We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step up from your regular motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Need a Santa Fe Getaway?
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A step up from your regular motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, as part of a longer road trip through New Mexico. Disclaimer: our stay was free, but the opinions stated here are my own.

The king bed room is a good size, my parents stayed in one of those (they paid for their room). We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, which was a bit tight (rooms are the same size, which is good for 1 king bed but ends up being tight with 2 queen beds). I like how the decor has a bit more personality than the other hotel chains, incorporating some of the local flair. The rooms we stayed in were in the A building, and had new furniture. There were 2 beds, one nightstand, one dresser, a desk with chair, an armchair, a small open closet. Room was clean, beds were comfy, bathroom was decent and had some amenities (shampoo, lotion and soap, makeup remover towelettes). There was only space for 1 of our bags in the small closet next to the sink, so I had to get the kids' clothes out of their bag into the dresser, no room for it.

Location is pretty good, walking distance from the Plaza, but they offer a shuttle service every hour if you don't want to walk or drive there. We drove because we were there with the kids who are little and I wanted them in car seats, but parking is a pain and I recommend you walk or use the shuttle if you can. Whole Foods is next door, and there is a great little restaurant called Vinaigrette a block down (wonderful salads, we had lunch there twice).

Free wi-fi worked well, breakfast was pretty standard - bagels, muffins, make your own waffle, oatmeal, toast, some fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt. We also used the coin laundry as we were in the middle of the trip and had some of the kid's clothes to wash. We got some detergent and dryer sheets at Whole Foods next door that were better quality than what they had available. No safe in the rooms, so we had to use one at the front desk.

Staff was very friendly and provided maps and list of recommended restaurants in the area, gave good tips about places to visit and routes. I requested more towels (as we were 4 people and only had 3 towels) and the housekeeping promptly delivered them.

If you are looking for a hotel in this price range in Santa Fe, the Sage Inn is a good choice, even better if you can stay in the room with a King Bed.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the new furniture and the king bed, which are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you. We will hope to see you again on a return trip to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    335
    126
    59
    23
See reviews for
164
287
89
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nothing is that far in Santa Fe. They have a great shuttle to the square, but we walked a lot, too. This is close to the Railyard shops, restaurants and farmers market. Staff helped with directions, places to eat, sites, etc. It was a decent room. Breakfast looked standard; we only grabbed some fruit. Price for room was very reasonable for area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to accommodate all of your needs. We hope you will consider The Santa Fe Sage Inn the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this very comfortable establishment. The morning breakfast had hot items. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The driver on the shuttle bus - which we used two times to go into town - was very accommodating.
If we ever get back to New Mexico we definitely will reserve time at the Sage Inn.
An added feature - the grocery store next to the Inn (I think it was a Whole Foods Store?) - had a lovely hot and cold cafeteria line. You could eat at the store or take it out to your room for a relaxing meal after a long day of siteseeing.
Several good restaurants were also within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. It is so nice to hear that The Sage Inn lived up to your expectations. We will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived quite late at night from our road trip, and feel disappointed by the receptionist's response when we asked politely whether we can have a double bed instead of king bed..All that she said, "all room are fully booked today" without even looking at us..We were tired, with 2 sleepy children, so that's not the response that we've expected.

When we looked at the room, it's another major disappointment, for the price that we paid compare to other places that we've stayed in previous cities on our road trip, the room is super small, old, there's a chair that is so stiff that we don't know why they put it in this tiny room, bathroom is small, no many choices in TV cable, on top of that the internet is super slow.

In the morning, we passed few cleaning staffs, and none of them are smiling back when we smile at them..they just like ignore you! Breakfast was free and ok, standard one. Also, in my itinerary it should say free parking, but we need to pay 5 dollar..we don't want to complain at that time because we were too tired. It's a near location though if you want to go the plaza. I would prefer to stay in other hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. Certainly the issues that you had with your stay are quite concerning to the management team. I would like to take the time to speak with you personally in an effort to make things right. Our main goal at The Santa Fe Sage Inn is excellent customer service. Unfortunately, it seems that our staff did not live up to its full potential during your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience. Please know that we work with our staff regularly to train them to exceed our guest expectations and I know that you will have a better stay if you choose to give us another chance. If you would like to contact me personally please call the hotel at 505-982-5952 or reach me through email at danielle@santafesageinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on a voucher purchased from Living Social which in itself was a good deal for a Santa Fe hotel. But I was charged $69 in taxes & fees for 2 nights. That seems a little high. Had to leave a day early due to sick kid & they would not reimburse one night of my taxes & fees. Rooms are very small. Parking is tight. Location is hard to get out of unless you just want to go to the plaza. Bathtub had mold in it. Pretty noisy. We could hear the people walking above us late into the night & early morning. Floors upstairs must be very "creaky." Woke us up:( No ice or vending in our building. Had to walk (thru icy parking lot) to get ice from another building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you had to leave early. It is our policy to take the taxes on promotions at the time of check-in. Unfortunately, there seems to have been a miscommunication upon check out. Due to the circumstances your taxes for the night you did not stay should have been refunded. Please contact me directly at 505-982-5952. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your stay and credit your account as necessary.
I would also invite you to come back to The Sage Inn in the spring or summer when Santa Fe blooms. While our parking lot may have been quite crowded during your stay with us it is one of the largest parking lots downtown. We encourage our guests to leave the car on property and enjoy our free hourly shuttle to the plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Sage Inn and will return when we are in Santa Fe. The excellent, friendly, and helpful staff made us feel at home. Danielle Auckerman, Director of Guest Services and other members of the staff, "Ducky," Shawn, and Grant deserve shoutouts. We especially appreciated the gratis shuttle service to downtown. It operates every hour and picks up from the drop off place. We thought it was an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so for your kind review. It was certainly our pleasure to serve you. We are so glad that you choose The Sage Inn as your Santa Fe home away from home. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights here because of a Living Social coupon. I made reservations since they received 4 stars on Trip Advisor. This is a motel setting. The rooms were clean but small with no amenities. The breakfast was the usual fair of cereal and waffles. Staff were friendly and efficient. We were able to bring our dog and they gave us a room in the back closer to a small park. Exercise room was very small as well. The best part was the location. Close to downtown and Canyon Road. We were able to walk to a good restaurant for dinner. We would return knowing now that the rooms were small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at The Santa Fe Sage Inn. I am so glad the location worked for you and that we were happily able to accommodate your dog. We appreciate your stay with us and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#29 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a “Healthy Start” breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, parking, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.