We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe, First Time Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Santa Fe, First Time Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was staying alone, but meeting friends in Santa Fe. I needed a place that would make me feel comfortable, but more importantly, safe. The friends were staying elsewhere. I could not have picked a nicer, friendlier place than the Santa Fe Sage Inn. The room was big enough for me, clean and on the first floor. The staff was the nicest and were there to help and serve their guests. My friends even commented on how friendly the front desk folks were, as theres were not.
There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel right into the center of town that only runs until 7pm Sund. thru Thurs. On Fri. & Sat. it runs until 9pm I only wish this would have run a littler later; I don't know if the hours change during high tourist season.
There were even 2 computers in the lobby for hotel guest use--at no extra cost. How convenient is that when one is not traveliing with a laptop, iPad or SmartPhone!
The breakfast buffet had something for everyone, except for any type of cooked eggs; there were, however, hard boiled eggs available.
I would most definitely not only stay here again, but would highly recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The upper floors might have been a little quieter, but my room was on the first floor and it was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bokunhandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the compliments on our staff and it is great to know The Sage Inn was the right fit for you. We will look forward to your next stay with us and we will hope your friends will join you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salida, Co. USA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Sage Inn is in a great location, quite a large motel type model, with a very nice staff. The fella Shawn who drives the bus for you into the Plaza area is very good, I hope they take care of him well 'cause he's definitely an asset. Atleast get him a heavier fleece, Come On !??!
So value here is the key, you aren't really expected to pay Santa Fe prices, yet you're there, and close enough to wander downtown, or out the door to dance at Tiny's, or for a wonderful dinner at Tomasita's, if you're new to Santa Fe and welcome a deal, you owe it to yourself to investigate this place.
Cheers, Salida1048

Room Tip: we asked and got a quite room nearer to the back of their property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Santa Fe Sage Inn based on the reviews here. We were not disappointed! If you're looking for luxury, this isn't place; if you're looking for helpful, kind, and great service, this is the place! We were very impressed with the front desks hospitality, and we were even more impressed with our van/shuttle driver's over abundance of quality information and friendly demeanor. He was GREAT!

This is a great place for families with small children. The van to the Plaza was incredibly helpful, and you can walk to Tomasitas (a good restaurant) and the Saturday morning Farmer's Market in the old train depot.

Like I said, the rooms aren't luxurious, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and we'll definitely stay here again when we come back to Santa Fe!

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cluke27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I needed a home-away-from-home that was close to everything in Santa Fe a week. What a warm, welcoming place this is! I needed a comfortable bed to rest and relax and it was more than I'd imagined. Every inch of the room was clean and the little extras of quality soaps, lotions and hair care were nourishing and nurturing. Who'd a thought? in a place that is so modestly priced. I love it. Because it's located next to Whole Foods, I'd planned to walk over to get a morning coffee - but the coffee that the Sage Inn serves with their breakfast once again exceeded my expectations so instead with cup in hand crossed the street and enjoyed the Railyard Park in the morning light. Great start, great day, great stay.

Room Tip: Just let them know what you want - they seem more than happy to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

When planning a return trip to Santa Fe, it was a not even a question of where we would stay. Traveling with my 80 year old father and adult daughter, the Santa Fe Inn worked so well for us on our last visit 3 years ago. The location is perfect for the guest that just wants a place for a good nights stay and convenient location for daily adventures. It is close to the Plaza, to our favorite restaurant;Tomasita's, and many other shops and restaurants. The daily breakfast is a perfect way to start the day; a nice place to meet up in the AM as each one of us arises at different times. Whole Foods store next door is a great place to grab munches or a picnic lunch.
Since our stay 3 years ago, I have noticed some cut backs. There was a $5/day parking charge. Honestly, just add the $5 on to the bill rather than having it an extra. The newspapers were no longer free in the lobby. Customers used to read the paper, then leave it for others. There was a vending machine to purchase the paper if needed. The rooms were a bit "tired". They need to be refreshed.
All in all, it is a good deal, but I have noticed a decline in the ambiance. To the Sage Inn: Take care of the updates because you do have a good thing going.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annexoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for returning to The Santa Fe Sage Inn. We especially appreciate hearing from our repeat guests. I wanted to let you know that we are currently making every effort to increase the quality of our rooms. We have already upgraded many of our rooms by changing the furniture package, and the bedding and installing flat screen televisions and refrigerators. I would love for you and your family to have the opportunity to stay in one of these rooms on your next visit. Please contact me directly the next time you wish to book with us so that we can make the proper accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had to stay in Santa Fe overnight as my husband had a meeting there. Santa Fe is typically quite expensive, but we had a coupon. Making the reservation was easy and staff was very nice about accepting the coupon. I also needed a handicap room and had two large dogs. No problem. Upon arrival the front desk staff was very helpful. We were tired and cranky and needed to eat. They recommended several nearby restaurants. ( We opted for La Choza which was virtually across the street and wonderful.) Rooms are clean although a bit small (perhaps the Golden Retrievers in the room contributed to that perception) and nicely decorated in Southwest style. It is on a main road but somehow it was quiet. Parking is plentiful. There was a handicap parking space right in front of our room. Perfect! Breakfast is complimentary and there are several options. For those with pets, there is a park right behind the property with doggy poo bags. This worked out perfect for us. We will absolutely stay here again. I cannot say enough about how great the staff is here. Even the maintenance guy smiled and said hello.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building C which was in back. Very quiet and park right behind that building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austriangypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I wanted to take the time to thank you for posting such and kind review. It is always so nice for our staff to be recognized for all they do for our guests. I am glad The Santa Fe Sage Inn had everything you needed to make your stay that much more enjoyable. We will look forward to seeing you and your canine friends again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed on our way home to MT from wintering in AZ. Customer service was great, clean well taken care of, not new but you can see that they maintain things.
Got here early from Albuquerque and was surprised in the change in temps and needed to change into warmer clothes. Didn't know if we would be able to check in since it was so early but they were very accommodating which was wonderful. They have a shuttle that takes you to Old Town but it was nice and sunny so we walked it is a good walk and lots to see. We did catch the shuttle for the ride back as there is quite a bit of walking around the plaza.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable would stay here again if in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onebigbad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Santa Fe Sage Inn for your most recent stay in our state capitol. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the accommodations met all of your needs. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service so we really appreciate your kind comments. We will hope to see you again the next time you are passing through town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Rey Inn
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing