unable to come across these, as breakfast is served in our breakfast room daily from 7am-10am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.