We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

For the price it can't be beat. We just returned from a 9-day stay, and found it excellent - clean, quiet rooms, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts were very good, and free access to a computer was helpful for emails and car bookings, etc. Ask about lower rates if you stay longer than a week. We were on winter rates (April) and the weekly rate was just over half the daily rate! What we saved paid for the car and most of our meals. (Not sure if they do a weekly rate in high season, so ask.) Sure you can find nicer places in old adobe homes, but you will pay big bucks for the pleasure. A hotel is for sleeping - spend your savings on having fun! I would stay there again, no problem.

  • Liked — great value
  • Disliked — rooms are quite ordinary, but for the price they were very nice
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    377
    140
    58
    23
See reviews for
175
322
94
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jackson hole wy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This place was the BEST. The 2 girls who work at the front desk, Elizabeth and Shauna, were most friendly and gave wonderful suggestions for restaurants.
Would most definitely stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — best value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuilly-Sauvigny, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

The Sage Inn in central Santa Fe was recommended to me by a colleague. A positive review in the New York Times travel section confirmed it was a good choice for a 3 week stay being a third or less the cost of hotels in the congested Plaza area. Last year, 2007, I stayed across the street at a Travel Lodge which was good value but I had to change rooms three times for one where things worked.

This year, after 3 weeks at the Sage Inn, I would stay no where else my next trip to Santa Fe. Here are some of the reasons why.

The 24/7 front desk staff was uniformly helpful. Every request was handled efficiently. I had two problems during 3 weeks there. The first, a heater/AC started malfunctioning. I reported it at breakfast and by the time I returned in afternoon it had been replaced by a spanking new Carrier unit. The second was harder to deal with. Parts of the Sage Inn, originally a typical two storey '80s motel, had been built with floors that transmit footsteps of lodgers above. After a few nights of awakening to this unwanted 4am wake up call - who gets up at 4am? - I asked for a room on the 1st floor. With no hesitation they upgraded me to a room in a section that had been recently renovated. Ahh, blissful sleep, plus a more refined decor and two queen beds as well.

Other highlights: The free breakfasts were beyond expectations with a wide choice of self-serve foods plus an agreeable decor, warmed by a traditional kiva style fireplace. The free high-speed wi-fi worked well except one day when a back-hoe working next door cut the cable and it took Quest a couple hours to fix it. For guests without computers the Inn provides two workstations in an alcove off the reception area. Safe deposit boxes are in the office, not the rooms.

Housekeeping was impeccable. Very clean rooms. Each room had a coffee maker, iron and board, luggage rack, desk and 5 lights for reading and working (but no eco bulbs yet!). There were 36 channels on satellite TV. Not to forget the little swimming pool, apparently open year round with water at over 90° F! I tested it in February with my finger! I was told a guests' laundry and fitness room is in the works for a space that I noted is currently empty.

Besides value, the best thing about the Sage Inn is LOCATION. Googlemap the address 725 Cerrillos Road to see just how central it is, about 6 blocks or a 30 minute walk from the Santa Fe Plaza and 10 minutes from the famous Tomasita's restaurant. Many of my meals, however, came from the Whole Foods Market, which backs onto the Sage Inn, and where I bought soups, salads or sandwiches as needed. Across Cerrillos Road from the Inn the City of Santa Fe is building a chic park (railyardpark_dot_org) extending from downtown past the Inn and beyond with landscaped walking, bike paths and yet more culture. Just another feature due to open in July 2008 in this wonderful city.

  • Liked — Location, staff, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

This place is great! If you're travelling for the food and sites, this place is perfect. My husband and I didn't want an in-house spa or massage table, so we decided to book the Sage Inn. We stayed on the first floor in a room with a king-sized bed, and the room was a bit small, but it's all we needed. Be sure to book a room that is on the end and on a upper floor to counter noise level. We were here on spring break, and there were a lot of kids here skiing.

The Sage Inn has a shuttle to downtown - which isn't too far at all - and the parking lot at the Inn is plenty big. A lot of other places downtown have "excess parking lots," which are so far away they're not even on the plaza anymore.

The wireless the Sage Inn has (which I am typing this review from) works great. The connection is stable and it's never broken. Definately a place for couples that are wanting to get out and about!

Stay here and you won't be dissappointed!

  • Liked — Quality Service
  • Disliked — Noise Level
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I spent 2 nights here on a weekend break seeing the local sights. I decided not to take a chance on priceline as I wanted a hotel in walking distance of the Plaza & this place was in a great location. The rate was about $60 a night booking direct with the hotel. I found it good value, especially as they include free wifi & free berakfast. There's ample parking & the free bottles of water & good supplies of tea & coffee in the rooms are also nice touches. When you add in the friendly, helpful staff, it's a great choice - especially at these prices.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chazy, NY
2 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We originally planned to stay at the Sage Inn for five nights, on the recommendation of a friend. We checked in after a long drive and the room was only about 55 degrees. The heat took over 3 hours to warm the room enough to get out from under the covers and take off our coats! When we complained to the front desk the next morning we were met with blank looks and no proper customer service to speak of.

We have since gotten the run-around and poor treatment from the manager... Promises to return calls and never does, always in a meeting... you get the picture.

It's a cheap motel that has been made-up in "Santa Fe" style. Smells like a cheap motel, trust your nose!

If you want a wonderful stay in Santa Fe - go to the Old Santa Fe Inn.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

My husband and I booked the Sage Inn through Hotwire for one night of our three day stay. I have to say that after we stayed there the first night we wish we had booked it for our entire trip.

Let me start by saying very friendly staff upon check-in. That is always important to me. It sets the mood for your whole visit. I called the hotel at 11:00am as my husband and I were pulling into town. I asked if there would be any possibility of us checking in early. The lady was very friendly, and told us yes, just come by and the room would be ready. Might I mention the last place we stayed in Santa Fe was not as accomodating at all when we arrived early. So we were very greatful. Well she checked us in and gave us our room key and to my surprise she had us in a superior room. I had called a few days earlier and asked what the charge would be if we wanted to upgrade to a superior. I was told that they showed us staying in a traditional, but the charge would be 20 dollars if we did want to upgrade. So when we were put in the superior anyway I was so excited.

The room was very cozy w/ plush bedding and pillows. Southwest style. To anyone who has ever stayed at Inn of the Governors these rooms are very similar. We had very nice sleep. The property seemed very quiet.

In the morning we had planned on going out for breakfast until be saw the selection and cleanliness of the breakfast area at the hotel. There were several kinds of bagels, bread for toast, waffles, fruit, yogurt, granola, cereals, oatmeal, juices, and coffee. Everything you would expect out of a continental breakfast. Plus a nice attendant that was there if you needed anything, to restock, or just clean up.

Overall very impressed w/ the Sage Inn especially for the value. We definetly will stay here again for future trips to Santa fe. If you are however looking for something very close to the square this may not be the property for you. But if you are up some fresh mountain air the walk is not too terribly bad, and the drive is 1 - 2 mins. tops.

  • Liked — Friendliness and cozy room
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.