We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Need a Santa Fe Getaway?
Ranked #23 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is adequate, but they are very stingy with linens. Two bath towels, no hand towels or wash cloths. The continental breakfast is so-so but they do have the self serve waffle makers I like so much. I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    337
    127
    59
    22
See reviews for
165
290
89
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

best beds
Wholefood next door
Safe Walkable stroll to town
Bus stop 1 block away
Great breakfast with loads of seating and space
Front desk staff were more then helpful - we were stranded due to Hurricane Sandy & the free internet computers in lobby & helpful staff, helped me navigate another itinerary .
I have travelled the world & stayed in 5 to 1 star hotels & this hotel was perfect.
I paid $ 78 a night with breakfast!!
Spotless Bathroom

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We chose the Sage Inn based on other Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was clean and comfy though not large. Very friendly and helpful staff and the free shuttle to and from the Plaza saves you over $10 a day. Plus you get a little "tour guide" type information on the way. A very inviting and convenient facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so great when a guest can read other guest comments and be confident in their booking with us. We will look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel through Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Santa Fe Sage Inn was recommended to me when I stopped at the rest area on 25 halfway between ABQ and S.F. Easy checkin and Diana couldn't have been more helpful. Wanted to walk to a restaurant for dinner, and she gave me the names of several that she thought were very good. The room was nicely appointed and noise level was very low. The young woman on the morning shift, didn't get her name, was very helpful in recommending a good breakfast place, also within walking distance. Just a nibble at the Inn's breakfast room, I wanted to save my appetite for a traditional New Mexican style red and green chiles breakfast. Price of my room was on the low end of the rate range of motels/hotels I've stayed in over the last three months, so quite pleased. Next time in Santa Fe for overnight I'd definitely stay at the Sage Inn!

Room Tip: I don't mind the exercise of walking upstairs, so chose the second level also with the thought i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I am so happy to hear that The Sage Inn was a great part of your first visit to Santa Fe. I hope that you will come back to visit us time after time. Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Close to plaza and railroad station. Excellent location if you like to walk and
explore. Good continental breakfast. Complimentary van to and from plaza.
Will be staying there again soon. Great staff!

Room Tip: Upper floor quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked the Santa Fe Sage Inn because it was reasonably priced and was so close to the train station we could walk. The hotel staff was wonderful, and the shuttle took us downtown and picked us up so we didn't need a vehicle to see Santa Fe. We booked the place again on the way back from Taos to Albuquerque because the stay was so pleasant. Fairly standard rooms, no fridge, but there are laundry facilities and an exercise room available, as well as access to a couple of computers with printers. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel staff was super. Check-in & out very easy. We were offered a room upstairs or on the ground level. I asked what was the difference, besides the obvious. "Upstairs is quieter; downstairs is convenient but noisier." We chose ground level, as there is no elevator in this very traditional motel lay-out. Now I can interpret the answer. Every step by someone in a room above yours can be heard in a ground level room. The floors squeak like an old house; not too bad if the upstairs guests hit the hay at a reasonable hour. But it was very convenient to pull our car up four feet from the room door.
I will always be grateful to the fellow at the front desk on the night of 10-29-12. I brought my husband back to the motel after a hospital ER visit. He needed to eat something, but I didn't want to leave him to go to the grocery, even the adjacent Whole Foods. (WF was closed at this hour anyway.) After I explained the situation, the desk clerk told me to take anything I wanted from the breakfast foods that were stored behind the serving area. I wish I knew his name to thank him properly.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs for quiet -- no noise from a room above. Choose ground level for convenience and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a “Healthy Start” breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, parking, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.