We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for the value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Need a Santa Fe Getaway?
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for the value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights the week of 5/20. The rooms are kind of dark, but clean and comfortable. It's about a ten-minute walk to the historic area and square. While I would have preferred being closer to the square, the price to stay at the Sage was worth the extra walking we did. They also have a shuttle that runs every hour to take guests to the historic area. I appreciated the fact that they had a laundromat on site, and we even took advantage of their pool (it's small, but clean).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Santa Fe Sage Inn. It is always nice to hear from our guests. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs during your most recent trip to Santa Fe. We have now completed the renovation of our pool area so that there is much more space for our guests to relax and enjoy. We hope you will think of The Sage Inn on a future trip to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    348
    129
    59
    22
See reviews for
169
295
90
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights in 5/13. $90/two people, plus tax. Looks like 2-3 small motels, combined into one fairly large motel, then renovated with new lobby building and dining area for breakfast. Generally looks good and tastefully appointed for a slightly upgraded but nonetheless, motel. Quiet and clean rooms. Functional with okay appointments, but nothing great. Breakfast was entirely acceptable with a large eating area, but if the hotel is busy, the eating area is not big enough for the crowds it can draw in the morning. Apparently a favorite for the tour groups as a tour bus disgorged its hordes while we were there. Without being rude, it looked a little funny to see 40 or so people each trekking through the parking lot towing their respective luggage behind them.

Not too far from the The Plaza, but definitely not walking distance, so it lacks the convenience of the much more expensive downtown hotels, but less than 1/2 the price.

We would stay there again if returning to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that The Santa Fe Sage Inn was a good choice for you. To address your concerns about our breakfast space I wanted to let you know that we can and often do open our meeting room and outdoor patio area for dining on our busier mornings. I apologize if that did not happen as needed during your stay. Also, while some guests do find the plaza too far to walk others find it too be a lovely stroll through the Rail Yard District and then into downtown. But as you know we happily offer our shuttle for all of our guests. I hope you will consider The Santa Fe Sage Inn again when you are planning you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here passing through on a road trip through Arizona, Colorado and New Mexico. We had an upstairs room in the back of the property for two adults and three kids -- one a baby. We had requested a roll-away crib and it was already in the room for us when we arrived which I really appreciated.

I think if you know what to expect, the Sage Inn completely meets expectations. It is basically a remodeled Travelodge with older, smallish rooms, but it's in a good location with free breakfast and free parking (in our experience -- I see that some people were charged a small fee). Everything was very clean and staff was helpful and professional.

We hadn't been to Santa Fe before and wanted to see the area before we got back on the road. We were able to walk to the downtown historic area with the kids and the stroller, and then walked back to the hotel and got back on the road at midday. We didn't use the television but the Internet connection was fine. For $100 a night close to downtown Santa Fe, the Sage Inn was a good fit for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that The Santa Fe Sage Inn was able to supply you with convenience and sincere hospitality. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not much to compliment here. Rooms generally clean but tv's are from the 1970's and reception even worse. Breakfast not worth much. Did not even have yogurt or editable fruit. Good location although a long walk to historic area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am truly sorry that you felt your experience was only average. While we are in the midst of upgrading to flat screen televisions, the ones we currently have in the rooms are color tv's with remote controls. Our maintenance department would have been happy to help you with any reception issues and I know that a quick call to the front desk would have helped to solve that problem. Also, we serve two different kinds of yogurt with our complimentary breakfast and we supply fresh fruit and apples throughout the day. Again, I am sorry you were unable to come across these, as breakfast is served in our breakfast room daily from 7am-10am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Santa Fe's single night accommodations are difficult to find! The Sage Inn is a good single night stop. Popular with the older crowd (love that...it stays quiet!), the Sage Inn boasts pet friendly rooms, with simple amenities. BEST deal is that the property is right next door to a FULL service Whole Foods and there is a lovely park right across the street! When arriving late, just for a quick rest, this will do just fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had a comfortable, very clean and good-sized room decorated in Santa Fe style. Coffee maker with daily supply of regular and decaf coffee. An opening window was a nice alternative to using the available air conditioning. Very friendly and efficient staff; on request, they changed my room for one with more natural light. They also extended my stay and honoured the discounted rate used for my original booking. I was travelling without a car and could walk to the plaza in 15 to 20 minutes, jump on a local bus, or take the hotel shuttle. Inexpensive meals are available at the Whole Foods Market next door and the Saturday Farmers and Artisans Market is held across the road in the Railyards. Two computers and a printer are available for guest use in the lobby.

Room Tip: I had an upstairs room in Block D which faced east and had a view of the mountains. Block D is farth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so happy that you found The Santa Fe Sage Inn and that we were able to meet all of your needs. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Front desk was very helpful and the free shuttle to downtown came in handy. Free breakfast was decent and the room, although small, was clean. The layout of the hotel and parking was a little strange.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.