We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Decent Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Fe Sage Inn to your Saves list
Santa Fe Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Location, Decent Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just stayed at Santa Fe Sage Inn during Balloon Fiesta week. It was our first visit to Santa Fe, and we had looked for a decent, affordable place that was located relatively close to the main Santa Fe sights. We were not disappointed, as it is walking distance to the Plaza area. The rooms are small and look a little bit worn, but appeared to be well-kept and clean. We were housed on the second floor, and could have used an elevator to haul baggage (older ladies, bad knees) but the staff sent someone to assist us right away on both check in and check out. The shuttle service they offer was great, and we did use it a couple of times even though we had a rental car as well. Breakfast was a little lack luster, but was kept well stocked on some very busy mornings. I can also recommend using the walking tour that bases itself out of the Sage. The guide Jerry, has good knowledge of the area, and was an entertaining character to give us a brief intro to the main sights of Santa Fe. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    377
    140
    58
    23
See reviews for
175
322
94
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEVADA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was a wonderful surprise! We had a cute, comfy, clean room, just a few minutes walk away from the plaza and tourist attractions and best of all, the price was so affordable, we could have stayed there all week! Extras like the hot, extended breakfast, laundry facilities and outdoor pool made all that much more of a value. The staff was friendly and helpful and although we didn't need it, they offer a complimentary shuttle to points of interest. I would highly recommend this property to anyone that likes a deal combined with a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back of the hotel off the street. They are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay so much. We greatly appreciate your sincere recommendation and will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

She is a gem! Clean, close to everything and affordable. I saw lots of pets. Staff goes out of its way to be helpful. They stored food in their freezer and refrigerator for me! Very clean and I felt safe at Sage!

Room Tip: What an exceptional staff! Greeted with respect and cheerfulness. My room was super clean ( Trip A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to post your comments to our TripAdvisor page. We hope you will return to The Santa Fe Sage Inn on your next visit to New Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a block of rooms reserved for a wedding. The day that we checked-in was great, but it went downhill from there.

Pros:
1. Hourly shuttle to the Plaza (it would be a *long* walk to the Plaza from the hotel, not quite as close as other reviewers have mentioned). Parking near the Plaza can be REALLY difficult to find depending on the day and time that you go, so it was very nice to have the option of a shuttle.
2. Location - walking distance to the wedding site at the Railyard, next to a Whole Foods Market
3. Decent price for Santa Fe (most hotels are much more expensive)
4. Front desk staff and shuttle driver were very friendly

Cons:
1. Our room was on the first floor and we could hear every step the people in the room above us took. They weren't stomping or running, they were just walking. This was a problem when they went to bed after us and got up before us. We were on their schedule.
2. Housekeeping. We left for a hike on Saturday morning and when we came back all of our towels and the bathmat were gone (even though they were hanging on the rack indicating that we would use them again), so we assumed that housekeeping had stopped by. However, the towels were not replaced so I had to ask the housekeeper (in the room above us at the time, because we could hear her walking) for extra towels so we could shower before the wedding. In addition, our room had not been cleaned (bed not made, trash not taken out). After showering, when we left for the wedding, we saw the housekeeping cart a couple of rooms past ours. What housekeeper takes the towels without replacing them or cleaning the room? Strange.
3. Shower. The shower seemed to work great on our check-in day! The next day and the day we checked out, it didn't drain well. Even with a short (<5 min) shower, one would end up standing in a couple inches of water.
4. Internet. Same story as the shower - it worked great for half of our stay and then it wouldn't connect after several tries on two devices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great way to get acquainted with Santa Fe. Jerry makes it informative, humorous and very enjoyable!! One of the best tours we've experienced.
The shuttle service was exceptional and ran all day long.

Room Tip: Rooms are small and plumbing is noisy, but outside noise is minimal. Beds were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is basically an overpriced Motel 6. Overall the room smelled very strongly like smoke, the toilet didn't flush, and the room was dirty. The a/c worked but not great, and the staff was not very helpful. I was overcharged for the room, (the charges didn't show up until days later), I called and talked to Donna, one of the managers. She was not helpful and told me that there was nothing that they could do. I would not stay here again, poor quality and poor management.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to start by apologizing for the fact that your stay with us was obviously disappointing. I am quite concerned that these issues went unreported to our management staff during your stay. Our staff is fully trained to assist in all situations and I know they would have been happy to work with you to make your stay more enjoyable. I would ask that you contact me directly so that we can work together to fix any issues you may still be having with any overages on your bill and discuss your stay as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are staying here for our third time and still think that it is a great value. Rooms may be a bit on the small side, but the price certainly is right and there is a high level of cleanliness.
The service here is always fantastic, but Steven at the front desk is a true jewel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you so much for being one of our very valued repeat guests. I am so glad the Sage Inn continues to impress you with each stay. We really appreciate your kind comments about Steven as he is a great asset to our team. We will look forward to seeing you back at The Santa Fe Sage Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 155 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.