We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value not far from plaza.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value not far from plaza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Arrived in Santa Fe before noon and took a chance on an early check in. Staff were very accommodating and we were in the room we requested online in five minutes. Hotel has an hourly shuttle to the plaza but it was eight blocks and an easy route down Guadalupe to San Francisco. The room was small but had everything needed for a nice stay - clean and comfortable king size bed with flat screen tv and clean bathroom. Lovely NM decor was a nice added touch. Workers were preparing the site for some type of renovation or repair so the parking places were blocked when we returned from the Plaza. As it started to rain and the car was frozen in the morning this was cause for less than five stars. Lovely lobby area with simple breakfast provided. Snacks and drinks for sale. Pool was open but it was cold outside so we didn't try it out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the D building which was the furthest from the two main streets and therefore very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    390
    145
    61
    23
See reviews for
177
334
97
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Santa Fe Sage Inn truly is our home away from home, with a delightful SW ambience; great service, friendly people, and the sweet welcoming, as we always come with our dog....given a nicely wrapped gift box...with a neat "doggie" cookie/treat...We greatly appreciate the small park, just behind the motel, where we can walk our dog...equally wonderful is the fact that Whole Foods is right next door...King size bed, so comfortable, with nice bedding, extra pillows.
EQUALLY wonderful is the fair pricing per night...although a newly instated "parking fee", was a surprise. We look forward to many more visits to Santa Fe Sage Inn.

Room Tip: King size bed is a very nice luxury.....bedding, many pillows a delight...The occasionally chair, pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for posting such a great review. I am so glad that you can count on The Sage Inn to be your place to stay in Santa Fe. It is also very nice to hear that your dog enjoys the wonderful treats provided to us by Zoe and Guidos Pet Boutique. We will look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I chose this hotel as it is a dog friendly property ($15 pet fee) and I obtained a great deal by purchasing a groupon. The front desk staff at check in was very efficient and offered us an upper room (we prefer those for quiet) even though pets are not normally allowed on the upper floor. I appreciated this but the room itself was a bit disappointing. It was very small and the drawer on the small desk was crooked, most of the furniture appeared worn and the television was outdated (analog). We had to get creative to keep the door to the television armoir open as it kept closing. The location is great, we walked to the Plaza and there is a small park right next door which is perfect for walking fido. Continental breakfast is included although it was pretty standard. For the price this was a good place to stay close to the plaza but I'm not sure I'd visit again without a groupon deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Cerrillos road as it is busy and quite noisy. If you're travelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am glad that we aware able to accommodate your early check-in request and your need for a pet friendly room. I do have to apologize for the fact that your room seemed somewhat outdated. We are currently working to replace the old televisions and furniture packages and we will have a majority of our rooms upgraded within a few weeks time. This will include flat screen televisions and new bedding and furniture. We are so excited to see these improvements to the hotel and we know our new and returning guests will greatly appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The inn is very reasonably priced, and includes a nice breakfast. It is a short walk to the center of town, and also offers a free shuttle. The rooms are very small (I had a "deluxe" room with a little fridge. When you open the cabinet where the fridge is stored it hits the bed...) but attractive and adequate. However, I never got a consistent Internet connection throughout my stay. The front desk personnel tried to help but to no avail. Had I known that I'm not sure I would have stayed there, since the connection was essential to me.

Room Tip: 105 did not get consistent Internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was staying alone, but meeting friends in Santa Fe. I needed a place that would make me feel comfortable, but more importantly, safe. The friends were staying elsewhere. I could not have picked a nicer, friendlier place than the Santa Fe Sage Inn. The room was big enough for me, clean and on the first floor. The staff was the nicest and were there to help and serve their guests. My friends even commented on how friendly the front desk folks were, as theres were not.
There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel right into the center of town that only runs until 7pm Sund. thru Thurs. On Fri. & Sat. it runs until 9pm I only wish this would have run a littler later; I don't know if the hours change during high tourist season.
There were even 2 computers in the lobby for hotel guest use--at no extra cost. How convenient is that when one is not traveliing with a laptop, iPad or SmartPhone!
The breakfast buffet had something for everyone, except for any type of cooked eggs; there were, however, hard boiled eggs available.
I would most definitely not only stay here again, but would highly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The upper floors might have been a little quieter, but my room was on the first floor and it was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the compliments on our staff and it is great to know The Sage Inn was the right fit for you. We will look forward to your next stay with us and we will hope your friends will join you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Co. USA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Sage Inn is in a great location, quite a large motel type model, with a very nice staff. The fella Shawn who drives the bus for you into the Plaza area is very good, I hope they take care of him well 'cause he's definitely an asset. Atleast get him a heavier fleece, Come On !??!
So value here is the key, you aren't really expected to pay Santa Fe prices, yet you're there, and close enough to wander downtown, or out the door to dance at Tiny's, or for a wonderful dinner at Tomasita's, if you're new to Santa Fe and welcome a deal, you owe it to yourself to investigate this place.
Cheers, Salida1048

Room Tip: we asked and got a quite room nearer to the back of their property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Santa Fe Sage Inn based on the reviews here. We were not disappointed! If you're looking for luxury, this isn't place; if you're looking for helpful, kind, and great service, this is the place! We were very impressed with the front desks hospitality, and we were even more impressed with our van/shuttle driver's over abundance of quality information and friendly demeanor. He was GREAT!

This is a great place for families with small children. The van to the Plaza was incredibly helpful, and you can walk to Tomasitas (a good restaurant) and the Saturday morning Farmer's Market in the old train depot.

Like I said, the rooms aren't luxurious, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and we'll definitely stay here again when we come back to Santa Fe!

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#31 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.